SkinMedica Reviews - The Dermatology Review

SkinMedica Reviews

SKIN CARE REVIEWS

11.17.21DISCLAIMER

Dr. Dennis Gross. Murad. ZO Skin Health. What do all of these brands have in common? They were all founded by dermatologists. One brand that people may not know was started by a dermatologist is SkinMedica.

Dermatologist Dr. Richard Fitzpatrick was one of the co-founders of SkinMedica, a brand that’s been around since 1999. Here’s an interesting fact about this brand: SkinMedica created the first topical Growth Factors solution back in 2001, pioneering the creation of the entire category. Today, the brand has an entire line of products that include growth factors to promote healthy, more youthful-looking skin. 

In this review, we’ll cover the 10 best SkinMedica products, including the key ingredients in these products and the research that supports (or doesn’t support) their use in skincare. We’ll also share some SkinMedica reviews so that you can get an idea of what customers really think of these products. 

What are the Best Skin Care Products of 2021?

What Are The Top 10 Best SkinMedica Products?

SkinMedica offers everything that you would need to create a complete skincare routine, including cleansers, moisturizers, serums, masks, sunscreens, and more. Here’s a breakdown of the top 10 best SkinMedica products. 

 

SkinMedica Retinol Complex 0.5

Just as the name suggests, retinol is the star ingredient in SkinMedica Retinol Complex (the “0.5” in the name refers to the strength of retinol in this formula; it’s also available in strengths of 0.25% and 1%).

This retinol treatment is claimed to enhance skin tone and texture while reducing the appearance of fine lines and coarse wrinkles. We believe this product will provide all of these benefits and perhaps even more thanks to the combination of retinol with antioxidants like niacinamide and vitamin E, barrier-replenishing ceramides, and collagen-stimulating peptides. 

Bottom Line: This is a very well-formulated retinol treatment that combines 0.5% retinol with antioxidants, ceramides, peptides, and several more beneficial ingredients. 

 

SkinMedica HA5 Rejuvenating Hydrator

All skin types can benefit from a hyaluronic acid serum, especially those with oily and acne-prone skin. That’s because hyaluronic acid draws in a ton of moisture; in fact, hyaluronic acid can hold up to 1,000 times its weight in water! This gives your skin a hydration boost without feeling sticky, greasy, or heavy. 

We like that SkinMedica HA5 Rejuvenating Hydrator contains a blend of 5 different molecular weights of hyaluronic acid, which helps to deliver hydration to multiple layers of skin while also smoothing the appearance of wrinkles. 

However, we aren’t fans of the price tag — $178 USD for 2 ounces! In our opinion, we think the HA5 Rejuvenating Hydrator is overpriced, especially considering there are very similar hyaluronic serums on the market for a fraction of the cost.

The first that comes to mind is The Ordinary Hyaluronic Acid  2% + B5 (which costs less than $7 btw). A couple other excellent options include Formulyst Hyaluronic Boosting Serum and CeraVe Hydrating Hyaluronic Acid Serum.

Bottom Line: While we think the SkinMedica HA5 Rejuvenating Hydrator is formulated well, we don’t recommend this product simply because there are very similar hyaluronic serums on the market for a fraction of the cost!

 

SkinMedica TNS Essential Serum

One of SkinMedica’s most buzzed-about products is the TNS Essential Serum, which is claimed to improve the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, as well as skin tone and texture. The bottle contains dual chambers with the renowned growth factor formula, TNS Recovery Complex, in one chamber and APS Corrective Complex in the other. 

The TNS Recovery Complex (human fibroblast conditioned media) is a physiologically balanced, naturally secreted and stabilized growth factor blend.

Growth factors are messenger proteins that are inherent in our bodies and are capable of stimulating cellular growth, proliferation, healing, and cellular differentiation. Growth factors play an important role in maintaining healthy skin, and topical application may help improve the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, skin tone, and texture.

The APS Corrective Complex is a patented mixture of peptides, antioxidants, and other beneficial ingredients that improve the overall appearance of skin.

There’s a particularly high concentration of alpha-arbutin, a glycosylated hydroquinone that has the ability to inactivate tyrosinase. Thus, alpha-arbutin is known to help fade dark spots and promote a brighter complexion. 

In addition, there’s plenty of antioxidants in this formula to help prevent the formation of dark spots, as well as reduce fine lines and wrinkles. For instance, the formula includes vitamins C and E, ergothioneine, ubiquinone, green tea leaf extract, and blackberry leaf extract. 

One thing to know about this formula is that it includes several synthetic fragrance ingredients, which have the potential to cause skin sensitivity reactions. 

Bottom Line: The combination of growth factors, peptides, antioxidants, and alpha-arbutin in the TNS Essential Serum should help to improve the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, skin tone, and texture.

 

SkinMedica TNS Advanced Serum

SkinMedica TNS Advanced Serum is similar to the TNS Essential Serum as it also features a dual-chamber system; chamber 1 includes TNS-MR and chamber 2 consists of Renessensce (RSC) Advanced. 

TNS-MR includes human fibroblast conditioned media, the growth factor blend that helps to improve the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, skin tone, and texture. It also features a peptide complex. 

Renessensce (RSC) Advanced is specifically designed to support the results of

the growth factor blend, with a blend of botanicals, marine extracts, and peptides that include french flax seed, marine extract, and green microalgae. This blend supports repair functions and renewal processes, while also supporting collagen and elastin levels. 

Bottom Line: Similar to the TNS Essential Serum, the SkinMedica TNS Advanced Serum includes growth factors, peptides, and antioxidants, as well as a few extracts to further support the skin. 

 

SkinMedica TNS Eye Repair

SkinMedica TNS Eye Repair is packed with beneficial ingredients, including antioxidant vitamins C and E, growth factors, peptides, soothing botanicals, and plenty of hydrating ingredients. 

Sadly, the brand chose to package this excellent formula in a jar. This is a problem because delicate ingredients like botanicals and antioxidants will break down and lose efficacy over time due to exposure to light and air. 

Keeping that in mind, you’ll still gain benefits from the emollients and hydrating ingredients in this eye cream. Plus, the formula includes boron nitride, a mineral that optimizes the optical diffusion effect of light thereby lessening the visibility of dark circles and discolorations to enhance skin appearance. 

Bottom Line: SkinMedica TNS Eye Repair is packed with beneficial anti-aging ingredients, however, the jar packaging will cause many of them to degrade over time. 

 

SkinMedica AHA/BHA Exfoliating Cleanser

The name “AHA/BHA Exfoliating Cleanser” is slightly misleading as there aren’t actually alpha hydroxy acids (AHAs) in the formula. Rather, the formula includes extracts from lemon, orange, apple, and sugar cane, which are natural sources of AHAs. 

While it’s true that AHAs can be derived from sugar cane and fruit, these extracts don’t perform the same as when pure glycolic acid (or any other AHA) is used in a product. There’s actually a big difference between the extracted, pure ingredient (i.e. glycolic acid) and the original plant material (i.e. lemon, orange, apple, and sugar cane extracts). 

Fortunately, the cleanser includes pure salicylic acid, a beta-hydroxy acid (BHA) that’s excellent for those with oily or acne-prone skin.

Salicylic acid works by exfoliating the pore lining, which loosens clogged dirt and oil. It also has the ability to dissolve keratin, the protein that acts as a “glue” to keep dead skin cells together in the stratum corneum. This is effective because dead skin cells can build up on the surface of your skin, leaving it looking dull and also possibly clogging pores. 

Bottom Line: SkinMedica AHA/BHA Exfoliating Cleanser contains sugar cane and fruit extracts for their natural AHAs, as well as the BHA salicylic acid to help unclog pores. 

 

SkinMedica Lytera 2.0 Pigment Correcting Serum

Lytera 2.0 Pigment Correcting Serum is formulated to address the appearance of stubborn skin discoloration regardless of skin type or genetic makeup. Unlike many pigment correcting serums on the market, Lytera 2.0 does not contain hydroquinone or retinol. Rather, the Lytera 2.0 ingredients include a blend of brightening agents, peptides, and hydrating ingredients.

We love that Lytera 2.0 contains a decent amount of niacinamide, which is one of our favorite skin care ingredients. Here’s why: niacinamide has been shown to repair the skin barrier and improve skin moisture, as well as reduce inflammation, blotchiness, hyperpigmentation, acne, and wrinkling, according to a publication in the Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology.

There’s also a few ingredients in Lytera 2.0 that inhibit tyrosinase, such as phenylethyl resorcinol and tetrapeptide 30. Tyrosinase is the key enzyme involved in melanin synthesis. Melanin is a pigment that gives our skin color, but too much of this pigment can lead to undesirable dark spots called hyperpigmentation. Thus, by inhibiting tyrosinase, these ingredients help to reduce hyperpigmentation. 

Another way Lytera 2.0 tackles hyperpigmentation is with tranexamic acid. It is believed to work by inhibiting plasmin, which means that it helps to break down proteins in the skin that contribute to melanin production. Research has demonstrated that tranexamic acid at a concentration of 3% can work as well as hydroquinone, the gold standard of skin-lightening treatments. 

Bottom Line: SkinMedica Lytera 2.0 combines niacinamide with tyrosinase inhibitors and tranexamic acid, giving you a serum that should help to reduce the appearance of dark spots and brighten the complexion. 

 

SkinMedica Total Defense and Repair SPF 34 Tinted

This SkinMedica sunscreen contains both physical (mineral) sunscreen ingredients and chemical sunscreens, which together provide broad-spectrum SPF 34 protection.

We’re pretty impressed with the rest of the ingredients in this formula. For instance, there’s antioxidants like niacinamide, ubiquinone, and vitamin E, and there’s hydrating ingredients like glycerin, snow mushroom extract, and betaine. 

There’s also lightweight emollients, like caprylic/capric triglyceride and squalane, which give this sunscreen the ability to moisturize and soften skin without feeling greasy or heavy. 

And we can’t forget to mention that this SkinMedica sunscreen has an ultra-sheer tint that works best on light to medium skin tones. Plus, the tint also helps offset the white cast from the mineral sunscreens.

Bottom Line: This tinted SkinMedica sunscreen provides broad-spectrum SPF 34 protection while also hydrating and brightening the complexion. 

 

SkinMedica Vitamin C + E Complex Age Defense

A base of cyclopentasiloxane makes up this antioxidant serum, which includes two forms of vitamin C and vitamin E. Cyclopentasiloxane is a lightweight silicone that gives this serum a silky texture and excellent spreadability. 

The two forms of vitamin C include Ascorbic Acid (pure vitamin C) and Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stable, lipid-soluble ester form of ascorbic acid). Vitamin C is a potent antioxidant that protects skin from free radical damage while also stimulating collagen production and reducing the appearance of dark spots. 

The two forms of vitamin E include tocopherol (natural form of vitamin E) and Tocopheryl Acetate (stabilized ester of vitamin E). Vitamin E is a “chain-breaking” antioxidant because it can hinder the chain reaction induced by free radicals, according to a publication by Dermatology News.

Another function of vitamin E is to help the skin retain moisture by strengthening the skin’s barrier function. When vitamin E is delivered to your skin through the sebaceous (oil) glands, it improves water-binding capacity and hydrates the stratum corneum (the uppermost layer of skin). 

What’s interesting is that the antioxidant activity of vitamin E can actually become more powerful when combined with vitamin C. For this reason, vitamins C and E are referred to as “network antioxidants”.

A publication in the journal Dermatologic Therapy explains, “because vitamin C regenerates oxidized vitamin E, the combination in a cosmeceutical formulation is synergistic – particularly in UV protection.”

Bottom Line: Antioxidant vitamins C and E are combined in a base of cyclopentasiloxane in the SkinMedica Vitamin C + E Complex Age Defense, giving you a serum that protects, strengthens, and brightens skin. 

 

SkinMedica TNS Ceramide Treatment Cream

Formulated for those with dry, mature skin, the TNS Ceramide Treatment Cream combines human fibroblast conditioned media with ceramides and peptides, creating a moisturizer that helps restore your skin’s barrier function and balance.

Ceramides are a family of waxy lipid molecules that are naturally found in the stratum corneum (the upper layer of skin that is referred to as the skin barrier).

According to a publication in the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, ceramides are important for skin barrier function, and exogenously applying ceramides may help to improve skin barrier function.

The two peptides in this cream — palmitoyl oligopeptide and palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7 — help reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.

Bottom Line: TNS Ceramide Treatment Cream combines human fibroblast conditioned media with ceramides and peptides, creating a moisturizer that helps restore your skin’s barrier function and balance.

What Are The Key Ingredients in SkinMedica Products?

We noticed that SkinMedica products include a variety of ingredients that have research to support their benefits, such as:

  • Hyaluronic Acid
  • Niacinamide
  • Peptides
  • Retinol
  • Salicylic Acid
  • Vitamin C
  • Vitamin E

All of these ingredients have research to support their benefits when applied to the skin. 

The brand also features their TNS Recovery Complex, also known as “human fibroblast conditioned media”, in each SkinMedica TNS product. 

This growth factor blend helps to promote healthier, more youthful-looking skin because aging and sun-damaged skin require growth factors to maintain itself. However, cells in aging skin make less growth factors than cells in youthful skin. 

According to Dr. Rahul Mehta, Head of Research and Development at SkinMedica, one approach to support the levels of skin rejuvenation is to regularly use skincare products with a high concentration of stable growth factors.

Thus, the application of SkinMedica TNS products may help to improve the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, texture, and discoloration.

How Much Do SkinMedica Products Cost?

SkinMedica products are quite expensive when compared to other brands in the industry. For example, the SkinMedica TNS Advanced Serum costs $295 USD for just 1 fl oz. 

Where to Buy SkinMedica Products?

SkinMedica products are sold on the brand’s website, as well as through third party online retailers such as Dermstore.com, Skinstore.com, and others. 

What is The SkinMedica Return Policy?

The SkinMedica return policy states, “We are committed to offering high-quality, scientifically proven products and want to ensure you are completely satisfied with your order. If you are not satisfied for any reason, we will accept returns within 30 days of your original purchase date.”

Is SkinMedica Cruelty-Free?

It is unknown if SkinMedica is cruelty-free as there isn’t any information available on the company website, Cruelty-Free Kitty, PETA or Leaping Bunny.

SkinMedica Reviews

Unfortunately, this brand does not display SkinMedica reviews on their website, so we went over to Dermstore.com to get an idea of what customers really think of these products.

One product that has received plenty of positive feedback is SkinMedica HA5 Rejuvenating Hydrator, which has earned an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 stars after nearly 500 customer reviews. 

The positive reviews for the SkinMedica HA5 Rejuvenating Hydrator mention how well it hydrates and plumps the complexion. 

For example, one review says, “This hyaluronic acid formula is definitely superior to any others that I have tried. There is an immediate feeling in the skin of increased firmness and hydration.  I have been using it now for at least 2 years, almost daily in the morning and will continue for as long as its available because it has such positive effects on my skin.”

And another 5-star review says, “This product goes on smoothly and makes my skin feel hydrated and more plump. Love this product.”

However, there are a handful of negative reviews for the SkinMedica HA5 Rejuvenating Hydrator. Some of these negative reviews comment that the texture is too thick and sticky. Others mention side effects like redness, irritation, and even acne breakouts. 

For example, one review says, “The texture is smooth due to the silicones so it slides over the face. Not what I wanted. It pills if you put another product over it. Would not recommend it. I will try another brand next time. So disappointed as I was hoping to love it.”

Another 1-star review says, “I wanted to love this product as I have very dry skin. While I love the way it made my skin feel and it definitely did its job in terms of hydration it started to clog my pores (and I don’t have acne prone skin at all). I did some research and found that the ingredient ‘Algin’ in this product is quite comedogenic which is probably why it didn’t work for me.”

Our Verdict

Overall, we think that SkinMedica products are formulated well with a combination of evidence-based ingredients and innovative ingredients. 

Pros

  • Formulas contain many evidence-based ingredients
  • Many positive SkinMedica reviews

Cons

  • Unknown if SkinMedia is cruelty free
  • Some SkinMedica products contain synthetic fragrance ingredients

What Are Some Alternatives to SkinMedica Products?

If you’re looking for skincare products to address the signs of aging, one brand we recommend is Formulyst. Formulyst maximizes the use of powerful ingredients and minimizes the use of superficial ones, resulting in clinically advanced skin care solutions that help promote healthy, more youthful-looking skin.

One Formulyst product we recommend is the Ultimate Youth Concentrate. The formula combines plant cells with a concentrated combination of five unique peptides that can stimulate the production of Epidermal Growth Factors (EGF). EGF is a protein naturally found in cells called fibroblasts, which are responsible for producing collagen. It is thought that EGF signals to fibroblasts to produce more collagen, which leads to cell growth, proliferation, and wound healing.

As we age, our ability to produce EGF decreases, resulting in the key signs that contribute to aging skin. Applying products that increase EGF production, such as the Formulyst Ultimate Youth Concentrate, may help increase skin strength, integrity, and youthfulness. 

Another brand that balances the power of plants with cutting edge science is Carrot & Stick. Not only is Carrot & Stick good for your skin, it is also good for the environment as the formulas skip harmful chemicals commonly found in skincare products.

References:
Dermatol Ther Sep-Oct 2007;20(5):314-21.
​​Dermatology News “Update on Vitamin E” Aug 2016
Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, July 2014, pages 177-184

OUR TOP SKINCARE PICKS

1

Carrot & Stick

Carrot & Stick takes a tough love approach to skincare. What does this mean? It perfectly balances the power of plants with innovative science, offering the best of both worlds.Read More
2

Formulyst

The philosophy of Formulyst is long-term and effective skincare, rather than covering up any imperfections. The comprehensive line of products tackles everything from wrinkles to dark spots and dry skin. While some brands rely on unnecessary fillers and scents, Formulyst focuses on ingredients that help create results, such as vitamins, minerals and antioxidants.Read More

Skinmedica AHA BHA Exfoliating Cleanser Review

The SkinMedica AHA BHA Exfoliating Cleanser was designed to serve as a gentle yet extremely effective exfoliating cleanser. For many of us, exfoliating cleansers are an excellent multipurpose option as it helps to lightly remove dead skin cells while also removing impurities from the skin. While exfoliating cleansers do not offer the same amount of exfoliation as a leave on product, these types of cleansers can be a great option if you’re new to chemical exfoliants. The Skinmedica Exfoliating Cleanser is especially unique within this category because it contains both AHAs as well as BHAs. This combination of active ingredients ensures that you’re getting an adequate exfoliating treatment at both the surface as well as within the pores to smooth out the skin from both angles. Its also worth noting that this product doesn’t just contain one AHA, but an entire range of alpha hydroxy acids including lactic acid, glycolic acid, citric acid and malic acid to provide a well rounded exfoliation. Finally, jojoba oil rounds out this formula by delivering hydration and nourishment to counteract the more drying aspects of cleansing and exfoliating.

INGREDIENTS

Skin Medica Scar Recovery Gel Review

The Skin Medica Scar Recovery Gel was originally developed to help users tackle stubborn hyperpigmentation due to scarring. This product was designed for use all over the body to address multiple types of scarring including scarring caused by minor injuries, cosmetic procedures and even c-sections. The Skinmedica Scar Recovery Gel utilizes a combination of lactic acid, as well as centella asiatica to come at scarring from two different angles. The lactic acid within this formula helps to brighten the skin and encourage cell renewal with gentle exfoliation and removal of dead skin cells. Centella Asiatica on the other hand works with the skin in order to encourage healing, soothing and diminish inflammation in the skin so that scars look less noticeable, and with time, invisible.

INGREDIENTS

SkinMedica Facial Cleanser Review

SkinMedica has been providing dermatologist approved skincare formulations for years. If you’re looking to dip your toes into the brand and see what they have to offer, one of the best places to start is with their SkinMedica Facial Cleanser. This product was developed to serve as a gentle face wash that removes dirt, oil and makeup without causing any irritation during or after cleansing. The formula behind this product contains a range of nutrients and botanical extracts to help the overall condition of the skin. Starting with green tea seed extract, this ingredient is incredibly versatile and offers an array of benefits. As an antioxidant especially, this ingredient helps to neutralize free radicals in order to prevent the visible signs of environmental damage which can lead to premature aging. In addition to green tea, this product is also rich in pro-B vitamins which help to reduce inflammation and reinforce the skin’s natural moisture barrier, which helps to offset the drying qualities that some surfactants can have when used in cleansers.

INGREDIENTS

Skinmedica Uplifting Eye Serum Review

If eye creams feel a little too rich and heavy for you, but you’d like to experience the benefits of using targeted active ingredients around the eyes, you may want to check out an eye serum. Eye serums like the SkinMedica UpLifting Eye Serum have specialized ingredients that help to target some of the main concerns that affect the eye area including fine lines and wrinkles, crow’s feet, dullness, sagging, eye bags, puffiness, sensitivity and more. This particular product contains a blend of botanical extracts and ingredients which help to brighten and illuminate dark undereyes to deliver a more vibrant, youthful appearance. The formula includes a range of ingredients including algae extract, licorice root extract and green tea extract. All of these ingredients are also incredibly antioxidant rich, which further helps to protect the skin against premature aging.

INGREDIENTS

Skinmedica Vitamin C E Complex Review

SkinMedica has been a leader in the Skincare Industry for years and has pioneered several formulations with have had ripple effects in the rest of the industry. Products like the SkinMedica Vitamin C E Complex were one of the first to utilizes the boosting effects of vitamin C and vitamin E in one formula. But how does this vitamin C serum compete with others on the market? One of the most unique aspects of this formula is that their are actually two types of vitamin C and vitamin E derivatives present. For vitamin C, this product contains pure ascorbic acid as well as tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, which is a lipid soluble ester or derivative of vitamin C. This formula also contains two forms of vitamin E with tocopheryl acetate, an ester of vitamin E and tocopheryl, a natural form of vitamin E. These different forms of the active ingredients allow the formula as a whole to work more effectively and produce even more results in a shorter amount of time. Additionally, this also helps to lessen any risk of irritation when first incorporate vitamin C into your routine. While this is not the case with everyone, there is a percentage of people who experience some form of irritation when first incorporating pure vitamin C or ascorbic acid into their routine. Offsetting the formula with a derivative helps to lessen that risk without compromising on potency.

INGREDIENTS

SkinMedica TNS Recovery Complex Review

If you’re on the hunt for an anti-aging or wrinkle fighting serum that is retinol free, but still effective, you may want to check out the SkinMedica TNS Recovery Complex. This unique product uses essential growth factors in order to deliver those illusive anti-aging results. But it’s not just what’s inside that matters, but also how much. The TNS Recovery Complete, which SkinMedica is most known for, incorporates the highest concentration of their patented growth factor blend. The 93.6% Tissue Nutrient Solution, or TNS, that makes up the bulk of this formula includes 380 growth factors and cytokines. The TNS complex is also formulated with antioxidants, soluble collagen and matrix proteins to support healthy and resilience skin. After 6 months of treatment, you can expect wrinkles and fine lines to look significant reduced, skin texture to appearance smoother, and skin tone to be more luminous and youthful. In order to get the most out of this product, the brand recommends that you apply this product twice daily as part of your morning and evening routine, on the face, neck and chest if desired.

INGREDIENTS

Skinmedica Ultra Sheer Moisturizer Review

If you’re looking for a simple, yet effective non comedogenic moisturizer, then you may want to look into the SkinMedica Ultra Sheer Moisturizer. One of the key components of this formula is the inclusion of two important vitamins, namely Vitamin C and Vitamin E. The SkinMedica Ultra Sheer Moisturizer contains a stabilized form of vitamin C, also known as a vitamin C ester, which helps to brighten the skin and create a more radiant appearance. Vitamin E on the other hand is known for its moisturizing and nourishing properties. These two ingredients, plus the rest of the formula, help to provide the skin with everything it needs, without becoming too heavy on the skin. Because the brand has given careful consideration to the ingredients that best suit those with easily clogged skin, we’d recommend this product to those of you who frequently have both acne and sensitive skin.

INGREDIENTS

SkinMedica Age Defense Retinol Complex Review

The SkinMedica Age Defense Retinol Complex, otherwise known as the Retinol Complex 1.0, is a active ingredient rich serum. The main benefits that this product offers, according to the brand are enhanced skin tone and texture and reduced appearance of fine lines and wrinkles. While 1.0 may seem like a relatively low percentage of an active ingredient, this is actually the strongest retinol product that SkinMedica offers, and for good reason. Retinol is an incredibly potent active that can be quite irritating for some during the first few months of use. In order to lessen this irritation, SkinMedica actually offers three different options in their Retinol Complex range, starting out at a 0.25 concentration. In order to minimize irritation, while also seeing the best results, we recommend starting off with the lowest concentration a few times a week to see how your skin reacts. As you skin adjusts, you can gradually work towards applying the product every night.

Further Reading: Best Retinol Creams

INGREDIENTS

SkinMedica Redness Relief

SkinMedica Redness Relief CalmPlex: Ingredients and Overview If you’re suffering from redness and irritation caused by Rosacea, then you may have come across SkinMedica Redness Relief CalmPlex reviews that claim positive results by other Rosacea sufferers. Although the symptoms associated with this skin problem can feel psychologically overwhelming and can make you feel self conscious, it’s important you take the time to learn about this product, and other Rosacea treatments, before exposing your skin to potentially harmful chemicals. Although the manufacturer claims that SkinMedica Redness Relief CalmPlex can achieve excellent results for your skin with long term use, only your dermatologist can determine whether this product is the right solution for you. This is especially true for individuals who may have allergies or extra sensitive skin that may react poorly to this product and lead to rash and inflammation. If you’re considering this SkinMedica product, don’t take shortcuts; speak to your skin care specialist in depth, tell them about your medical history, and read SkinMedica Redness Relief CalmPlex reviews from third party websites to see what problems other consumers may have had with this item.

Where to Buy SkinMedica Redness Relief CalmPlex

You may be able to find unauthorized containers of SkinMedica Redness Relief CalmPlex from retailers online; however, it is strongly advised that you don’t purchase them. SkinMedica Redness Relief CalmPlex can be harmful to the skin if not used properly, and authorized retailers can only sell it with a prescription.

INGREDIENTS

SkinMedica Rejuvenative Moisturizer

SkinMedica Rejuvenative Moisturizer: Product Overview Some over-the-counter moisturizers do not have the strength to hydrate dry skin, and if you find that you need a stronger product without resorting to a prescription medication, you may want to consider adding SkinMedica Rejuvenative Moisturizer to your skin care kit. This product, which is offered by SkinMedica under its parent company, Allegran, is one of several moisturizers available in the company collection. SkinMedica Rejuvenative Moisturizer may be beneficial for those who suffer from chronic dry skin that does not respond well to mass-marketed creams or moisturizers that can be purchased in drugstores or chain stores. This cream is formulated for use on the face and the neck, although it can be used on the upper chest as well. SkinMedica Rejuvenative Moisturizer is available for shipping in the U.S. only.

About SkinMedica Rejuvenative Moisturizer

SkinMedica Rejuvenative Moisturizer is packaged in a 2-ounce container and is not available in any other size. This product is not formulated to treat wrinkles or sagging skin and should be used only for the treatment of dry skin. While SkinMedica Rejuvenative Moisturizer is not a prescription skin care product, the manufacturer does recommend that it should only be used under the care of a doctor in order to achieve the best results, particularly if you have never used any SkinMedica product before.

INGREDIENTS

SkinMedica Dermal Repair Cream

SkinMedica Dermal Repair Cream: Product Overview Dry skin is a common problem for many people, and some find that they need something more powerful than a typical drugstore lotion, such as SkinMedica Dermal Repair Cream. This product is one of several hydration products offered by SkinMedica, which also includes products for skin brightening, anti-aging, and acne. If you find that over-the-counter lotions do not heal your dry skin or have limited effects, then SkinMedica Dermal Repair Cream may be a viable skin care choice for you. While this cream can be purchased from your doctor, it does not require a prescription. SkinMedica Dermal Repair Cream is currently only available for U.S. customers.

About SkinMedica Dermal Repair Cream

According to the manufacturer, SkinMedica Dermal Repair Cream is appropriate for use for those with normal to dry skin. The cream can be used on a daily basis, regardless of skin type. SkinMedica Dermal Repair Cream is available in a 1.7-ounce container, and customers may auto-replenish their supply directly from the website if they wish.

INGREDIENTS

SkinMedica TNS Illuminating Eye Cream Review

SkinMedica TNS Illuminating Eye Cream utilizes a number of unique ingredients and complexes in order to deliver significant results. This specific Eye Cream was created to help brighten and illuminate the eye area. But in addition to this, there are also ingredients in this formula that are designed to help with fine lines and wrinkles, as well as crows feet. The complex that this cream is named after, known as TNS, is a physiologically balanced, naturally secreted and stabilized combination of multiple natural messenger proteins. In addition to this complex, the formula behind this product also contains hydroxysuccinimide and chrysin, boron nitride and palmitoyl tetrapeptide-7. Hydroxysuccinimide and chrysin are both used in order to help with dark circles, while boron nitride creates an optical illusion that brightens the undereye area upon first application.

INGREDIENTS

SkinMedica Lumivive System Review

Lumivive System offers two separate serum to protect your skin from environmental damage during the day and at night. The system features two products, the Lumivive Day Damage Defense Serum and the Lumivive Night Revitalize Repair Complex. Starting with the Day Damage Defense Serum, this product features vitamin C as well as theobroma cacao seed extract, alteromonas ferment extract and bioflavonoids to protect the skin against blue light and other environmental stressors such as pollution. The Night Revitalize Repair Complex on the other hand, features the new Envigorate Technology. This complex, which is unique to Skin Medica features mitoquinone mesylate, mirabilis jalapa callus extract and pentapeptide-34 to deliver a radiant glow, while simultaneously helping the skin to recover from any stress that occurred during the day.

SkinMedica Tri-Retinol Complex

Alternatives to SkinMedica Tri-Retinol Complex If you have been considering the addition of a retinol cream to your skin care kit, you might have looked into SkinMedica Tri-Retinol Complex. However, this product has been discontinued by the company and has been replaced with several other alternatives that you may want to consider. There are several benefits to considering the alternatives of SkinMedica Tri-Retinol Complex, with the main benefit being that you will not have to shop outside of the company if you already enjoy using their products and wanted to add a retinol product to your skin care kit that came from the company as well. There are three alternative to the previous retinoid cream that you might consider, which gives you a wider range of choices for fighting the signs of aging. The manufacturer suggests that these alternatives to SkinMedica Tri-Retinol Complex should only be used under the care of a dermatologist, as retinol products can cause moderate side effects.

INGREDIENTS

SkinMedica Rejuvenize Peel

SkinMedica Rejuvenize Peel Review: Product Information, Usage, and Side Effects If you are trying to treat more severe skin problems such as severe sun damage, extreme hyperpigmentation, acne scarring, and deep wrinkles, then you may have already considered using SkinMedica Rejuvenize Peel. The manufacturer, SkinMedica, also carries a number of skin care products that include facial cleansers, toners, moisturizers, skin brighteners, and sun care items. While many items in the product line are available without a prescription, the SkinMedica Rejuvenize Peel can only be administered by a licensed physician. SkinMedica has been offering its customers a wide variety of skin care products for the last decade, and was purchased in 2013 by the global pharmaceutical company, Allegran.

About the SkinMedica Rejuvenize Peel

The SkinMedica Rejuvenize Peel is designed to bring about dramatic results after just one use, according to the manufacturer. It is a viable option for those who have tried over-the-counter chemical peels but have obtained limited results. This peel, which is only available in medical offices that can be found via a physician locater on the company website, is administered from one to three times, depending on the severity of your symptoms.

INGREDIENTS

SkinMedica TNS Essential Serum Review

TNS Essential Serum is an anti-aging facial serum created by SkinMedica, a scientifically based skin care brand that was founded in 1999. Interestingly, SkinMedica created the first topical Growth Factors solution back in 2001, pioneering the creation of the entire category. TNS Essential Serum combines the renowned growth factor formula, TNS Recovery Complex, in one chamber and APS Corrective Complex in the other. The key benefits of TNS Essential Serum include a reduction in the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, as well as enhanced skin texture and tone.

Who is TNS Essential Serum for?

SkinMedica TNS Essential Serum is appropriate for all skin types, and is best for those with mature skin and visible signs of aging. The TNS Essential Serum and other SkinMedica products can only be purchased through a skin care professional. Your skin care professional can determine which combination of SkinMedica products can help to achieve your specific skin care needs.

INGREDIENTS
  • Sandy Original review: May 18, 2017. Reply

    I ordered Latisse and answered all the questions then was told if any other information was needed from me they would contact me. I received my American Express bill and I was charged the day I placed the order but ten days later I still hadn’t received and email stating the product was sent. So I got online and was told that it still wasn’t sent since they were so backed up. Also was told they needed a picture of me sent which I did the day I ordered. I have cancelled my order and requested a refund. They should not have charged my credit card until they sent out my order. Will order this product elsewhere.

  • Kristen Original review: Dec 09, 2016. Reply

    I recently purchased several Skin Medica products at the advice of my aesthetician. I am new to this product line. One of the products was Lytera Skin Brightening Complex. After using it 3 times, I accidentally knocked it off my counter and it split into two pieces. I called Skin Medica to see if I could salvage what was left of it and had the most disappointing customer service experience I have ever had. It was almost laughable. Won’t be using these products again in the future. Headed back to Skin Ceuticals. The take away is that you cannot use this product after it is exposed to air. So be very careful not to break it or you will also throw over 100 dollars away with the trash.

  • Concerned... Original review: Nov 15, 2015. Reply

    Was surprised to read the reviews saying “cut open the tube and squeeze out every last drop” and also “pry odd the top and ADD some water…” I like evryone else want to get every dime I am paying for, but I am afraid with these methods it will diminish or completely hinder the effectiveness of the ingredients! I advise no one follow the above advice!!

  • Stephanie Original review: Mar 15, 2015. Reply

    I read that the TNS essential serum actually contains the TNS Recovery Complex in the first chamber and a different complex (APS?) in the second chamber, so you should NOT use TNS Essential Serum AND TNS Recovery Complex together. I hope this is helpful and saves you some money! 🙂

  • Susan Original review: Jun 09, 2014. Reply

    yes it does smell really bad when you first starting using it, after I while I found I liked the smell, weird right! But I definitely love what it did for my skin. I wish it wasn’t so pricey I would use it all the time!

  • Jan Original review: May 21, 2014. Reply

    I just opened the TNS Essential Serum and used it tonight. It smells really bad, like REALLY BAD! is that normal?

  • lisa Original review: Jan 17, 2014. Reply

    I purchased the TNS Essential Serum and the Tri-Retinol products. The Retinol was too harsh for me and made my skin worse. I stuck with it for 8 weeks and it never got better. The TNS product kept getting clogged and I never could get the serum to work after the first 2 weeks so it was a waste.

  • Holly Original review: Dec 04, 2013. Reply

    I was using the skinmedica tns essential serum last year but decided to use another range and have been having with their products. I did read online that retinol is good for the skin and the range I am using now does not use any retinol in their products. Does anybody know how skinmedica tri-retinol complex compared to prescription grade retinol products?

  • Cindy Original review: Oct 09, 2013. Reply

    Skinmedica Lytera is amazing. It works as well as hydroquinone but it is not as irritating. This was recommended to me when I was at Canyon Creek Plastic Surgery. I know the product costs $125 but if you buy a hydroquinone cream with kojic acid it costs around $60. That is cheaper but hydroquinone is very bad for your skin. It also causes a lot of irritation. Skinmedica Lytera feels more mild but it is as effective.

  • Lily Original review: Sep 11, 2013. Reply

    I can’t really tell if it’s doing anything but I figure it’s good for my skin since all the top plastic surgeons and dermatologists recommend SkinMedica. I use TNS Essential Serum and SkinMedica LYTERA Skin Brightening Complex. They are expensive but I need to look presentable for my profession.

  • Darla Original review: Aug 15, 2013. Reply

    I have been using skinmedica since May 2013, give them time, they are truly the only products you’ll ever need!! Amazing results!!

  • Erin Original review: Aug 02, 2013. Reply

    SkinMedica TNS is awesome. I starting using Lytera and it isn’t as good as Hydroquinone but I see some changes after 8 months. Be careful with the auto rebill. It is a very expensive product, for my situation and the rebill can hurt some months.

  • Amy Original review: Jul 23, 2013. Reply

    I am 52 years old and I have been using SkinMedica TNS system since it was first introduced to the market a few years ago. They are amazing products with all sorts of powerful ingredients. SkinMedica skin care is the best.

  • Your Review
    User Rating: 5.0 (1 votes)
    Sending

    Recommended Articles

    The Best Skincare Products of 2021

    Uncategorized read more

    The Best Anti Aging Face Serums for 2021

    Uncategorized read more