15 Best Dark Spot Correctors to Help Improve the Clarity of Your Skin

SKIN CARE REVIEWS

12.07.21DISCLAIMER

As if it’s not enough to deal with wrinkles, dark spots are another aging factor that can make us look older than our years. Discoloration causes your complexion to look dull and mottled, robbing it of its radiance — which is where the best dark spot correctors come into play. While a dark spot remover is not a miracle worker, it can significantly improve the skin’s clarity.

The main culprit in the battle against dark spots is tyrosinase, a key enzyme in melanin production. As you may already know, melanin is the pigment that gives our hair and skin its color, and its role is to protect the skin. It’s often heightened in the skin by tanning and general sun exposure. Though it’s necessary, too much melanin is what causes dark spots and discoloration, so it’s time to reach for the best products for dark spots, such as dark spot serums.

Not sure what to look for in the best age spot remover? No worries. Here at the Derm Review, we’ve reviewed hundreds of products with a scientific lens to ensure you’re creating a skincare regimen that’s safe and effective. Ahead, 13 of the best dark spot correctors to help you restore a more youthful-looking complexion.

Related: Best Lightening Creams

Best Dark Spot Correctors: The List 

Carrot & Stick Brightening Spot Treatment, $30

Deep Science Targeted Dark Spot Serum, $60

Formulyst Dark Spot Solutions, $79

Formulyst Luminous Skin Serum, $49

Dr. Brandt Dark Spots No More Triple Acid Spot Minimizing Concentrate, $68

REN Clean Skincare Overnight Glow Dark Spot Sleeping Cream, $49

Verso Dark Spot Fix, $95

SkinMedica Lytera, $154

Clinique Even Better Clinical Dark Spot Corrector, $146

Murad Rapid Age Spot And Pigment Lightening Serum, $72

Neutrogena Rapid Tone Repair Dark Spot Corrector, $17.96

Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution, $56

Olay Prox Even Skin Tone Spot Fading Treatment, $31.50

Estee Lauder Enlighten Dark Spot Correcting Night Serum, $98

La Roche-Posay Pigmentclar Dark Spot Serum, $49.99

The Science Behind Dark Spot Correctors

When it comes to how the best dark spot correctors work, it all comes down to ingredients. Thank nature (and science!) for all of the ingredients available to halt or inhibit tyrosinase. Since the following help fade dark spots in different ways, they are incredibly effective when combined. 

  • Hydroquinone, vitamin C, niacinamide, and mulberry root have the power to stop tyrosinase in its tracks. 
  • Exfoliators like glycolic acid and salicylic acid work hard to “unglue” the skin cells that bind together and cause dullness. Once those offending cells are sloughed away, radiant, glowing, and even-toned skin can emerge.
  • Retinol is another exfoliating ingredient — and perhaps one of the most celebrated skincare ingredients for targeting the signs of age. Retinol causes the skin cells to turn over, which begins the process of removing the pigmented cells. As dark spots are sloughed away, your skin replaces them with normally pigmented cells.

Related: Best Retinol Cream

What to Expect from a Dark Spot Remover

Woman examining face

It can be challenging to determine whether a dark spot remover will work because not every dark spot is the same. There’s no such thing as a universal solution, which is why you may have to do a little trial and error with products formulated with the ingredients mentioned above. 

  • Darkness from acne spots or dyspigmentation (an abnormality in the formation or distribution of pigmentation in the skin) tends to respond well to over-the-counter dark spot remedies. Keep in mind that it can take up to three months to start to see results. 
  • Age or sunspots, as well as freckles, are caused by sun exposure. While there’s no harm in trying the best age spot remover, discoloration caused by the sun may have a better response to a prescription cream or dermatological treatment such as laser resurfacing. 
  • Even after you’ve chosen one of the best products for dark spots, don’t forget to wear a broad spectrum UVA/UVB sunscreen with a minimum SPF of 30 every day. Sunscreen will help prevent current spots from becoming dark while helping to prevent new ones from forming.

Related: Best Vitamin C Serums

Best Dark Spot Correctors

Carrot & Stick Brightening Spot Treatment, $30
Carrot & Stick‘s Brightening Spot Treatment contains 2 highly effective plant-based compounds combine to correct the look of hyperpigmentation and uneven skin tone.

Deep Science Targeted Dark Spot Serum, $60
This powerful serum from Deep Science is designed to work in the deepest layers of the skin to reduce the look of dark discoloration, sun spots and melasma.

Formulyst Dark Spot Solutions, $79
Developed for daily use, Formulyst’s Dark Spots Solution Serum targets the appearance of dark spots and uneven skin tone caused by hyperpigmentation. It’s formulated with HyWhite, an alpha-linolenic acid that helps lighten the appearance of dark spots and visibly improves the uniformity of skin color. 

Additionally, a lightweight molecular hyaluronic acid gives an instantaneous hit of moisture. This potent serum intensely nourishes skin while visibly improving the tone of the complexion.

Formulyst Luminous Skin Serum, $49
Pick up a bottle of Formulyst’s Luminous Skin Serum for brighter and smoother-looking skin. This lightweight serum tackles dark spots and hyperpigmentation using natural ingredients, including alpha arbutin, an extract of the bearberry plant that prevents the formation of melanin; rumex extract, derived from the dogberry plant; and a biomimetic peptide that helps accelerate cell regeneration.

Dr. Brandt Dark Spots No More Triple Acid Spot Minimizing Concentrate, $68
This potent spot reducer harnesses the power of a 15% complex of three acids (azelaic acid derivative, tranexamic acid, and phytic acid) along with 5% niacinamide, plankton, and turmeric. Along with visibly reducing the number, intensity, and size of dark spots, it also soothes the skin and combats any irritation associated with the lightening process.

REN Clean Skincare Overnight Glow Dark Spot Sleeping Cream, $49
A night cream and spot corrector in one, this effective treatment is clinically proven to reduce dark spots in just seven days, providing you’re consistent. An encapsulated algae complex targets pigmentation while phytoglycogen promotes a hydrated, plump, and glowing complexion.

Verso Dark Spot Fix, $95
Three potent ingredients combine to give Verso Dark Spot Fix its dark spot fading abilities. Retinol 8, turmeric, and niacinamide are the dark spot enemies promising to banish discoloration regardless of its cause. Retinol 8 is a less irritating but eight times more potent form of retinol. Unlike retinol, it can be used during the daytime without fear of any adverse reactions. 

Retinol 8 exfoliates to fade away excess melanin and reveal a more even-toned, brighter complexion. Turmeric and niacinamide have been proven to lighten dark spots over time, and, in combination with retinol 8, they work even better. These time-tested ingredients can be trusted to help you fade dark spots from both the face and body.

SkinMedica Lytera, $154
Loaded with skin lightening ingredients, SkinMedica’s Lytera Skin Brightening Complex targets dark spots on the face and other areas with precision. The reason it works so well is that it contains a large variety of dark spot lightening ingredients, including tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate (vitamin C), niacinamide (vitamin B3), ethyl linoleate, retinol (vitamin A), Dunaliella salina extract, hexylresorcinol, and licorice root extract. Rounding out the list are tetrapeptide-30 and 4-ethoxybenzaldehyde.

Clinique Even Better Clinical Dark Spot Corrector, $146
Clinique’s Dark Spot Corrector contains a variety of plant extracts that work together to combat dark spots and other skin conditions.Mulberry root is effective in skin whitening and has antioxidant properties that help scavenge free radicals. Turmeric root and barley inhibit tyrosinase. 

Rice has also exhibited anti-melanogenic effects, essentially curbing melanin production to reduce the formation of dark spots and treat existing ones. Birch contains salicylic acid, an exfoliant that can encourage cell turnover. Wheat contains hydroquinone, a potent anti-pigmenting agent present in many dark spot reducing creams and available via prescription as well. 

Murad Rapid Age Spot And Pigment Lightening Serum, $72
While it’s not our favorite ingredient because it can be potentially dangerous, Murad Rapid Age Spot And Pigment Lightening Serum 

contains 2% hydroquinone, the highest percentage available without a prescription. Hydroquinone is a very effective skin lightening agent that can remove dark spots, even skin tone, and lighten age spots. This formulation also contains vitamin C and glycolic acid, two of the top ingredients on our spot-correcting ingredient list. 

Neutrogena Rapid Tone Repair Dark Spot Corrector, $17.96
Neutrogena dark spot corrector contains two powerful ingredients: ascorbyl glucoside and retinol. Ascorbyl glucoside is a stable form of vitamin C that has been combined with glucose. When applied to the skin, ascorbyl glucoside converts to L-ascorbic acid — a more stable delivery process than just using L-ascorbic acid on its own. 

Retinol has been shown to provide “consistent” improvement in treating hyperpigmented skin, whether due to acne scarring, sun exposure, or simple aging. This just may be the best drugstore spot corrector.

Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution, $56
The active ingredients in Kiehl’s dark spot corrector are vitamin C, white birch extract, and peony extract. According to the brand, both white birch extract and peony extract work with vitamin C to enhance potency. White birch contains vitamin C and niacinamide (vitamin B3), especially effective when paired. Both lead to a more even complexion, lightening darker spots to match the natural lighter skin tone of the surrounding area. 

Peony extract also works with vitamin C to enhance the skin’s brightening effect. In clinical studies, topically applied peony extract has also exhibited skin lightening properties.

Olay Prox Even Skin Tone Spot Fading Treatment, $31.50
Olay’s spot fading treatment works thanks to the power of niacinamide (vitamin B3), Undecylenoyl phenylalanine, and glycerin to remove dark spots and uneven patches of discoloration while also hydrating and fortifying the skin barrier. 

Undecylenoyl phenylalanine works against dark spots by inhibiting melanotropin, which controls tyrosinase and promotes melanin in the skin. Studies show it “significantly” reduced discoloration caused by melasma (a discoloration disorder) within four weeks — especially when paired with niacinamide

Estee Lauder Enlighten Dark Spot Correcting Night Serum, $98
Several plant extracts in the Estee Lauder Enlighten Dark Spot Correcting Night Serum make this a powerhouse against hyperpigmentation. Similar to Clinique’s Dark Spot Corrector, this formulation contains turmeric root, mulberry root, cucumber fruit, barley, grapefruit peel, and rice. Many of these ingredients have shown the ability to halt tyrosinase from producing more melanin.

Barley contains azelaic acid, an ingredient often found in many anti-dark spot serums because of its ability to stop tyrosinase activity. Rice has been shown to “down-regulate melanin synthesis” in animal studies. Furthermore, this serum allows for exfoliation with its inclusion of salicylic acid. 

La Roche-Posay Pigmentclar Dark Spot Serum, $49.99
La Roche-Posay‘s Pigmentclar Dark Spot Serum combines the forces of Phe-Resorcinol, ferulic acid, and LHA to break down dark spots and make them disappear. According to the company, Phe-Resorcinol is 100 times more skin lightening than kojic acid, one of the best skin lightening ingredients. 

Ferulic acid is an antioxidant found naturally in the seeds of apples and oranges and some other vegetation. Studies have shown it to be effective against melasma, which is often stubborn and difficult to get rid of. LHA is an exfoliator much like glycolic acid and salicylic acid. Its mechanism involves removing dead skin cells and revealing newer cells that make skin look more radiant.

Best Products for Dark Spots: The Bottom Line

The main culprit in the battle against dark spots is tyrosinase, a key enzyme in the production of melanin, the pigment that gives our hair and skin its color, and its role is to protect the skin. It is often heightened in the skin by tanning and general sun exposure. 

Dark spots can pretty much pop up anywhere, especially areas of your body that are exposed to the sun. Luckily, skincare products contain ingredients that halt or inhibit tyrosinase, including hydroquinone, vitamin C, niacinamide, mulberry root, and glycolic and salicylic acids. 

Our favorite dark spot corrector is Carrot & Stick Brightening Spot Treatment and Deep Science Targeted Dark Spot Serum.

What’s the best dark spot corrector, in your opinion? Let us know in the comments below!

 

FAQs
Dark spots result from hyperpigmentation due to acne scarring or spending too much time in the sun. Other causes include hormonal issues, liver damage, genetics, and various skin disorders.
Dark spots can occur anywhere on the body, though they’re mostly found on the cheeks, forehead, and upper lip, or around the mouth. They can also appear on the neck, hands, and legs. But keep in mind: dark spots can pretty much pop up anywhere, especially areas of your body that are more often exposed to the sun.
Dermatologists typically recommend laser treatments, chemical peels, cryotherapy, microdermabrasion, or a prescription cream — all of which lessen the appearance of dark spots faster than topical products.
You may be doing too much to fade stubborn spots. Suppose you’re using overly harsh products such as astringents or non-skin-safe spot correctors — or are trying to “scrub” marks away with an exfoliator. In that case, you can actually worsen the pigmentation. The skin can become darker and rougher in texture.

Both are incredibly effective. Vitamin C brightens and improves pigmentation issues, while retinol stimulates collagen production, another way to remove dark spots. You have to be careful not to use retinol that’s too strong for your skin because it can cause inflammation and exacerbate dark spots. You can find some dark spot serums that are safely formulated to include both active ingredients, which is a win-win.

Those with darker skin tones may have a higher risk of discoloration or hyperpigmentation from the use of retinol, so this ingredient (along with prescription-strength ingredients) should be used sparingly.

There isn’t one answer to this question because it depends on the formula, strength, and size of the area(s) you’re treating. Generally, prescription-strength creams are applied only to areas of concern a few times a week. For the most part, OTC correctors such as those on our list can be applied daily and all over the face — but be sure to read the instructions on the package first. Don’t forget the sunscreen during the day.
While you shouldn’t expect any miracles, some DIY home remedies may have a subtle effect on dark spots — for example, a lemon juice and yogurt face mask. Or, you could also apply the following topically: buttermilk, aloe, tomatoes, and papaya.
If you’re looking to cover up dark spots with a concealer temporarily, peachy and orange-hued shades are generally best for counteracting the look of darkness and brightening dark spots. A color corrector for dark spots works according to the principles of the color wheel — the opposite of one another on the color wheel can cancel the other out.

Sources:
Quantifying Dyspigmentation in Facial Skin ageing: an Explorative Study,” US National Library of Medicine National Center for Biology.
Reduction in the Appearance of Facial Hyperpigmentation by Topical N-undecyl-10-enoyl-L-Phenylalanine and its Combination with Niacinamide,” Research Gate.
Topical Treatment of Melasma,” US National Library of Medicine National Center for Biology.

  • Body Positivity in the Beauty Industry | The Derm Review - The Dermatology Review Original review: Jan 21, 2021. Reply

    […] represent the wide range of the human form. This may include eye creams, anti-aging eye creams, or dark spot correctors that showcase aged models. Other areas for opportunity and focus may include sunscreens, […]

  • TDR Original review: May 21, 2018. Reply

    In your attempt to get rid of dark spots, it’s important to avoid unsightly, and sometimes permanent, side effects. As already mentioned, the use of dark spot corrector products with hydroquinone can lead to skin cancer and permanent skin discolorations, which is why the use of this ingredient is heavily regulated throughout the world. Facial exfoliators can also cause problems, and may cause swelling and irritation if the cream is used too often, or the concentration of the active acids is too strong in the dark spot corrector.

  • TDR Original review: May 21, 2018. Reply

    Dark spots on skin are a common problem faced by adults as they age. The unsightly blemishes tend to appear most frequently around the face and hands; and can become particularly troublesome to get rid of. Although chemical peels and professional skin care procedures have been effective methods for getting rid of sun spots, they can be costly and may cause swelling and irritation; leading many individuals to look for the best dark spot corrector as an effective alternative to cosmetic procedures. Unfortunately, such topical treatments also have a variety of drawbacks; such as potentially severe side effects, and the fact that topical treatments tend to work over time, instead of showing immediate results. However, if you take the time to do your research and read dark spot corrector reviews, you may find that a topical treatment may be a safer and more convenient alternative to more invasive cosmetic procedures.

  • TDR Original review: May 21, 2018. Reply

    Dark spots on the face, age spots (also known as liver spots) on the hands and uneven skin tone around the face, chest and hands can be caused by prolonged sun exposure, hormonal factors or acne damage. Generally, dark spots are caused by the sun, hence why skin care specialists refer to dark spots as sun spots. In most cases, dark spots are caused by a root problem, such as Melasma.

    In most cases, the need for a dark spot corrector arises in people who experience frequent exposure to the sun, or those who have suffered severe sunburns. There is good reason for this. Contrary to the belief of previous generations, these skin discolorations have nothing to do with the liver, but are caused by our body’s natural reaction to UV radiation. As the sun’s rays hit our skin, our body uses special cells, melanocytes, located in the epidermis, to produce a protective chemical, melanin, to neutralize radiation, so that we can retain healthy skin. Unfortunately, the need for a dark spot corrector arises when too much melanin is produced in certain areas of the skin, leading the pigment to clump together, thus creating the appearance of sun spots on face, and requiring the use of a dark spot corrector.

  • TDR Original review: May 20, 2018. Reply

    Topical dark spot corrector creams tend to fall into two categories: skin brighteners and exfoliants. Skin brighteners are a general term for ingredients that change your skin’s chemistry to produce less melanin pigment. Hydroquinone, for example, is a well-known skin brightener that works by inhibiting an enzyme called tyrosinase, which is crucial in the production of melanin pigment. By blocking the enzyme, a dark spot corrector using hydroquinone slows production of additional pigment, and troublesome areas with liver spots begin to fade.

    However, remember that melanin is not just an accidental byproduct, but our body’s defense mechanism against radiation. Therefore, by using even the best dark spot corrector with hydroquinone, or another melanin-blocking ingredient (like azelaic acid, for example), you are weakening your natural defenses against UV radiation. This can lead to the development of skin cancer and early aging of the skin.

    To avoid the risk associated with tyrosinase blockers in dark spot corrector creams, some individuals turn to exfoliating creams and masks to speed up cell regeneration. By cycling out the damaged skin cells, these dark spot corrector creams can help fade sun spots on face and hands, but they will take longer to show effects. Common exfoliating ingredients in dark spot correctors are alpha hydroxy acids, like salicylic and lactic acids; Bromelain, an exfoliating enzyme; and Retinol, which technically belongs to the hydroxy acid group, and is well known for stimulating cell turnover.

  • Eileen Original review: Apr 30, 2018. Reply

    I have good and bad news to share. I have had great success with two things but the bad news is that they are expensive and also take time and planning. For topical treatment, Obagi was definitely the most effective. You start with a whole system which was around $300, ten years ago. Now I buy them individually and don’t use all of them all the time. They eventually made my face very bleached out and shiny but by cutting back it’s fine. The best treatment, hands down is laser treatment. I purchased, what I thought was overkill, at a charity fundraiser. It was 6 treatments and I needed every one of them. I did my shoulders, upper back and chest. Initial treatments caused severe reddening and what I worried was counter productive burning, but it would calm down after a week and a month later I’d do another treatment. The difference is remarkable and I will forever take much better care to protect myself from sun damage. Blessings to all!

  • Cathy Corso-plank Original review: May 29, 2015. Reply

    Under eye dark circles have many different causes and these products can be too strong to use at the much thinner skin of the eye area – where it can also seep into the eyes.
    Eye darkness can be genetic, can be caused more by the vascular system behind the thin skin of the eyes, or can be melasma that has greatly accumulated over time.
    When you sweat, the moisture “pools” in the crevices and indents on your face and act as a “reflector” for the sun – those areas will darken (sometimes in larger patches rather than “spots”) quicker and become a DEEPER pigmentation that is almost impossible to lighten – especially at the eye area.

  • Cathy Corso-plank Original review: May 29, 2015. Reply

    That’s kind of ignorant of him – if you already HAVE the spots, it’s too late to prevent them by staying out of the sun.
    He doesn’t sound like a very “progressive” doctor if he doesn’t know what is available for treatment.

  • Cathy Corso-plank Original review: May 29, 2015. Reply

    Unless you are treating post-acne pigmentation, hydroquinone products only provide a TEMPORARY solution.
    The minute you stop using hydroquinone, the action of the tyrosinase in the skin speeds back up and the pigmentation returns. Post-acne pigmentation is a temporary response of the skin and will lighten quicker with these products.

    Laser can also be tricky; it can CAUSE a permanent pigmentation response in the skin and GIVE you “spots” you didn’t have.
    Make sure your laser tech has a LOT of experience and is not fool-hardily and over-anxious to “pump up” the laser to it’s highest settings.
    Laser most often requires several sessions to produce the results…but is much quicker than hydroquinone.

  • Joey Original review: May 07, 2015. Reply

    Rhonda
    are you sure your doctor knows what he is talking about? I am 58 I go to a REAL dermatologist, Retin A has been a blessing disguise for my age spots. and I too use Clinique dark spot corrector. My age spots are almost unnoticeable anymore. It has been about a year I have been working on them. If I were you I would find a more competent doctor.

  • Cheryl Original review: Mar 23, 2015. Reply

    I have terrible spots on my arms and legs BC of severe sunburning. I have tried nothing yet on these areas but for the spots on my face I have been using a combination of products and they r hardly visible. NEUTROGENA RAPID TONE REPAIR, L’OREAL YOUTH CODE, AND PURE RETOINOL CREAM (Pure Valley). I use these 3 products once or twice a day and have had AMAZING results. I’m going to start using Gardiner dark spot treatment on my arms and legs along with the pure retinol by pure valley. Will post results.

  • christine Original review: Mar 11, 2015. Reply

    I have gone through 2 bottels of the Clinique Even Better and it hasn’t made a difference.

  • CK Original review: Feb 05, 2015. Reply

    Im Sorry Ana I’m 46 and every time I get a pimple I get a brown mark that comes up. It’s so annoying and makes me feel ugly also. I don’t quite understand it since I have been using oil of olay with spf every morning since I was 15. I started using garnier since Dec 29th. I have only seen a difference but need to see me. I’m going to try the clinque product only because I have heard good things and it’s so close to the dermatologist product. I figured why not. Last expense before the doctor. We just need to be patient.

  • Melissa Mills Original review: Jan 14, 2015. Reply

    I would go see a dermatologist.

  • Anonymous Original review: Jan 12, 2015. Reply

    I have a lot of dark spot on my face.i think there are sun spot but i am not sure. I am 61 one years old. I have also very dark circle. I have been using different creams and products but nothing works. I feel ugly a d i dont want nobody to take pictures of me. I think i am going to try the clinique even better corrector. I dont know what to buy anymore. All my money goes on make ups to cover but nothing work. I feel myself ugly every day. Somebody help me please. Thank you. Ana

  • angela southward Original review: Nov 05, 2014. Reply

    I received a sample of Vichy Pro-even when I last purchased some cosmetics. For the last 3 or 4 days I have been using it, on two 1 cm. circles on my upper cheeks and one on my hand. I can’t believe how well this products work. Now I’m trying to find a supplier and the cost. It must be expensive!

  • Nick Original review: Sep 20, 2014. Reply

    Your Doc is full of it. Some do work. All though some dark spots are caused by the sun, some are not. The doc recommends staying out of the sun, I agree but what about the spots you already have?? Staying out of the sun won’t make them go away.

  • shiju Original review: Aug 18, 2014. Reply

    I have many black mark in my face ,can u please suggest me which treatment i have to take for remove complete black dots ..

    Thankfully
    Shiju

  • Etta Original review: Aug 09, 2014.

    Don’t waste your money, my review has been posted.

  • Lana Original review: Jul 30, 2014. Reply

    I used to have an ugly dark spot under my eye. I removed it with Estée Lauder
    Re-Nutriv Intensive Age Spot Corrector. I used it under my make-up in the morning and evening for 3 weeks. After day 12 I started noticing a little bit of peeling. In the nest 10 days it was completely gonne en never returned! It was more expensive than other products on the market but it worked amazingly, painless and unnoticeable.I am using it now again for few new spots I noticed lately. I am confident it will be a success again! Good luck to everyone!

  • layla Original review: Jul 16, 2014. Reply

    I have, save your money. It smells great but does not work.

  • layla Original review: Jul 16, 2014. Reply

    I have tried Clinique Even Better Clinical Dark Spot Corrector, L’Oreal Paris Youth Code Dark Spot Corrector, Murad Rapid Age Spot Lightening Gel, and Shiseido White Lucent Intensive Spot Targeting Serum. Out of these none of them have worked for me. I am a smart shopper. I shop at Sephora. Sephora will return or exchange these products for you as long as you keep your receipt. I finally went to a dermatologist that prescribed a cream called Melquin HP 4% cream. It is skin bleaching. This is the only thing that has saved my skin. I have been using it for about 2 months and see a noticeable change. You use it at night and must stay out of the sun. Well worth checking out.

    Thanks,
    Layla

  • chris Original review: Jul 11, 2014. Reply

    I used Expert Blanc by Lancome, a small tube of 15 ml, now 12 years ago for my dark spots. My dark spots were caused by the sun and they covered my both cheeks like two islands. Expert Blanc, was the only product which erased the spots 100%, without being aggressive with my skin. I used every fall for the 3 years and then the product had dissapeared. I was very, very disappointed. Now, they have another product Expert Blanc Melanolyser but I didn’t read good reviews about it. I am looking for a correctot of dark spots but I can’t find something who really works.

  • Keenotworld Original review: Jul 04, 2014. Reply

    Wow. Manners seem to be going the way of the dodo.

  • JoMae Original review: Jun 26, 2014. Reply

    I have tried both. I did the clinique first and got some results. I then went to Garnie and got better results. But only to a point. The Garnie makes ur skin peel when you rub your face. And I mean peel! Which goes against everything they tell you about caring for your skin. I just bought Neutrogena, if that doesn’t work I’m going to the Dermatologist! Hate this!

  • Judy Original review: Jun 20, 2014. Reply

    So, no one has used any of the products mentioned in this review?

  • Lisa Original review: Jun 20, 2014. Reply

    yes,,,,,I have used this product for 2 months with NO change! Save your $$

  • Christina Original review: Jun 18, 2014. Reply

    Don’t listen to anyone who tells you that you are ugly!! Listen to Ruth and hold your head up high and THINK that you ARE BEAUTIFUL!!! Be confident and that will help your countenance. True beauty comes from within!!! Go out and buy yourself a new outfit!! Good luck!! <3

  • Mirabelle Original review: Jun 08, 2014. Reply

    I have dark spots on my face and age spots on my hands and legs. I think the difference is that age spots seem to have texture. I have tried many things and will weigh all of your suggestions. I am using hydroquinone (Rx) right now and I’m not sure it works. It must bleach because the dr. said to only get the cream directly on the spots. Anyway, I’ve tried many unconventional things, like White Strips and Desitin. Both may have helped the dark spots. Yesterday I got so frustrated with the textured age spots on my hand (left hand is seen more by the sun due to driving) that I ACTUALLY started scratching the age spots off with my fingernails! I just didn’t care. Getting old is maddening.
    Anyway, is there a really good product to cover up dark spots??

  • Rhonda Original review: May 26, 2014. Reply

    Just saw my skin DR, and asked him what I could do for dark spots, He said “Save your money, no cosmetics will work” Just stay out of the sun.

  • Amy Original review: May 21, 2014. Reply

    I had two sun spots appear on my face. I bought a bottle of Olay total effects moisturizer (to use after olay total effects foaming face wash) and within a month or so they were COMPLETELY gone. Try it.

  • Seashore Original review: Apr 26, 2014. Reply

    I lived on the beach for 12 years, so I have significant sun damage and tons of dark spots. The only product that has ever worked for me is Obagi. It really does work and evens out your skin tones.
    Good luck!

  • Jean Original review: Apr 13, 2014.

    I tried it Paula, not only is it expensive, it did not work for me

  • Jean Original review: Apr 13, 2014. Reply

    I tried it Karen, didn’t work for me. I hope you have better luck

  • Brenda Original review: Apr 07, 2014. Reply

    I had read many good reviews of Clinique even better clinical dark spot corrector and so I decided to use this Dark spot corrector. I checked many stores but unfortunately it was out of stock. I finally thought of ordering it online and I was so lucky. I found a fabulous discount on Clinique even better clinical dark spot corrector. It was delivered to my house in a couple of days and I was so excited to use it. After a few days my friend Jess asked me do Clinique dark spot corrector really work, and I showed a picture that had been taken before I had started using the dark spot corrector. There was a marked difference in the picture and me! I think this is the best product for dark spots.

  • Joann Original review: Mar 31, 2014. Reply

    I have used Ganier Dark Spot Remover for at least twice a day for about nine months and ththen slapping on the SPF 28 Skin Renewal cream at least two more times a day even if I’m not going outside and I think my age/dark spots are worse than ever. Does anything really work. Three laser treatments did lightened them somewhat, but eventually they returned. I’m not a tanner and never have been.

  • Paula Williams Original review: Mar 29, 2014. Reply

    Karen, I have been contemplating buying the City Cosmetics dark spot corrector, but I am sick and tired of spending money on products that just do not work. I am realizing that these so-called “consumer” reviews are actually posted by the company or by “paid” reviewers. I would be so grateful if you would post your results after using it for a couple of weeks and let us know if it really works as they claim. Thanks so much!

  • Karen Schaffer Original review: Mar 15, 2014. Reply

    Hi, I tried Garnier dark spot corrector and also the peel. It did nothing for me. I am now trying City Cosmetics dark spot corrector……just started so I will see if I get any postive results.

  • Nora Original review: Mar 11, 2014. Reply

    I would like to try Clinique and Garnier. Has anyone tried them? I have been buying TriLuma. It fades the dark spots, but takes 2-3 months to show results.
    A few of my darker spots have faded quite a bit and are only vaguely visable. It is $130 a tube and lasts 2-3 months…..too expensive.

  • Kat Benn Original review: Feb 19, 2014. Reply

    I have tried them all. I was aSun worshiper. And have tried all of those products and more. There is only one thing I found that worked and it is not listed here. I have one product it is just amazing it completely gets rid of age spots and hyperpigmentation and actual spots and keeps new age spots from coming to the surface that are already damaged from the Sun. It is Bremenn Clinical’s Dark Spot Eraser. I’d b sure to get the Bremenn clinical as there is another Bremenn laboratory that isn’t the same product just parent company and labs does not have the same product and different label….. feels different and does not work!! but that Brennan clinical dark spot eraser works amazing. You will not believe your skin. See a difference in a few days and skin looks n feels years younger wit in a few months. And it’s not too expensive either. Good luck. N don’t waste your coin on the others….EVEN the brand names!!

  • Louise F Original review: Feb 10, 2014. Reply

    Has anyone tried khiels dark spot corrector? How effective is it?

  • J Parker Original review: Feb 08, 2014. Reply

    I’m 55 and I have age spots/sun spots on my face and hands.I recently saw a review of dark spot correctors and found a product called Radiance Illuminator by City Cosmetics. It’s expensive, but I got a discount by buying the product through the consumer guides review webpage that rated the product (2 units for $87). I’ve been using Vitamin c capsules by Lumene for about 3 months now and exfoliating once a week with a L’oreal Revitalift Facial Peel Kit that I don’t think is made anymore; and have seen a slight improvement; smaller spots have faded a bit, but the bigger spots haven’t. This City Cosmetics product is supposed to show significant results in about 4 weeks. I intend to use it on my face and hands as a spot treatment. If anyone else has heard of this product, I’d welcome any feedback.

  • D. Sonday Original review: Feb 06, 2014. Reply

    Has anyone tried Ponds Clarant B3? My friend uses it…her dark spots are fading very quickly.
    She got a sample size somewhere. Don’t know if they are age spots or sun spots…

  • AOK Original review: Feb 02, 2014. Reply

    Cath – Curious if you tried Garnier Dark Spot Corrector and what you think.

  • GG Original review: Jan 26, 2014. Reply

    I’ve suffering for mild acne every now and then. I tried clinique even better spot corrector it work but it took sometime.. need more bottle to deminished all the dark spots i guess. after using 2bottles, i change. i used also clarins but i dont like it. Priori also but cant see the results. now im using Khiels, seems working, my dark spot getting lighter. need more patience to see the results.

  • Margot Original review: Dec 15, 2013. Reply

    The best dark spot serum I’ve ever used is the one from KHIEL’S brand. In 2 weeks I saw incredible results .. I tried before the Clinique one : no results and the Garnier : good hydratation but useless about dark spots.

    Go buy the KHIEL’S one, it’s the with bottle. I’m from France & here it costs 49€. It’s really a great price for the amaziiiiiiing quality.

    I hope my post will help you.

  • RObyn Qui Original review: Dec 12, 2013. Reply

    Like the old saying goes, slow and steady wins the race. The Dr Max Powers Scar Serum actually works for dark spots. But you will not get overnight results. I have several dark spots from scars, acne spots, and simply having fun as a kid. I have always used palmers cocoa butter for my scars for years and thought id switch it up. I used it every day faithfully for 2 weeks before I saw a slight change. Another 2 weeks before I seen a more noticeable change. They are still there but less noticeable.
    All in all the product does work, shipping was fast

  • Ruth L. Original review: Nov 23, 2013. Reply

    Lily, that’s horrible that people tell you that you look ugly. Please don’t listen to these cruel, insensitive people. The fact that they feel the need to call you ugly says more about them than it does about you. I can’t recommend a treatment which works because I still haven’t found one which does but if you visit your doctor maybe they can prescribe something. In the meantime make the best of yourself, apply make-up, make sure your hair is nice, dress well and hold your head high. If you feel you are doing your best to put your best image forward it will make you feel more confident and that will change people’s perception of you. Confidence is beauty.

  • Lily Original review: Nov 14, 2013. Reply

    Everyone who sees me tell me how ugly I look. I don’t even know what is on my face age spot or dark spot. Have tried million of things. Nothing works..

  • Jasmin Original review: Oct 25, 2013. Reply

    I’ve tried Clinique, Glycolic peels , microdermabrasion , nothing worked . Recently started using .05% retin A & alternating with Vichy pro even & my spots on face have lightened quite a bit. It’s equally important to wear SPF while using these products . I usually wear SPF 30. Good luck !

  • Jules Original review: Oct 07, 2013. Reply

    I’ve been using for 4 weeks the new Lancôme Dreamtone dark spot corrector at a whopping UK £69. I’m 50 and have a splattering of small dark spots on my face, easily covered with foundation but have 2 pea sized ones on the side of my face. This cream has reduced the smaller dark spots by around 50% but has not touched the larger ones. Don’t be fooled by the size of the bottle, it still has just over 1oz of cream in it and I don’t think its going to last much more than 6 weeks in total, so really expensive. I’ve seen a change but not enough to justify buying again. I’m going to try Clinique next as its almost half the price.

  • Anne Original review: Sep 30, 2013. Reply

    Janice, this topic has nothing to do with dark circles under the eyes, it has to do with age spots/sun spots/liver spots…. maybe you need a better nights sleep so you can read and understand this article?

  • Savannah Original review: Sep 29, 2013. Reply

    Proactiv Dark Spot Corrector is great but the directions are hard to read and I am not sure if the product is natural or full of chemicals. I tried the Aveda Brightening Cream, I don’t remember exactly what it is called but it was in a blue bottle. It was very smelly but was very good.

  • Rachel Schulte Original review: Sep 27, 2013. Reply

    I’m a consultant with Rodan + Fields and I highly recommend the REVERSE regimen for brown spots, dullness and sun damage. The REVERSE Regimen exfoliates, lightens, brightens and protects your skin for a more even tone and texture. As a note, it’s been recognized on Allure Magazine’s A List! You can check it out at rachelschulte.myrandf.com
    Contact me if you have any questions!

  • Rita McDonald Original review: Sep 15, 2013. Reply

    I have used many dark spot removers, including Melanex, a Prescription, which was put out many years ago by Neutrogena. I have used Estee Lauder, Clinique, Lancôme, Clarins and many other OTC dark spot removers. Please allow me a sample of your product or suggest the best selling Dark Spot Remover ON THE MARKET. Thank you so very much!

  • Sceen Original review: Sep 14, 2013. Reply

    Having dark skin and being addicted to the sun, I have dark spots on my legs. I found Melarase to work on the dark skin and scarring on my legs and ankles.

  • Suyin Original review: Sep 12, 2013. Reply

    I have always been a swimmer and sunscreens just don’t last. I had a little sun damage on my face; the keyword is “had”! Take a look at the Lady Soma Antioxidant Mask – its full of glycolic acid which will scrub away the skin discoloration. My skin never looked so good!!!

  • Ashley Anna Original review: Sep 07, 2013. Reply

    I did not see it on the list, but the best absolutely best was this one from DDF fade gel 4, then the reversal pods. It lightened up old stubborn marks, burns, scars. Man I have to order it again, it was the best by far

  • Alex Original review: Sep 01, 2013. Reply

    Today is sep 1, 2013. I have had acne since I was 10, I’m now 26. I been horomoned tested- levels were normal. ive been allergy tested- not allergic to anything. i have gone to nutritionists for diets that would prevent any irritations with greases and nuts an whatever else voodoo nonsense i have tried. I don’t know what I’m going to do about that situation bc I need it!!! It really helps and it especially helps for scaring I will use it on all my scars even after the pimple is gone bc for some reason my scars will return to pimples! It’s ridiculous!!! Anyways it helps the redness of the scar and it flattens the scar if it is indented. I also have been using Clinique even better dark spot corrector for a couple years and it really does help for acne scars. It is $80 but it works and one bottle lasts me a year. I have the most sensitive skin and break out from air! Not kidding. This does not irritate my skin. I wear it only at night time. its a serum so you only need a tiny squirt it is greasy feeling so you can spread it every where. Due to the Clinique and the differen combination, I have also the delight of having veryyyy greasy skin!. I am 26 and don’t see age spots on my face yet but I know I will get them. It’s inevitable for me. I’ve burned my skin soooo many times just to get tan! And on my chest as well. I already have dark spots on my chest but that dosnt bother me as much as if they were on my face. My aunt is 46 and showed me her arms and rest of her body in comparison to her hands. She has been using cream on her hands with SPF since she was a teen an her hands have no spots. But everywhere else has sun damage! her hands look like a teenagers hands! No rincles! No age spots! Nice and plump and lively. Sut I do know that using SPF and being pale is better then tryin to look tan and age faster! I want to start using a dark spot corrector on my chest.

  • Erie Original review: Aug 15, 2013. Reply

    I’ve been using Latisse for 3 months and while it has worked great for the lashes, I have
    started to notice that under my eyes I am getting dark places. Would these products help with that?

  • km Original review: Aug 14, 2013. Reply

    I’ve used Clinique for about close to a year…it lighted the dark spots but not enough for me to be happy with the product. Plus it’s expensive! not worth it! I’m currently using Origins mega-Bright serum along with other Origins products. I can say it’s a little better than Clinique..so far I’ve used it for 2 months.
    Hopefully!!! fingers & toes cross it will work =) Good luck to you!

  • jackie Original review: Aug 02, 2013. Reply

    Currently, I am using Garnier Dark Spot Corrector $15. It helps but you must be diligent about using it daily. Two to three times a week I use Garnier Dark Spot Peel $19. On opposite day that I use the peel, I use a battery operated microderm abrasion facial scrubber made by Neutragena;$25. Also, I use st Ives apricot scrub daily $3. It contains Sycylic acid. The combination of these products improved my dark spots and the overall appearance of my skin tone. Also, I use sun screen every single day.
    I have had IPL, It gave a slightly better result than these products but cost $700 for three treatments and I still need these products. Also, I had a microderm abrasion and a chemical peel treatment $300 for both. These helped minimally, but my skin felt amazing for a short period of time.

  • Zoey Original review: Jul 21, 2013. Reply

    How do you you get rid of sun spots caused by laying in the sun for to long? Is a dark spot corrector going to fix that or do I need to use something other then a skin care product? Garnier, Clinique and Proactiv dark spot correctors are inexpensive compared to laser so I really don’t know whether to use laser or a cream or something similar.

  • Violet Original review: Jul 05, 2013. Reply

    Garnier and Palmers dark spot correctors are the cheapest one and work okay. Clinique and Proactiv is better not not work the extra $20 or $30. I am also a big fan of the Vichy Pro Even. That one is around $30.

  • Your Review

    Recommended Articles

    The Best Skincare Products of 2022

    Uncategorized read more

    The Best Anti Aging Face Serums for 2022

    Uncategorized read more