Image Skin Care Review - The Dermatology Review

Image Skin Care Review

Skin Care Reviews

09.28.18AD DISCLOSURE

Brand background

Image Skincare is a professional, clinical brand designed for use by skin care professionals like estheticians and dermatologists. Founded in 2003 by esthetician Janna Ronert, Image Skincare prioritizes science over fads, results over trends. After years of practicing this philosophy, the brand’s physician-formulated products and treatments have earned rave reviews, won countless awards, and gained the trust of 20,000 skin care professionals across 60 countries. In this Image Skincare reviews, we’ll discuss key products, key formulation details, Image Skincare reviews from real customers, and an alternative for you to consider. 

Key products

Image Skincare offers a variety of skin care products for each step of your skin care routine, including cleansers, exfoliants, scrubs, masques, eye care, lip care, moisturizers, serums, sun protection, and more. Since there are too many products to cover in this review, we’ll discuss three of the most popular Image Skincare products: Vital C Hydrating Intense Moisturizer, Clear Cell Medicated Acne Lotion, and Ormedic Balancing Facial Cleanser.

Vital C Hydrating Intense Moisturizer is a nourishing, highly emollient crème that is said to continuously replenish hydration and shield dehydrated skin against moisture loss and environmental stressors. The formula absorbs quickly to comfort tight, irritated or sensitive skin.

Clear Cell Medicated Acne Lotion is a 5% benzoyl peroxide lotion that attacks acne-causing bacteria to treat blackheads and clogged pores at the source. There are also brightening ingredients in this lotion to help with redness and marks from existing and previous blemishes. 

Ormedic Balancing Facial Cleanser is a mild foaming cleanser that helps to remove impurities, leaving skin soft, hydrated, and clean. It has a satiny texture that restores softness and balance to the skin. 

Key formulation

Image Skincare products do not contain parabens, phthalates, mineral oil, artificial fragrances, or synthetic dyes. All products are clinically tested, and these tests include stability evaluations, safety assessments for potential sensitizers, and extensive review by a panel of independent skincare professionals. The brand does not test on animals. Interestingly, Image Skincare does not disclose the full list of ingredients for their products on their website. They do list the key ingredients, but without the full list of ingredients, it’s difficult to tell if they are using adequate concentrations of these key ingredients. Below we’ll discuss the key ingredients that can be found in each of the Image Skincare products we introduced in the previous section. 

One of the key ingredients in Vital C Hydrating Intense Moisturizer is tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, a stable form of vitamin C that is fat-soluble. Once absorbed into the skin, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate is converted to ascorbic acid (the active form of vitamin C). Ascorbic acid exerts potent antioxidant activity and protects the skin from free radicals, the unstable molecules that contribute to the formation of premature wrinkles and fine lines on the skin. In addition, ascorbic acid is involved in collagen synthesis. By increasing the amount of collagen in the skin, signs of aging will be diminished and the skin will appear more firm. Lastly, ascorbic acid can decrease the appearance of dark spots and improve uneven skin tone through inhibition of melanin synthesis. 

As mentioned in the previous section, the key ingredient in Image Skincare Clear Cell Medicated Acne Lotion is benzoyl peroxide. As the name implies, benzoyl peroxide is something known as a peroxide, the technical term for an unstable bond between two oxygen atoms that can create free radicals. While free radicals often have a negative connotation, in this case they can be used to effectively kill P. acnes bacteria by destroying the cell walls. Additionally, benzoyl peroxide can exfoliate and help peel the outer layer of skin. One drawback of benzoyl peroxide is that while it does effectively kill P. acnes, it also kills the good bacteria that keep your skin healthy. This can leave skin feeling dry and irritated, which for some people can make skin look worse.

Ormedic Balancing Facial Cleanser contains several different surfactants, such as sodium C14-16 olefin sulfonate, cocamidopropyl hydroxysultaine, and sodium cocoamphoacetate. A surfactant molecule contains one end that is hydrophilic (attracted to water) and one end that is lipophilic (attracted to oil). This allows surfactants to attract and suspends oils, dirt, and other impurities that have accumulated on the skin and wash them away, leaving the skin clean. This cleanser also contains soothing ingredients, such as aloe vera leaf juice and grape water. 

Image Skincare reviews

Image Skincare reviews on the brand’s website are overall very positive, with each of the key products mentioned above receiving at least 4.7 out of 5 stars. After 44 customer reviews, Vital C Hydrating Intense Moisturizer is said to be a great moisturizer, especially for dry skin. There aren’t any negative reviews for this product.

After 30 customer reviews, Clear Cell Medicated Acne Lotion has earned many rave reviews from those struggling with acne. One Image Skincare review says, “I’ve tried SO many products and nothing really worked; some products irritate my skin too much, some have no results at all. I’ve noticed my pores size reduced after just one week!!! My skin condition overall improved significantly. I haven’t had a break out since I started using this product.” There are a few negative reviews for this lotion, which state that the product caused an allergic reaction. 

After only 6 customer reviews, Ormedic Balancing Facial Cleanser has received many positive comments that say this cleanser helps to keep the skin soft, clear, and hydrated. 

What are some alternatives to Image Skincare?

While the key ingredients used in Image Skincare products are definitely beneficial for the skin, we have to wonder why the brand does not disclose the full list of ingredients used in their products. If you’re concerned about this lack of transparency, then we have an alternative for you to consider: Formulyst. Formulyst believes in long-term skin care treatments rather than short-term cover-ups. Of course, Formulyst is fully transparent with their formulations, and you can find the full list of ingredients for each of their products at Formulyst.com. 

Instead of Image Skincare’s Vital C Hydrating Intense Moisturizer (which only contains one antioxidant vitamin) we recommend considering Formulyst Active Serum, which features a potent blend of vitamins B, C, and E, ferulic acid, and niacinamide. You’ve already read about the many benefits of vitamin C above, so let’s discuss the additional benefits you’ll gain from these other four ingredients. 

Formulyst Active Serum contains provitamin B5, also known as panthenol, which functions as a highly effective humectant. The formula also contains niacinamide, a form of vitamin B3 that is known to repair the skin barrier and improve skin moisture, as well as reduce inflammation, blotchiness, hyperpigmentation, acne, and wrinkling. Vitamin E is a potent lipid soluble antioxidant that helps combat free radicals and also strengthens the skin barrier. Vitamins C and E are network antioxidants, which means that when used together their antioxidant activity is even more powerful. Plus, ferulic acid enhances the efficacy and stability of vitamins C and E. As you can see, the Formulyst Active Serum is truly a multi-tasking serum that provides your skin with a powerful dose of antioxidants to help shield your skin from environmental assaults that age your skin.

THE BEST SKIN CARE LINES 2020

1

Formulyst

The philosophy of Formulyst is long-term and effective skincare, rather than covering up any imperfections. The comprehensive line of products tackles everything from wrinkles to dark spots and dry skin. While some brands rely on unnecessary fillers and scents, Formulyst focuses on ingredients that help create results, such as vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. Many of the Formulyst’s products harness the power of plant and citrus extracts as well as gold-standard workhorses such as retinol. Read More
2

Advanced Dermatology

The Advanced Dermatology skin care regimen addresses the most pressing aging concerns. It can be used by men and women in their 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s, 60s and beyond. This award-winning system can help diminish wrinkle appearance, reduce dark spots and hyperpigmentation, fade away redness, even out skin tone and improve the appearance of eye bags and dark circles. Some of the standout products in this line include the Super Youth Serum, Complete Age Defense and Anti-Wrinkle Firming Night Treatment. Read More

Image Skincare Vital C

Vitamin C is one of the tried and true gold standard ingredients in the world of beauty and skincare. It’s also considered to be one of the most versatile ingredients, and can help with everything from fine lines and wrinkles to hyperpigmentation and acne. Because of this, brands like Image...

IMAGE Skincare Ageless Total Overnight Retinol Masque Review

The Image Skincare Ageless Total Overnight Retinol Masque was designed to transform skin’s appearance while you sleep. This product utilizes a multi action technology that is unique to Image Skincare. The formula supports collagen synthesis while also supporting healthy skin barrier function to prevent moisture loss. Some of the key ingredients in this formula include retinol, marine collagen, peptides and several botanical extracts. Overnight, this formula can help to brighten your complexion, system essential skin processes, reduce the appearance of sun damage and hyperpigmentation. While most masks cannot create all of these results overnight, with continued use, you can expect to see an improvement in the condition and appearance of your skin. Additionally, this product is best suited for those with normal skin, aging skin or skin that is prone to hyperpigmentation.

INGREDIENTS
  • sue Original review: Aug 01, 2019. Reply

    I Image products are available on the internet – from Walmart and Amazon.
    I, too, have been using the products for years and constantly get compliments on my beautiful skin – I’m 78 years old, too!

  • Denise Underwood Original review: Mar 26, 2018. Reply

    It is difficult to know what you actually purchased but Image is not full of chemicals and to say so is simply wrong! The delivery system is usually Aloe Vera and the ingredients are from natures bounty, check the labels before you post, please!
    I hear a lot of people saying they buy Image on line, unless the person has an agreement with the company, the products are suspect! Just call the Image Co. and ask them about the source, they will let you know!
    There are counterfeit products everywhere!

  • Carmen Alana Original review: Oct 14, 2017. Reply

    I am a licensed esthetician who uses Image cleansers, serums and SPF EVERY day. It definitely took a little tweaking to adjust my regimen for daily use. I am very sensitive to Vitamin C products and citric based products. The Vital C line did break me out a bit on my cheeks and my neck, which is sad because it smells and feels AMAZING!! So I switched to the Max line and the Ageless cleanser. I LOVE it! The whole Image Line is designed to work interchangeably. I treat my skin based on what is currently going on that day/week. My skin is combo normal/dry with occasional hormonal breakouts. The Max cleanser is hydrating, creamy and gentle enough for daily use. The Ageless cleanser has AHA”S in it so it can feel a bit tight for daily use unless you are truly oily. The Hylauronic serum is AMAZING!! I use it day and night for added hydration without greasy residue. They also have the BEST SPF creams I have EVER used ! I love that they offer a matte finish for oilier skin types, a tinted one that can be used on any skin type or color, and a daily hydrating one for normal/dry types. Not one of my clients have had a negative reaction to the sunscreens, not even my acne clients! Their sunscreens also have added skincare benefits in them. Image also has a wonderful customer service department to handle ANY concerns or returns!! Do make sure you are buying your products from a licensed professional though to be sure it’s not a knockoff product or expired!

  • lisa Original review: May 15, 2017. Reply

    I actually met the founder Janna Ronert in approx. 2007 and started using her products. I’ve used mostly the Vital C and Ageless lines and sometimes the Max. I’ve used the products including the sunscreen consistently for 10 years. I am 54 years old and I promise you, I get compliments on my skin just about every day of my life. I am not the best in the lifestyle category, I would probably be considered a bad girl. I sleep with makeup, rarely drink water etc etc. My skin looks radiant ( I wish I could attach a photo, as people always mistake me for 40’s ) The key is they work. You can used consistently because they are affordable. The peels remove 5 years off your face and they smell delicious and clean. Their brand says “age Later” … if I keep using these, I may not age at all ..lol

  • colleen Original review: May 02, 2017. Reply

    Have been using the Image daily ultimate protection SPF 50 moisturizer and I like the feel of it. Originally purchased it from my salon but then found the exact same product at Wal Mart (!) for substantially less. Image products can be found on Amazon too.

  • Aesthetics Lady Original review: Apr 13, 2017. Reply

    I’m a clinical esthetician & have used and recommended Image products for several years. I have found the products to be very effective when prescribed properly. This is Key… Having a skin expert to recommend the products you need ,vs ordering something online randomly- will give you the assurance that you’re buying only what you need and not wasting money on products that aren’t right for your skin type. I’m a big fan of the Vital C Hydrating serum and the Max Stem cell serum. Also love the neck and décolleté cream. My favorite professional treatments are the Peels (done by your esthetician). These make a significant improvement in skin clarity and sun damage. I’m in Greensboro , NC , but there are many Skin care salons & med spas who sell Image products.

  • Brandi Original review: Apr 11, 2017. Reply

    Hi Meesha,
    I realize this is an old review but I did want to mention that I had around a dozen clients who had a negative reaction ( I too had a terrible reaction after just one use) to the Ormedic Cleanser and that could be your problem. I also would not have recommended starting all those products simultaneously, or using creams in excess, especially during the sensitive time of month. Did you have an esti to help you navigate your routine? I think you’d be pleased with Image if given proper guidance. I have turned many skin woes around with these products!

  • Renee Original review: Feb 11, 2017. Reply

    I was told about these products from my aesthetician, I purchased a cleanser , lightening serum, night cream, eye cream and a day time sunscreen moisturizer , I am I love with all these products. I see improvement in my skin ! Thanks to Image. 🙂

  • Kay Original review: Nov 26, 2016. Reply

    Just had a horrible experience with Image Skincare.
    I have always used very simple hypoallergenic products including soap and water and witch hazel as cleansers and Roc moisturiser. At 53 people always complimented me on my skin which looks ten years younger. Long story but I was recently ‘persuaded’ (after a birthday gift facial) to try the Image range, got sold a cleanser, scrub serum and cream ….. and yuck, a heavy, greasy soapy feeling like my skin could not breathe followed by an itchy allergic rash.
    The products are packed with chemicals and it really shows – yuck!

  • Rosalind Guttman Original review: Oct 27, 2016. Reply

    I got a sample of the tinted moisturizer and absolutely love it. My skin has never been better.
    Where can I find a vendor. I live in the east coast of Florida on Singer Island.

  • Coco Original review: Oct 18, 2016. Reply

    I am a 53 year old woman with very good skin to begin with, but like most everyone, wanted to invest in better products to use versus the usual over-the-counter stuff as my skin ages. I started using the Image Skincare line: Vital C Hydrating Repair Creme, Total Pure Hyarulonic Filler, and the Ageless Total Eye Lift Creme. It’s been about 5 months and I’ve just re-ordered all products except the Hyarulonic Filler. My skin looks great and is very moisturized. The Vital C Hydrating Repair Creme smells really nice and leaves my skin looking refreshed and glowing. The eye creme works well and I’m very pleased with it. I can use the eye creme day and night and it doesn’t interfere with my makeup. I use the hydrating repair creme only at night and use Kimberly Sayer Ultra Light Facial Moisturizer. I’m very happy with the Image Skincare products I’ve tried so far.

  • Becky Original review: Aug 18, 2016. Reply

    Image Skincare does not sell on Amazon. Only thru physicians and licensed aestheticians. Beware of buying Image products, or any other high end line, online. You cannot know if it has been stored properly, when it expires, or what is in the bottle. I would be very concerned if it is being sold from company in China….or beyond.

    I love Image products, the simplicity of the home care, the ability to mix and match product lines. Make up remover is combined in cleanser, you don’t need to re-balance your skin with a toner it leaves your skin balanced. You can’t not use Clear Cell line you have oily skin. You can only spot treat. I’ve been using for 6 months, worth every penny. Cannot be compared to any sold at a drug store!

  • Diane Original review: Jun 20, 2016. Reply

    Meesha, it sounds like you are using too many products. Did you buy all of that at the same time? What was the issue you were having with your skin to begin with? I just want to say that Image has been one of the best skincare companies I have used in my entire career as an esthetician. I don’t give back refunds from products purchased but if something was wrong and someone had a reaction, I would definitely exchange the products. I had a few products that would not work properly (malfunction due to container) and Image comped the product with no questions asked. I am sorry you had a bad experience.

  • PaulaG Original review: May 26, 2016. Reply

    Consider all possible contributing factors to your current skin condition.also consider the ingredient list in any product you apply daily. There’s a reason some are cheaper and some are more expensive. Your body absorbs 60%of the ingredients you put on it. They matter. Image products are very well formulated and noncomedogenic. Maybe your skin is purging for some other reason. Being dry and flaky and cystic and clogged is a lot of indication that something isn’t right but it isn’t that Image products are bad. Maybe you’re allergic, maybe you aren’t using the appropriate products for your skin type..? Work with your Esthetician, maybe she can guide you or offer a consultation and or service that might turn things around for you. Good luck

  • Big D Original review: May 02, 2016. Reply

    My wife is a licensed esthetician, and has me using image products for rosacia and sun damage. There was a brief period were the product was seemingly exacerbating my skin problems and not helping it. When my wife inquired to Image they admitted to having sourced their essential oils somewhere new (probably cheaper) and after Image switched back my skin returned to health. I hope they learned their lesson. Vital C serum and moisturizers have near eliminated my rosacea.
    Highly recommend it.

  • meesha coop Original review: Mar 31, 2016. Reply

    I have been using the Image skin care line for approximately four or five months and I have to say my skin is in the worst condition I have ever had in my entire 41 years of life. It is dry, it is flaky, it breaks out and when I say break out I mean cystic acne on my cheeks. Prior to using the Image skin care line I would have said I had normal skin rarely breaking out except during my hormonal time of the month. I now have a huge amount of scarring and a considerable amount of blackheads and whiteheads. I bought a wide range of products including the vital C mask, the max stem cell serum, the Max stem cell cream, the ormedic cleanser, the vital C hydrating intense moisturizer, the prevention 30 daily tinted moisturizer, the stem cell mask, the Ageless total pure hyaluronic filler also the iluma intense brightening eye cream. It’s too bad they offer no Exchange program or return. I spent a considerable amount of money and now feel that I need to use it all before I purchase new stuff. I read other people’s reviews and they seem to love it. Maybe my esthetician is not giving me the best prescription or cocktail for my skin but either way I am super disappointed.

  • Tina Original review: Oct 05, 2015. Reply

    I would suggest seeing a licensed esthetician and getting their recommendations for which products to use on your skin. It could be that your skin has been “primed” to maximize the full benefits of the products. I saw an esthetician last Friday and had an image skincare acne peel done. She sent me home with the post treatment kit which contains the ormedic face wash, iluma, vital c enzyme mask, the max stem cell creme, and daily ultimate protection moisturizer spf 50. I’ve seen a drastic change in the texture of my skin after the peel and the image skincare line has helped maintain it. Network around and see if one of your friends is friends with an esthetician… Maybe they can get you product at wholesale cost rather than the markup cost you pay at salons/spas.

  • Michelle Original review: Dec 26, 2014. Reply

    I’ve read all this reviews and they ALL talk about how they’ve used them for months or in years and just love it and notice every kind of result from A-Z. The
    Salon I go to carries this line of products and after going for my facial I was told how awesome this product was etc..so I bought $275.00 worth of the product which was the face wash, illuminator, and tinted moisturizer. I’ve been using these products for over 3 months and honestly I see NO DIFFERENCE in this product and the Olay Regenerist line I’d been using for years and once again, honestly I see more of a difference when I use the Olay line. I do not recommend this product unless you like buying over priced skin care line because that’s what it is…over priced.

  • senay Original review: Dec 04, 2014. Reply

    I am using image iluma series for one month. It definitely cleared my pregnancy marks. Before i used clinic but it did not worked. My skin is now moustourised and bright. .. i bought products from amazon.

  • Mindy Original review: Nov 30, 2014. Reply

    I use the moisturizer in this line and love it…I’ve tried several name brand products and they don’t absorbed into my dry skin but this product does and isn’t oily…

  • Mary Lynn Original review: Aug 13, 2014. Reply

    The Image skincare products are available on various sites (including amazon). Are they counterfeits or have become available since this review?
    Thank you!

  • Lisa Original review: Jun 09, 2014. Reply

    I am a licensed Aesthetician for over 10 years, and have been using and selling Image Skincare for the past two years. I have found major improvements in my skin and also with my clients. It is not sold on the Internet because it is a pharmaceutical skin care line and to ensure proper use and correct selection of products is of utmost importance.

  • Your Review
    User Rating: 4.5 (10 votes)
    Sending

    Recommended Articles

    The Best Skincare Products of 2020

    Uncategorized read more

    Best Eye Creams of 2020

    Uncategorized read more