Obagi Review: A Review of The 10 Best Obagi Skin Care Products - The Dermatology Review

Obagi Review: A Review of The 10 Best Obagi Skin Care Products

SKIN CARE REVIEWS

07.12.21DISCLAIMER

Founded by board-certified dermatologist Dr. Zein Obagi in 1988, the Obagi skin care line includes professional, medical-grade products that are designed to “unleash your skin’s full potential”.

What are the Best Skin Care Products of 2021?

The brand offers the Obagi Medical line with products formulated to treat problems like fine lines, wrinkles, and dark spots, while the Obagi Clinical line includes products to prevent these early signs of skin aging.

In this review, we’ll cover the 10 best Obagi skin care products, formulation details, key ingredients, and the research that supports (or doesn’t support) their use in skincare. We’ll also share some Obagi reviews so that you can get an idea of what customers really think of these products.

What Are The Top 10 Best Obagi Skin Care Products?

Obagi skin care products are designed to help minimize the appearance of premature skin aging, skin damage, hyperpigmentation, acne, and sun damage. Here’s a breakdown of the top 10 best Obagi Skin Care products.

 

Obagi Vitamin C Serum

There are three available strengths of the Obagi Vitamin C Serum: 10%, 15%, and 20%. The form of vitamin C in all of these serums is L-ascorbic acid. Vitamin C is ideal for those struggling with skin discoloration, uneven skin tone, and signs of aging like fine lines and wrinkles. While Obagi Vitamin C Serum provides your skin with a potent dose of L-ascorbic acid, all three formulations contain a synthetic fragrance blend, which isn’t doing your skin any good!

 

Obagi Elastiderm Eye Cream

Obagi Elastiderm Eye Cream has a lightweight, silky texture due to the high concentrations of emollients, humectants, and silicones in this formula.

The emollients, like ethylhexyl palmitate and glyceryl stearate, will help to soften the skin and can help alleviate dry skin.

Glycerin, a humectant, works by drawing moisture into the skin to increase hydration. The extra hydration also temporarily plumps out the skin and makes lines and wrinkles less noticeable. However, this effect is transient – as soon as the moisture content in skin decreases, lines and wrinkles will return to normal size.

The silicones in this Obagi eye cream will form a thin, invisible film on the surface of skin that imparts a silky smooth skin feel and helps to lock in moisture. This film also enables silicones to temporarily fill in and disguise wrinkles. But once again this effect is purely cosmetic and once the product is washed off, fine lines and wrinkles will return.

Unfortunately, the Obagi Elastiderm Eye Cream contains low concentrations of key ingredients that would actually provide long term benefits. For instance, licorice root extract, algae extract, and blueberry fruit extract are found very low on the ingredient list.

Something else to be aware of before purchasing Obagi Elastiderm Eye Cream is that the formula contains five different parabens as preservatives.

 

Obagi Nu Derm Systems

There are three Obagi Nu Derm Systems: Blender, Clear, and Sunfader. All three require a prescription due to the inclusion of 4% hydroquinone (2% is the maximum allowed in an OTC product). Hydroquinone is considered to be the gold standard for treating hyperpigmentation.

According to the American Osteopathic College of Dermatology, hydroquinone produces reversible lightening of the skin by interfering with melanin production by the melanocytes. Ultimately, this causes a decrease in the number of melanocytes and decreased transfer of melanin, leading to lighter skin. While the Obagi Nu Derm systems are formulated with an effective strength of hydroquinone to produce considerable skin lightening, we have to point out that all three formulations contain parabens as preservatives.

 

Obagi Nu Derm Healthy Skin Protection Broad Spectrum SPF 35

This Obagi Nu Derm sunscreen combines the mineral sunscreen zinc oxide with the chemical sunscreen octinoxate to provide broad spectrum SPF 35 protection. Broad spectrum means that this sunscreen protects against both UVA and UVB rays. Unfortunately, this is another Obagi skin care product that contains parabens as preservatives.

 

Obagi Professional C Peptide Complex

Peptides — aka the building blocks of important skin proteins like collagen and elastin — are the key ingredients in Obagi Professional C Peptide Complex. For instance, this formula includes acetyl octapeptide-3, a peptide that influences the muscle contraction process and relaxes facial muscles, thereby reducing fine lines and wrinkles. Obagi Professional C Peptide Complex also includes antioxidants, such as vitamins C and E, to help brighten the skin while defending against free radicals.

 

Obagi Blue Peel

The Obagi Blue Peel is an at-home peel that combines three acids — salicylic acid, glycolic acid, and lactic acid — in a base of denatured alcohol. While these exfoliating acids provide many benefits to the skin, denatured alcohol does not.

The problem with this type of alcohol is that, at first, it seems like it’s benefitting the skin. Initially, alcohol helps to reduce excess oil while tightening the skin. But not in a healthy way!

The immediate de-greasing effects of alcohol-based products can actually stimulate the sebaceous glands to produce more oil, causing skin to look even more shiny and oily than it was before, and possibly even leading to breakouts.

Plus, denatured alcohol can even cause disruption of the skin barrier. According to a publication in the journal BBA Biomembranes, alcohol disrupts the lipids that make up the stratum corneum (the outermost layer of skin). While alcohol may provide short term benefits, it’s not doing your skin any good in the long run.

 

Obagi Retinol Serum

If you’re trying to prevent or reduce signs of skin aging, then you’ve probably heard that it’s a good idea to add a retinol serum into your nightly routine. Retinol is clinically proven to minimize the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, improve uneven skin tone, restore skin firmness, and shrink the appearance of enlarged pores.

The only downside? Retinol can often lead to side effects like skin dryness, peeling, and irritation. That’s why it’s best to start with a low strength retinol product and work your way up to high strengths. The Obagi retinol serums allow you to do that because the brand offers a 0.5% retinol serum and 1% retinol serum.

 

Obagi Retivance

Obagi Retivance features retinaldehyde, a vitamin A derivative, as the key ingredient. For any vitamin A derivative to be effective, it must first be converted to retinoic acid. For example, pure retinol must be converted to retinaldehyde and then to retinoic acid. Using retinaldehyde offers more effectiveness than retinol because it is one step closer to retinoic acid. And, just like retinol, retinaldehyde provides benefits like reducing fine lines and wrinkles, improving uneven skin tone, restoring skin firmness, reducing pore size, and more.

 

Obagi Sun Shield Matte Broad Spectrum SPF 50

This Obagi sunscreen combines zinc oxide with two chemical sunscreen ingredients (octisalate and homosalate) to provide broad spectrum SPF 50 protection. It has a lightweight texture that absorbs well without feeling heavy or greasy, providing an elegant matte finish.

 

Obagi Professional C Microdermabrasion Polish + Mask

A 2-in-1 skin-polishing mask that exfoliates while providing 30% vitamin C in order to promote smoother, brighter, more youthful-looking skin. The formula contains ultra-fine crystals that effectively help to shed the most superficial layers of the epidermis, removing built-up surface debris and promoting healthy-looking skin.

What Are The Key Ingredients in Obagi Skin Care Products?

Obagi skin care products are formulated with a variety of evidence-based ingredients, such as \, glycolic acid, and retinol. Let’s take a closer look at these ingredients and how they may benefit your skin.

 

Vitamin C

L-ascorbic acid, or pure vitamin C, is a powerful antioxidant that protects your skin from environmental free radical damage. Vitamin C also helps fade dark spots, evens out skin tone, and increases radiance.

As if that wasn’t enough, research suggests that when vitamin C is applied to the skin, it significantly reverses aging-related structural changes by influencing collagen and elastin synthesis. A vitamin C serum, such as the Obagi Vitamin C Serum, is the best way to deliver this active ingredient into the deeper layers of your skin.

 

Glycolic Acid

Glycolic acid is a member of the family of alpha-hydroxy acids (AHAs). As an AHA, glycolic acid has the ability to exfoliate the skin, stimulate the skin’s natural regeneration process, and help the skin to retain moisture. It exfoliates the skin by targeting corneocytes (dead skin cells) in a process called corneocyte desquamation. By enhancing their breakdown and increasing the separation of skin cells, the rate of cell turnover is increased, leading to smoother, more radiant skin.

Glycolic acid is used in the Obagi Blue Peel, but remember that this peel contains a high concentration of denatured alcohol. Since we don’t recommend the Obagi Blue Peel, check out our curated list of the best glycolic acid peels.

 

Retinol

After being absorbed by the skin, retinol (aka vitamin A) is converted to its active form, retinoic acid. Retinoic acid works deep within the skin where it boosts collagen synthesis, increases elasticity, and repairs connective tissue. It also increases cellular turnover, which helps to prevent clogged pores and also promotes smoother, healthier skin.

According to a publication in the journal Clinical Interventions in Aging, retinoic acid can minimize the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, improve uneven skin tone, restore skin firmness, and shrink the appearance of enlarged pores.

How Much Do Obagi Skin Care Products Cost?

Obagi skin care products are pricey, for example, the Obagi Vitamin C Serum 20% costs $133 USD for 1 ounce, and the Obagi Elastiderm Eye Cream costs $115.50 for just a half ounce jar.

In our opinion, Obagi skin care products are not worth the hefty price tags, especially since there are other brands offering similar products for a fraction of the cost.

For example, instead of dishing out $133 for the Obagi Vitamin C Serum, you could pay just $5.80 for The Ordinary Vitamin C Suspension, which combines 23% pure L-Ascorbic Acid with hyaluronic acid. Seems like a no brainer to us!

Where to Buy Obagi Skin Care Products?

You can buy Obagi skin care products on the brand’s website, as well as through physicians, medical spas, and other skin care professionals. The brand’s website has a locator so that you can enter your zip code to find skin care professionals that sell Obagi skin care products near you. In addition, Sephora and Dermstore are authorized online sellers of Obagi skin care products.

What is The Obagi Return Policy?

The Obagi return policy states, “If you are dissatisfied with any purchase you have made through this Site, you have the option of returning any unopened product for a refund within 30 days of the shipment date stated on the invoice.”

Is Obagi Cruelty Free?

Obagi is not cruelty free. The brand states on its website, “Unless mandated by the FDA for drug safety purposes, Obagi does not test its products on animals. Non-prescription Obagi products have not been tested on animals.”

Are Obagi Skin Care Products Vegan?

The brand’s website states, “We cannot guarantee that any of our products are vegan”.

Obagi Reviews

Obagi reviews on the brand’s website are overall very positive. However, there aren’t very many reviews, which is why we turned to Dermstore.com to see what customers have to say about Obagi skin care products.

One product that has been very well received is the Obagi Vitamin C Serum 20%, which has earned an average rating of 4.76 out of 5 stars after more than 500 customer reviews.

The positive reviews for the Obagi Vitamin C Serum are from customers who confirm that this serum really does help with hyperpigmentation. It is said to help fade dark spots and acne scars, as well as give the skin a glow.

For example, one review says, “Since using this product I have been getting compliments about how radiant my skin looks. I noticed that my skin tone has even out and my acne scars are beginning to disappear. I have stopped wearing foundation since using this.”

And another very positive review says, “I love this serum. It instantly brightened my skin, smells wonderful and absorbs quickly. Did not break me out.”

Even though there aren’t many negative Obagi Vitamin C Serum reviews, it’s still a good idea to take a look at what these reviews say to see why customers did not like this serum. Most of the negative reviews we found were from customers who did not see the results they were hoping for even after months of using Obagi C Serum.

For example, one review says, “This has been very disappointing. I have a couple of sunspots, one that I’ve been trying to fade for quite some time. I had high hopes for this serum because of the great reviews. I’ve been using it as directed. I use SPF and avoid the sun. I’ve been using this serum every day for at least 8 weeks and yes, my skin feels nice, but this hasn’t brightened my skin tone or faded any spots. A little goes a very long way and I still have quite a bit of product left. However, as this didn’t actually do anything visibly to my face, I won’t be repurchasing. It didn’t work for me.”

And a similar review says, “This vitamin C was okay, applied well with easy absorption. However I did not notice any difference when using this product and for its price point I expected more.”

Our Verdict

Overall, we think that some Obagi skin care products are better than others, and we would recommend avoiding the products that contain fragrance and parabens.

Pros

  • Products contain evidence-based ingredients (AHAs, salicylic acid, vitamin C, retinol, etc.)
  • Many positive Obagi reviews

Cons

  • Obagi is not cruelty free
  • Some Obagi skin care products contain parabens
  • Some Obagi skin care products contain fragrance

What Are Some Alternatives to Obagi Skin Care Products?

If you’re looking for skincare products to address the signs of aging, one brand we recommend is Formulyst. Formulyst maximizes the use of powerful ingredients and minimizes the use of superficial ones, resulting in clinically advanced skin care solutions that help promote healthy, more youthful-looking skin.

One serum that can help to address multiple signs of aging at once is Formulyst’s Anti-Aging Concentrate. This serum contains natural ingredients like squalane, green tea, vitamin C, and vitamin E, which provide powerful antioxidant activity to protect the skin against environmental free radicals that are known to degrade collagen. In addition, this serum contains Matrixyl 3000, a peptide complex that works to restore and maintain the skin’s youthful appearance by signaling to cells to produce more collagen.

Another brand that balances the power of plants with cutting edge science is Carrot & Stick. Not only is Carrot & Stick good for your skin, it is also good for the environment as the formulas skip harmful chemicals commonly found in skin care products.

References:
Nutrients. 2017 Aug; 9(8): 866.
American Osteopathic College of Dermatology “Hydroquinone”
BBA Biomembranes, May 2012, pages 1410-1419
Clin Interv Aging. 2006 Dec; 1(4): 327–348.

OUR TOP SKINCARE PICKS

1

Carrot & Stick

Carrot & Stick takes a tough love approach to skincare. What does this mean? It perfectly balances the power of plants with innovative science, offering the best of both worlds.Read More
2

Formulyst

The philosophy of Formulyst is long-term and effective skincare, rather than covering up any imperfections. The comprehensive line of products tackles everything from wrinkles to dark spots and dry skin. While some brands rely on unnecessary fillers and scents, Formulyst focuses on ingredients that help create results, such as vitamins, minerals and antioxidants.Read More
3

Advanced Dermatology

The Advanced Dermatology skin care regimen addresses the most pressing aging concerns.Read More

Obagi Elastiderm Eye Cream

What is Obagi Elastiderm Eye Cream? Obagi Elastiderm Eye Cream is a firming eye cream that is claimed to strengthen the skin by encouraging the production of collagen and elastin. It can be used by all skin types, and is ideal for mature or damaged skin. It is also said...
INGREDIENTS

Obagi Clinical Vitamin C Eye Brightener Review

If you’re looking for an eye cream that offers something more than just hydration, you may want to check out the Obagi Clinical Vitamin C Eye Brightener. This product features the same Kinetin + Complex that is found is the Obagi Clinical Kinetin + Rejuvenating Serum. This complex has been clinically tested and has demonstrated the ability to minimize the major signs of skin aging in order to deliver a renewed, refreshed and youthful appearance. The Vitamin C Eye Brightener also features the vitamin C ester tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, which is less well studied in comparison to pure vitamin C, but will stay fresh for much longer and is also better tolerated. Finally, this product also contains an adaptogen complex that includes yeast ferment and rhodiola rosea. These two ingredients help to hydrate and energize tired and dull looking skin to create a more youthful and radiance appearance. All together this formula is an excellent option for those whose primary concerns include skin aging, as well as dark circles or shadows under the eye.

Related: Best Vitamin C Serums

INGREDIENTS

Obagi Clinical Vitamin C+ Arbutin Brightening Serum Review

For a brightening serum that’s packed with active ingredients, we recommend looking into the Obagi Clinical Vitamin C+ Arbutin Brightening Serum. This product was designed to target signs of dullness and discoloration as well as some of the major signs of aging including age spots and fine lines. As the name would suggest, this product contains vitamin C and alpha arbutin, both of which are powerful active ingredients that have been shown to help lighten hyperpigmentation and even out skin tone. This product contains 10% L-Ascorbic Acid, which is the pure form of vitamin C. Since vitamin C is at it’s most effective at around 20-25% in cosmetic formulations, this particular product would be an excellent option for those with more sensitive skin types or for those who have never used vitamin C before. With all this said, it’s worth noting that this product does contain denatured alcohol and sodium lauryl sulfate, both of which can be drying and potentially irritating, so we recommend performing a patch test before incorporating this product into your everyday skincare routine.

Related: Best Vitamin C Serums

INGREDIENTS

Obagi Clinical Kinetin+ Rejuvenating Serum Review

While Obagi used to only be available through medical spas and esthetician’s offices their new Obagi Clinical line has been made available to everyone and can now be found in popular beauty retailers like sephora. This collection of products features active-ingredient rich formulations that focus mostly on treating some of the most common skincare concerns. For example, the Obagi Clinical Kinetin + Rejuvenating Serum is a rejuvenating product that was designed to specifically target the main skin concerns associated with aging. The two active ingredients in this formula include swiss apple stem cells and the Kinetin + Complex which is unique to Obagi products. These two ingredients work together to deliver a more radiant and youthful looking complexion, while simultaneously hydrating and plumping the skin.

INGREDIENTS

Obagi Clinical Retinol 0.5 Retexturizing Cream Review

If you’re looking for a powerful over the counter retinol product, the Obagi Clinical Retinol 0.5 Retexturizing Cream may be the perfect product for you. This highly potent retinol cream is one of the most well known high-powered, over the counter retinol treatments on the market due to its concentration of active ingredients, as well as its nourishing formulation. Obagi is a dermatologist-based brand that specializes in creating very effective, active ingredient rich formulations. While 0.5% of a given active ingredient may not seem like very much, when it comes to retinol, a little goes a very long way. Since retinol can be quite irritating, especially during the first three months of use, sticking to a smaller percentage like 0.5% will allow you to reap all the same benefits that this active is known for, with less irritation, peeling or redness. Additionally, Obagi offers a range of retinol based products, including some that have a higher percentage of the active ingredient so you can feel free to up your daily dosage once your skin has had plenty of time to adjust and start reaping the benefits of this gold standard ingredient.

Further Reading: Best Retinol Creams

INGREDIENTS

Obagi Hydrate Luxe Review

The Obagi Hydrate range was designed to provide the perfect level of hydration and moisture for all skin types. This is why they created two products, the Hydrate Facial Moisturizer and the Hydrate Luxe. The latter is a much richer product, which is more suitable for those with dry or mature skin types that are in need of a hefty dose of moisture. Because this product is considerably richer, it makes for an ideal evening moisturizer. The Obagi Hydrate Luxe was designed to work in tandem with your skin’s reparative processes that occur while your sleep to hydrate and replenish your complexion. The formula behind this product contains a number of beneficial actives and botanical ingredients including shea butter, biomimetic peptides and hydromanil. These ingredients help the skin retain moisture and maintain a healthy skin barrier.

INGREDIENTS

Obagi Hydrate Review

Obagi Hydrate: Product Information and Overview Obagi Hydrate is an intensive and medicated moisturizer that is designed to be long-lasting and superior to over-the-counter moisturizers when it comes to how well they help the skin to retain moisture. The Obagi company, which was founded in the mid-1980s by a group of skin care professionals, creates and markets skin care products that are available only through dermatologists’ offices. Obagi is currently owned by Valeant Pharmaceuticals International, Inc., but the products, including Obagi Hydrate, still carry the original company name. Those who want to try this moisturizer can find a distributor via the company website’s product finder. If you’re interested in purchasing Obagi Hydrate, it may be a good idea to read reviews about the cream online, especially since the product is priced in the $60 range for less than two ounces.

Obagi Retinol 1.0 Review

The Obagi Retinol 1.0 treatment was designed to fight the major signs of premature aging that can be exacerbated by environmental stressors such as free radicals, UVA and UVB rays as well as pollution. this formula features 1% retinol, which helps to boost cell turnover, revealing clearer, brighter and more even skin tone. This percentage of retinol is an excellent option for all skin types, especially for those who aren’t extremely experienced with retinoids. Retinol is a less potent form of retinoic acid that requires conversion in order to be usable on the skin, making it an excellent option for those who are new to retinoids and aren’t ready to start using a prescription strength retinoid. In addition to this active, the Obagi Retinol 1.0 also contains hyaluronic acid, vitamin C and jojoba oil to brighten, moisturize and hydrate the skin. This is one of the few products on the market that offers vitamin C and retinol in one product, so if you’re looking for an all-in-one active serum, this is definitely worth checking out.

INGREDIENTS

Obagi C Serum

Obagi C Serum is a high strength vitamin C serum that is designed to penetrate deep into skin to provide effective antioxidant protection from UV damage. This serum is also said to brighten hyperpigmentation while encouraging the growth of collagen and elastin fibers.Obagi C Serum is available in three different strengths of L-ascorbic acid: 10%, 15%, and 20%.In this review, we’ll discuss the key ingredients in this serum, how to use it, Obagi C Serum reviews from real customers, and more.

What Are The Key Obagi C Serum Ingredients?

If you look on the back of nearly any skin care product, you’ll see that the first ingredient on the label is typically water. That’s because most brands use water as the base of their formulations. What’s interesting about Obagi C Serum is that propylene glycol is the first ingredient and, therefore, is the highest concentration ingredient in this serum. Propylene glycol functions as a humectant, solvent, and delivery agent. Thus, using a high concentration of propylene glycol in the Obagi C Serum accomplishes two things: it attracts water to the skin to improve hydration and also helps to improve penetration of the key ingredients.

There are two forms of vitamin C in the Obagi C Serum: L-ascorbic acid and ascorbyl glucoside. L-ascorbic acid is the chemically active form of vitamin C. The problem with L-ascorbic acid is that it oxidizes easily when exposed to oxygen and/or light. Once L-ascorbic acid oxidizes, the product is essentially useless, which can unfortunately mean that quite a bit of product is wasted. This is why you’ll see vitamin C derivatives in skin care products, such as ascorbyl glucoside in the Obagi C Serum.

INGREDIENTS
  • Malela Original review: Apr 13, 2021. Reply

    I wish I would have seen this page before I bought Blue Brilliance Triple Acid peel since It is not cheap!
    No, it doesn’t work. Do not waste your money. I am very disappointed because I went to the main website to get this product and I noticed they do not have a 1 star reviews. All 5 stars but how can a consumer go based on controlled data. The whole point of reviews is to help customer guide them on how valid and good the product is. I contacted them and they told me they are not responsible for open product. Then allow people to post their experiences. I will say, Obagi works! But not the Home treatment peel. Pay the treatment from a spa or a dermatologist.

  • Krisie Original review: Apr 05, 2020. Reply

    I tried it for 8 weeks exactly how the wellness center said and it made my skin worse. For 8 weeks my skin did nothing but peel and burn. I kept up with my two week check ups and they just kept saying don’t give up, you will see a big difference in 6 weeks. 8 weeks later, my skin still burned and peeled so much. Then the acne started. The breakout of acne was the worse it’s ever been. I finally stopped using it and went back to my old dermatologist to help get my skin back on track. The acne is gone after quitting the product but I still am still suffering from dry spots which I never had before. Terrible product I would never use again.

  • Amy Original review: May 30, 2019. Reply

    ZoSkin , Obagi is the Best skincare line ..IF recommended by a Dr or Nurse Practitioner or Esthetician ONLY!! You cannot fix it on the text side read the ingredients and decide to make your own “ GSR” getting skin ready.. per Golden rule of Dr. Obagi. You must know the chemicals and science behind the products for them to work. The length of time and when to mix or use singular or not at all.
    I have been using GSR w ZoSkin and then my other 4 steps am. Pm. For 3 years now. It’s amazing. Today I left my MedSpa – saw my Esthetician , she did a ZoSkin peel w a calming mask it was tingling then heaven. And here I am doing my GSR , then correct a. m ( is Melamin C ..a 20% vitamin c) p m stimulate ( is RetinA / Tretioinn mixed with Melamix / they show you how much on your finger) then serum hydrate eye lip and PROTECT!!! Spf!! Am. Obviously not pm. It’s a 7 step program. And if you find the right group. NO PRESSURE!! You will get your moneys worth. Use every product you buy like a rx!! No need to slather on moisturizer 4Xs bc it feels good. Horrible for the skin!! It must product oil glands!!
    I promise if your skin can handle it. I have eczema- ultra sensitive skin. We started out teeeeeeny steps. Now 3 years later I work / hired in 5!! Days at 45 w the Biggest BCosmetic Corp in the Work as a Makeup Artist and skin care specialist. He does have TONS w/o hydroquinone!!! It’s a miracle. But it takes time. Xo

  • Andree Original review: Jul 24, 2018. Reply

    Just change your diet. Also probiotic tablets are excellent for acne. No sugars . Drink plenty of water every day. Lots of salads ,fresh fruit and avocados are great i eat loads of avacados and tomatoes. I eat tomatoes like i eat apples. Toothpaste and vaseline mixed together works really well on acne ,pimples etc. I use every night on my face. Works excellent for me.

  • Andree Original review: Jul 24, 2018. Reply

    My sister uses this product and while her skin looks good I don’t like the fact they have hydroquinone in their products. I am 49 and people are shocked when they find out my age as they think I look really young even my sister comments. I used to suffer with acne. I drink loads of water eat lots of fresh fruit and vegetables especially avocados I’ve cut out sugar and white bread. I take vitamin E capsules and my nightime beauty treatment is a little bit of whitening toothpaste mixed with Vaseline. I cover my face in it put it on my dark circles under my eyes. My skin is great. During the day I wear sun cream factor 50 on my face no matter what the weather is like. My face is wonderful.

  • userjw Original review: Apr 27, 2018. Reply

    I’ve been using the product for about 4 months and while it did improve my skin tone and dark spots, it left dark yellow marks on my white wash cloths that will not come out, even with bleach! It ruined 5 of my washcloths and when I wrote to Obagi about it, they just said, “thanks” we’ll pass the info along! WOW! talk about great customer service ( insert sarcasm )
    All in all, I paid 400.00 for the entire kit and would not pay that kind of $$ again, especially since some of the products are just “fluff” and not needed ( toner, exfoderm, face wash ) as the only active bleaching ingredients lie in the Hydroquinonine and combo used with Retin A.

  • LIssette Original review: Jan 04, 2018. Reply

    I’m very disappointed in the customer service and product from Obagii. After spending about $400 on the product in the dermatologist office and the expedition date of 6 months only and not even working on my skin it’s really not a good way to handle customers. It didn’t improve my skin at all with for the discoloration. So I don’t recommend anyone to buy this product I’m sure there is better products out there for that amount of money. I’m on the search.

  • Kom Original review: Jul 03, 2017. Reply

    I know exactly what you mean. I have been using it since 2012 and I have never had any issues with it at all. I started when I realised that the discoid lupus condition I had gave me terrible pigmentation of varying shades and these were very unsightly. My dermatologist recommended Obagi Nu Derm and I have been faithful since my skin go so clear and smooth that no one believes that I am a 40 year old. 😀

  • Irene Original review: Mar 01, 2017. Reply

    I’ve been using Obagi for over 3 years now and I absolutely love it. I used to have sun spots and freckles all over my face and after only about 2 months into using it, my skin became clearer. After about 6 months, most of the sun spots and freckles disappeared. My skin is tight and I don’t even have any wrinkles on my face. People always tell me that I have flawless skin and that I look like I’m in my early 30’s when I’m actually 46 years old. I love this product and will continue to use it.

  • shan Original review: Dec 31, 2016. Reply

    I used obagi nu derm years ago and I did clear my complexion for the short term but little did I know it will remove my natural colour – they dont tell you that! Since then my face has always been pale and does not tan anymore- even if it does tan it will take a very long time in the sun. I would caution use because it is actually bleaching the skin and you do go pale which is long term basically forever!

  • K Original review: Sep 30, 2016. Reply

    I used Obaji almost 5 years ago and have noticed now that it caused my skin to be two toned! It was supposed to fix my under eye bags but instead made them worse. I feel awful about the way my face looks now, I wouldn’t recommend this product to anyone!!!!

  • Tanya Original review: Sep 19, 2016. Reply

    I started using the obagi system about a week and a half ago i am prepping my skin for a treatment of peels starting in the next week or so. I have found my skin is breaking out quite a bit but have noticed some improvements especially in my forehead acne but im still getting quite a number of blemishes else where. im just wondering how long does it take for treatment to take full effect? i just really hope it works cause its really my last hope. Decided to completely take myself of all antibiotics and try clear my skin from the outside in.

  • Ana67 Original review: Sep 03, 2016. Reply

    I have been using Obagi for 5 years and would never use anything else! I am nearly 50 and am constantly mistaken for someone in their late 30’s. Go slow on the products if you have a peeling (expected!) reaction in the first few weeks/months, use mineral makeup to cover. From freckles and sun damage and acne 5 years ago, I can now feel great with no makeup. it is truly amazing but requires PATIENCE and COMMITMENT!

  • PATRICIA PICKRON Original review: Jun 24, 2016. Reply

    I HAVE BEEN USING THIS PRODUCT FOR 6 WKS NOW AND IT HAS DONE NOTHING TO MY FACE. I HAVE NOT SEEN ANY CHANGES. BOUGHT AT A DERMOTOLOGIST FOR 81.OO LESSON LEARNED.

  • M Peters Original review: Dec 12, 2015. Reply

    Reading responses about Obagi, I feel I need to voice an opinion and thoughts. First of all purchasing this product through a salon? I would not recommend. It needs to be used under a good doctor’s supervision. This line has been prescribed to me by two leading plastic surgeons in conjunction with Retin-A. The first surgeon located in Manhattan back in 1999, the second in Hackensack, NJ in 2015. Nothing has changed! But my new doctor cautioned about not using the bleaching agents for more than 4 continuous months due to their tendency to thin the skin. Yes it is true that there will be redness, peeling. Use some sense. Stop using the product for a day or two and then continue. It is an expected result of the skin renewal. But I will tell you that the serious age spots that had developed (because I had stopped using the skin care) are dissappearing and people are constantly complementing me on my beautiful skin. I have a tendency to break out even here in my 60’s, so I sometimes dab on a bit of Neutragena acne med on a blemish durectly to take care of it. The secret to the line as you use it is HYDRATION. Getting though the initial 6 week period is worth every day of looking a bit irritated.

  • Ashley Original review: Sep 17, 2015. Reply

    Here’s my 2 cents about what I’ve learned with these products. They are full of parabens, they have fragrance, dyes, ethanols, sulfates, glycerins, and the sunscreen has octinoxate and alcohol in it. Parabens have been linked to breast cancer, endocrine disruption and reproductive toxicity as well as developmental defects. 9 times out of 10, fragrances are in products to mask the legally hidden phthalates (endocrine disruptors, linked to birth defects, breast cancer, infertility, liver cancer etc). Dyes are made from coal tar which is derived from petroleum. Sulfates are carcinogens. Octinoxate is also an endocrine disruptor.

    So in short, you couldn’t pay me to use any of these products. Anything you put on your skin is absorbed into your blood stream within 26 seconds. Recent research also tested cord blood from newborns. A staggering number revealed some very scary toxins within the cord blood.

  • Sally Original review: Sep 05, 2015. Reply

    When you say you stopped for short periods then sun spots came back, do you mean you stopped using all the products and started using other brands, or do you mean you just stopped the active ingredients products? I order to maintain what products must you continuously use? Thank you.

  • Crystal Original review: Aug 28, 2015. Reply

    when i first started, my skin was itchy, dry, peeling & looked like my fine lines were getting worse. When i went back in for my follow up appointment with my dermatologist, I learned these symptoms are supposed to happen! The receptionist had me sign up for a program on Obagi NuDerm and sure enough, I received the email that said all these symptoms are expected. I looked at the brochure that came with the system (it was hiding under the plastic) and lo and behold the entire description of the “program” is listed in there!

    I’ve been using Obagi now for 4 months and I love how much my freckles have faded. My skin is brighter overall too. My derm has something called a reveal camera and she took a picture before i started. I have lots of sun damage from all the years of not using any sunscreen. I highly recommend this system for anyone seriously commited to removing the sun damage. I don’t know if I would risk not buying it from a dr. as this system is really expensive and since I only have one face, the $ savings buying it online (expired/ fake?) isn’t worth it to me.

  • Palma Original review: Apr 21, 2015. Reply

    Did you up load your youtube to show your skin after using the products?

  • pakeeza Original review: Mar 17, 2015. Reply

    I used to suffer from occasional acne(one or two acne at a time). I wanted a complete cure so Obaji clenziderm was suggested by a salon I visited. I have to say I had the most horrible experience not only with the product but with Obajis customer service as well. within using the skin care system for 2 weeks i felt my skin was getting itchy and tight all over. i complained to the salon and they said thats normal and i must continue using it for atleast 3 months. 3rd week i couldnt tolerate the pain on my face so i stopped. I had acne all over my face now. and now it wasnt just acne … it was much deeper. I emailed obagi for a refund or an exchange but no consideration. salon owner refused to give me any exchange as the products were used . i suffered with cystic acne for the whole year. i used alot of plant based products. took antibiotics. my cystic acne stopped but my marks got deeper with time. this was back in 2009. I have been getting so many treatments on my face including chemical peels, hydroquinone creams, dermabrasion, fraxel… so much money spent only to get rid of my marks and they are still there as melasma now. I will be uploading my before and after pics on youtube and all the details of what i went through over the years. I would never suggest this product to anyone. it will tighten your pores and cause more acne & damage to the skin. worst experience with their customer service. I wish i didnt have to deal with so much trauma to my skin only because of obaji.

  • Amy Original review: Mar 04, 2015. Reply

    I used Obagi before I got pregnant and was told I shouldn’t use it during pregnancy or nursing. Recently I stop nursing and decide to use Obagi again. It has been a while since I use them and I really love the new moisturizer, Hydrate Luxe. My skin used to get red and peeled for weeks before it builds resistant to it. And with the new moisturizer, my skin doesn’t get red and does not peel at all! I apply Hydrate Luxe in the morning after #4 and before sunscreen and at night after #5. On the days I forgot to use Hydrate Luxe, my skin peels again. But as long as I use them every day, I don’t peel and I don’t get red. I don’t know why it took them so many years to come up with a moisturizer that works with Obagi Nu-Derm. But I am glad they did. And my friend introduce me to this website TrueBeauty.com where you can always get 10% off by entering discount code member10. I ordered couple times from them, so far I am pleased with their products and service.

  • Marissa Miller Original review: Feb 21, 2015. Reply

    I started using Obagi a month ago. It was recommended for my pigmentation or sun damage. My skin has become extremely dry and seems the fine lines are worse. I stopped using it.

  • brooke Original review: Jan 01, 2015. Reply

    I have used Obagi Nu Derm for over 10 years, If you are starting out for the very first time, just start slowly. You don’t have to use the Retin A /blender every night when you first start. Give your skin a chance to get used to it. Also, use less Retin A in your blender mix at first. I know people that jumped right in and eventually quit because their face was so raw. If your face starts getting irritated back off a little on the exfoderm and retin A and then increase them slowly. I would never be without Obagi in my life!

  • Lee-Ann Original review: Nov 18, 2014. Reply

    I’m having the same problem Julie as well skin breakouts whenever I use the product. It was horrible and I also have only used natural products in the past. When I did the 2 week consult at the clinic they seemed to think everything was ok and then the next week it got worse even with less use of the product in only a small area of my forehead where my melasma was. When I talked to the clinic about the reaction I was having all over my face and especially along my cheeks under my eyes and that I was very concerned and wanted to return the products they told me I had to come into see them and would not comment on return. The soonest I was able to get in was a few weeks from then so as per the product instructions I stopped using them. Once my skin was healed I tried one application to see how my skin reacted as they told me it never happens and it doesn’t cause breakouts and sure enough my skin flared up again. Today I went in for my consult and they told me it never happens and that I should have taken pictures because they needed them for OZ and they weren’t sure what to do without them. Yet no one asked me to do that. They are apparently calling OZ today to see if they can do a return but are unsure. $600 – $800 worth of product that made skin horrific and “might” be able to return the product!!! If anyone reads this – please send me positive energy for a return on these products. I hope OZ is a compassionate company that stands by their clients enough to provide a return when there is a major reaction.

  • Sandy Original review: Nov 03, 2014. Reply

    I have been using Obagi for about three years. At first, my skin peeled and was very red and painful. And my wrinkles looked worse! but you have to continue. I promise you it is worth it in the end. Now my skin is clearer, no age spots and my wrinkles are better. People comment all of the time on how great my skin looks. I have stopped for short periods of time and the age spots come back but that is all. It is the best thing I have ever used on my skin. You have to be willing to get through the horrible first 6 weeks though. It is worth it!

  • Rania Original review: Sep 14, 2014. Reply

    Hi Nadia, what exactly did you use for your pigmentation and how. I have too much pigmentation and need your advise. thanks

  • Hend Original review: Sep 04, 2014. Reply

    Hi all, ive been using the clear and complex a for a 3 months aprix. The results are amazing , so i decided to google what should i do then ? I was shocked that people after stopping using obagy products things the skin gets worse am really depressed i cant even enjoy the improvement that happened to my skin now , please of someone used obagi and stopped it for a time tell me what happens

  • gablesgirl Original review: Jun 16, 2014. Reply

    I have tried everything for melasma. I live in Florida and despite very aggressive treatments and lasers I had no results. Obagi has reduced my melasma in two months. It is very harsh at first but keep it up. I have people stopping me and asking about my skin and now look considerably younger than friends my age. It is a miracle product.

  • Janice Original review: Jun 05, 2014. Reply

    I’ve looked at several reviews and although I’m not using the product yet I wanted to share regarding my sister who has used it for a few years now. She recently turned 60 yrs old and I currently in the hospital. She’s the talk among all staff because of how beautiful her skin looks. Many have asked what she’s using. Her face has a beautiful glow, wrinkles softened and her pores which used to be very large are not visible anymore unless you get really close to examine her skin and even then they are now very small. She swears by this product and I have to say I agree from seeing the results. She has told me at the start you will break out as your skin is being purified but encouraged me when I start to be patient and stick with it.

  • Nicole Original review: May 05, 2014. Reply

    Hi. When I started obagi un derm 8 weeks ago, my skin was so red and peeling and felt quite sore, I also thought about discontinuing. I stuck with it and after about two weeks the redness and peeling started to decrease. I used no. 4. Every other day for first two weeks. I did not like to use too much make up at that point as my skin was too flakey. I just kept moisturising with no. 6 throughout the day. Although now at 8 weeks my skin has adjusted to the product I can only notice a vague improvement with some wrinkles looking slightly better. I will stick with the 18 week course and see the overall results. I must say though that my old regime of Simple vitamin face wash, followed by apricot kernel oil into damp skin, pat dry and a good moisturiser like Nivea were so far just as good.

  • julie Original review: Apr 02, 2014. Reply

    I’m wondering how you are doing? I used the product for the first time 2 weeks ago and had a horrible reaction… Red, raw, oozing swollen skin from my nose down. Happened on the third day… Stopped using product so skin could heal. Re-started minus the retin A on previously damaged area once it was healed…. Same thing happened again. The med spa said no patient in their office has ever had this reaction. I don’t see how I can continue use… I am so bummed- turning 50 in June and wanted to step up the quality of my skin….. In the past I have always used natural products- I think this was just too aggressive for me… Thinking about other options that will get me great results without this horrible reaction…

  • Cathy Original review: Feb 04, 2014. Reply

    I buy all my Obagi products from a plastic surgeon’s office. I used the C for 5 weeks with wonderful tone smoothing results. Then I added Trenitoin .1% and used it sparingly for 4 weeks. My lips became so dry and tight that I couldn’t stand it. I exfoliated the dry skin off my lips and the next day I had a tremendous allergic reaction with swollen, red, peeling, painful lips for a full week. My skin looks great but it’s not worth the lip pain. I still use the gentle cleanser, the C and the hydrate. My skin care consultant says allergic reactions are every rare but 6 weeks later my lips still haven’t healed.

  • sharron Original review: Jan 28, 2014. Reply

    Is this product good for someone who had eczema?

  • Yvonne Original review: Jan 12, 2014. Reply

    I have been using Obagi Nu Derm with tretinion for 8 weeks now, my skin is still very red and its peeling like a snake. I teach group fitness and at the end of every class my face is even redder and stings due to the sweat and heat(nasty). I have been assured by my physician that this reaction is normal but i look and feel very unattractive. I recently turn 50 so i decided to change my skincare as the wrinkles and age spots were unaffected by over the counter (expensive) products. i am still hopeful that at the end of the15 week program i will have fresher brighter looking skin so i’m hanging in there as the bits of my face that aren’t red or flaking do so signs of improvement.

  • Sherry Original review: Jan 06, 2014. Reply

    I am 63 and have lived in Florida for most of my life and yes I have skin damage! I started using Obagi about 9 years ago and like many others who have commented it started out ruff. My face got red, peeled and had blemishes but after 6 weeks my skin settled down and my skin started looking great. Over time my color all blended and my brown spots faded. I get compliments all the time on my complexion and do look 10 years younger than I really am and that is good because my husband is 11 years younger:) I give myself regular facials, about every three months a citrus peel and stay out of the full sun as much as possible. You have to give the product time to work and if you do you will not be disappointed.

  • Lory Original review: Nov 16, 2013. Reply

    I was first skeptical when I bought The Nu Derm system by Obagi but after a few months I noticed that my skin was clearer and my pore size was smaller. I still have blackheads and whiteheads but I can definitely see a big difference in my skin when I look in the mirror. My husband is also using it and his skin is looking great. He says he cant tell but I can tell.

  • KEVINA Original review: Nov 13, 2013. Reply

    I started using Obagi Nu-DERM Line 2 months ago but i am not seeing any improvement. Instead my face is breaking out so much. I don’t know weather i should stop or give it a couple months.

  • Sandra Original review: Oct 02, 2013. Reply

    I have been using Obagi skin care products for several months now but have seen no visible improvement in my skin. I find them to be a little irritating and I need a stronger moisturizer. My Obagi experience has not been great and I will be trying something now instead.

  • Natalie Original review: Sep 11, 2013. Reply

    I used Obagi Nu Derm for the first time last night and I woke up with a rash this morning. I will avoid this product and try to return it in the morning. I was recommended this by my physician who was fully aware that I had sensitive skin so I will be looking for somewhere else to go now.

  • Leanne Original review: Aug 28, 2013. Reply

    I know you are wondering if spending a few hundred dollars on a face wash, cream and peel is worth it but I have been using Obagi for years and it has really worked well for my skin. I love the Obagi range and it isnt great for sensitive skin because I know a friend who cant tolerate their products but they are potent but I prefer to use something that works rather than just a moisturizer you can buy from the local store.

  • Hilda Original review: Aug 14, 2013. Reply

    I received so many compliments on my face since I started using Obagi Nu Derm last month. This is the best skin care range I have come across and I will recommend Obagi to my friends. The product isnt as expensive as creams in department stores and many dermatologists use Obagi.

  • Hannah Original review: Aug 09, 2013. Reply

    I found Obagi skin care to be quite irritating for the first two days but you just need to keep using it and let your skin warm up and eventually that irritation will disappear and your skin will be just fine. I use a few products but I found their sunblock to cause my breakouts so I stop using it. Nu Derm Is definitely the best cleanser and cream I have bought.

  • Martina Original review: Aug 08, 2013. Reply

    I love Obagibagi Nu-Derm Foaming Gel, Obagi Nu-Derm Toner, Obagi Professional-C Serum 15% Strength, Obagi ELASTIderm Eye Treatment Cream and Obagi Hydrate Facial Moisturizer. I have very dry skin so I need an intensive cream and strict skin care routine or my skin gets flakey. I started to use Obagi one year ago and my skin feels much better.

  • Renata Original review: Aug 07, 2013. Reply

    Ive been using obagi for 5 years and absolutely love them, ive tried other products just for the sake of it and to make it easier to buy them and I always end up going back to them ,although I don’t have a problem with sun damage or deep wrinkles ,they make my skin look fresh, even and takes the red off.

  • Erin Original review: Aug 02, 2013. Reply

    I was wondering if you know where you can buy genuine Obagi products from the internet. There are quite a few products in the Obagi range that I would like to buy, including the i Nu Derm System and their vitamin c serum.

  • Your Review
    User Rating: 3.1 (9 votes)
    Sending

    Recommended Articles

    The Best Skincare Products of 2021

    Uncategorized read more

    Best Skin Care Routine

    Uncategorized read more