BOOM by Cindy Joseph Review - The Dermatology Review

BOOM by Cindy Joseph Review

Skin Care Reviews

09.28.18AD DISCLOSURE

Some cosmetics and skincare brands are born out of necessity, when their founder noticed a gap in the market or couldn’t find a product to suit their skin concerns. Others come about by accident, when someone discovers a plant or ingredient that seems to have near miraculous powers on the skin (we’re looking at you, Max Huber, founder of Crème de la Mer) – while other companies are born by chance. That’s the story of Boom! by Cindy Joseph.

Who is Cindy Joseph?

Cindy Joseph was a top makeup artist for 27 years, working with supermodels such as Cindy Crawford and Christy Turlington until a chance encounter when she was 49 years old changed the course of her life. She had recently stopped dying her hair and embraced her silver locks when a casting agent for legendary photographer Steven Miesel spotted her and asked her to be in a Dolce & Gabbana advertisement. After that, Joseph embarked on an unlikely career for someone nearing 50- a model.

BOOM by Cindy Joseph

Joseph was signed to the Ford modeling agency and appeared in ads for companies including Ann Taylor, Olay, Anthropologie and Elizabeth Arden in her 50s and 60s. Part of her appeal was embracing her age, including her well-earned laugh lines and silvery grey hair.

Inspired by embracing her age, she founded Boom! by Cindy Joseph in 2010, an all-natural cosmetics company whose goal is to embrace and enhance your age, rather than hide it. In an interview with The New York Times, Joseph said she is “pro-age,” explaining that a woman can be beautiful without trying to look younger.

What Is Boom! By Cindy Joseph?

Boom! by Cindy Joseph is a makeup and skincare line devoted to helping women in their 50s, 60s, 70s and beyond to bring out their natural beauty. The company’s philosophy is that older women should wear less makeup, rather than more. Boom! suggests skipping the powdered foundations and using cream based products instead. Joseph also advises women to avoid eye shadow, don’t layer on the under eye concealer and don’t overdo it when it comes to filling in your brow (instead, just embrace what your eyebrows are doing). Joseph herself doesn’t like to call wrinkles and crow’s feet, well, wrinkles and crow’s feet- in makeup tutorials, she prefers to call it “textured skin.”

BOOM by Cindy Joseph

The cornerstone of Boom! is multi-purpose creamy color sticks that can be used on the cheeks, lips and brow bone. The company’s motto is “It’s about women. It’s about beauty. It’s about time.”

What Does Boom! By Cindy Joseph Sell?

Boom! By Cindy Joseph sells a pared down collection of multi-use makeup as well as skincare products. The company embraces a “less is more” philosophy when it comes to products and ingredients. Here’s a closer look.

Boom! Makeup
Boomstick Color- This slim tube contains a combination lipstick, blush, eyeshadow and bronzer that gives a little pop of color to lips, eyes and cheeks.

Boomstick Glo- Think of this as moisturizer in a tube. Boomstick Glo is a slim seven gram tube that can be used on the face, body and cuticles, and is handmade by beekeepers in Hawaii. The main ingredients are beeswax and olive oil.

Boomstick Glimmer – Use this product adds a pearly glimmer to eyelids, cheeks and brow bone.

Boom! Skincare
Boom! Nectar- Add a drop or two of this oil based serum to moisturize and nourish the skin.

Boom! Silk – Packed with honey, extra virgin olive oil and bee pollen, the multi-tasking Boomsilk can be used on lips, hands, body, feet and face.

Boom Scrub – This exfoliator gently sloughs off dead skin cells but the company says it is gentle enough to use every day.

Boom Cotton – If you don’t want shiny looking skin, this organic moisturizer is designed to nourish and protect without leaving any traces of oil.

What Ingredients are in Boom Products?

Boom products are paraben and phthalate free, and do not contain emulsifiers, binders and perfumes, and are based on natural ingredients. The company says its products are not tested on animals.

Boomstick Glo, a moisturizer, contains organic extra virgin olive oil, beeswax with propolis and pollen as well as raw pupekea wildflower honey. According to Boom, honey helps attract and retain moisture while soothing the skin. Bee pollen is rich in vitamins, minerals and amino acids while propolis, which is collected by bees, has antiseptic properties. Beeswax helps to soften the skin while extra virgin olive oil is a moisturizer.

Boomstick Glimmer is crafted from castor seed oil, lanolin and mineral oil and the color comes from mica and iron oxides. Boomstick Color mimics a lipstick formula, and is made from castor seed oil, canola oil and candelilla wax, as well as shea butter. Boom Nectar, the oil based serum, is packed with camu camu extract (a berry containing vitamin C), as well as organic jojoba oil, organic witch hazel extract, organic extra virgin olive oil and rosehip oil. Rounding out the formula are organic propolis extract (thought to be antimicrobial, antibacterial and antifungal), Hawaiian beeswax and chaga mushroom extract.

Boom Silk also has a small ingredients list: purified water, organic extra virgin olive oil, beeswax with propolis and pollen, raw pupekea wildflower honey, and d-alpha Vit E.

How Much Are Boom! Products?

Boom! By Cindy Joseph is priced closer to a prestige brand. Boomstick Color, Glimmer and Glo sticks retail for $27 each, while the Trio pack, which contains all three products, is $76. The Boom Nectar is $58, and Boom Silk is $64 for an eight ounce jar. Boom Clean, a daily cleanser, is $34, and Boom Cotton is $36.

Boom products are also available as kits. The Boom Bag contains the daily facial cleanser and three all-natural moisturizers for $133.95, while the Boom Bag Complete has all the Boom products (Boomstick Trio, Boomsilk, Boom Cotton, Boom Clean, Boom Scrub, Boom Nectar and Boom Touch) for $331.60.

Where are Boom! Products Sold?

Boom! Products are not sold in any retail locations. They are only available through Boom’s website.

Do Boom Products Work?

Since Boom products are only sold via the company’s website, it is hard to find unbiased reviews of the products. On the Boom website, customer reviews include comments such as “Boomsilk is the greatest moisturizer, ever” and “My Boomstick Color arrived this morning and I’m so impressed with it. All I’m wearing on my face right now is mascara and the Boomstick Color on my cheeks, lips and forehead. I look healthy, not like I’m wearing make-up. Just what I was hoping for.”

Customers also appreciate the versatility of the products- “I like how the products are multi-purpose. Great for travel and everyday at home too. I will be ordering again!”

Some reviews can be found on YouTube. One vlogger, Beth Buchanon, reviewed the products and her conclusion is that she enjoyed the products for a “no makeup makeup look” and suggested the products would be great for a teenager or preteen as they don’t have wrinkles and dark spots, and don’t need any concealer. Buchanon felt that the products left her face looking like it had moisture and color.

The Life over Sixty With Sandra vlogger said she liked the Boom Silk cream but was disappointed that the ingredients didn’t include anything to tackle the signs of aging – but that is not the philosophy of Boom. The vlogger was looking for something to help tighten the appearance of her face.Other vloggers, like Littlelulu111, thought the Boom Glo was fine for spot treating dry spots but didn’t like that you had to vigorously rub it in your face. Vlogger KimTV said she was a fan of the Boom concept but the color from the Boomstick Color didn’t last all day.

Is Boom! Right For Me?

Boom! Products are targeting a very specific market- women who embrace their fine lines (or “textured skin” as Joseph called it) and are not looking to cover up their flaws. If someone wants to have a no makeup makeup look and are only needing to moisturize and add a little color and shimmer to their face, the products can achieve that. But every woman has different skin concerns and for many women, the products may not be enough, especially for anyone who is used to wearing foundation or tinted moisturizer. Not everyone wants to show the world their skin without a little concealer or foundation.

What Are Some Alternatives to Boom! By Cindy Joseph?

Boom! By Cindy Joseph may not work for everyone. Not everyone wants the “no makeup makeup” look and as some vloggers pointed out, some people want to fight their wrinkles rather than embracing them. And not everyone wants to put olive oil and beeswax on their face. But if you’re looking for a well rounded skincare line, there are a few other brands to consider.

Formulyst’s philosophy is long-term and effective skincare. The brand wants to help its customers achieve their best looking skin, rather than covering it up with makeup. The comprehensive line of products targets everything from wrinkles to dark spots and dry skin. Some of the products designed to help improve skin’s texture include Formulyst Retexturing and Perfecting Serum. The serum is powered by gentle but effective alpha hydroxy acid (AHA) which dissolves dead skin cells, leaving behind fresher, smoother looking skin.

If you would rather minimize the appearance of wrinkles rather than embracing them, reach for a product with the gold standard ingredient for tackling fine lines — retinol, a vitamin A derivative. This is the star ingredient in Formulyst’s Anti-Aging Night Cream. What makes this formula different is that it contains a high dose of retinol but it’s also packed with ultra-soothing and hydrating safflower seed oil and jojoba to lock moisture in and soothe the skin.

If you like the simplicity of a skincare kit, consider Advanced Dermatology. This no nonsense brand offers a pared down approach to skincare. The packaging is simple and streamlined, and the products bring skincare back to the basics. The kit contains just six essential items including a daily cleanser; serum; anti-wrinkle firming treatment; night cream; day cream and an eye cream. In other words, everything you need to achieve your best possible looking skin.

THE BEST SKIN CARE LINES 2020

1

Formulyst

The philosophy of Formulyst is long-term and effective skincare, rather than covering up any imperfections. The comprehensive line of products tackles everything from wrinkles to dark spots and dry skin. While some brands rely on unnecessary fillers and scents, Formulyst focuses on ingredients that help create results, such as vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. Many of the Formulyst’s products harness the power of plant and citrus extracts as well as gold-standard workhorses such as retinol. Read More
2

Advanced Dermatology

The Advanced Dermatology skin care regimen addresses the most pressing aging concerns. It can be used by men and women in their 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s, 60s and beyond. This award-winning system can help diminish wrinkle appearance, reduce dark spots and hyperpigmentation, fade away redness, even out skin tone and improve the appearance of eye bags and dark circles. Some of the standout products in this line include the Super Youth Serum, Complete Age Defense and Anti-Wrinkle Firming Night Treatment. Read More
  • Vickey Gearring Original review: Dec 02, 2020. Reply

    Recently ordered Boom for the first time. Excited to try it!
    However I’m quite disappointed. It doesn’t cover at all. The colors are Not that great on my skin.
    And the cost was pretty high for the amount you get. Just not as good as I thought it would be.

  • Cassie Sue Crawford Original review: Jan 18, 2020. Reply

    I’ve been using the products for three years. Turning 55 later this month, and I couldn’t be happier with the results. The Boom silk is amazing. I apply it every night to my face, and neck. A little goes a long way, last me 6 months. For daytime moisture I find Coom Cotton to be just right, not too shiny. I’m told my skin has a healthy glo. It also goes a long way, I use a container every six months. The trio is perfect. Glo, Color and Shimmer makes lipsticks, concealer, foundation and blushes a distant memory. The only makeup I still use is a brown mascara. I love the size of the tubes,they fit in my purse and I reapply once or twice through the day. The trio last me 3 to 4 months. I have saved money by using these high quality and simple products. Thank you, Boom!

  • Sandra Rising Original review: May 14, 2019. Reply

    I wish I had seen this review prior to placing an order. When I received my Boomstick trio I was appalled to find that I had purchased less than an ounce of total product at a very inflated price. No wonder there is no mention made of the contents. The generous refund policy took the sting out of the transaction.

  • Elisabeth Schulz Original review: May 04, 2019. Reply

    Thank you for this honest review. I have been tempted to order, finding only oohs and awws on social media, but with a cautionary “if it seems to good to be true….” adage running through my mind. $76 is a lot for 1.5 inches of makeup X3. Hard pass from me.

  • sherri hershfeld Original review: Jan 15, 2019. Reply

    Advertised as good for elderly women which I am. I find it dressy and heavy . Also at my age I need some coverage which this doesn’t cover. In addition makes my skin very shiny which shows every inperfection ion my face. I wasted my money.

  • Kristi Miller Original review: Sep 10, 2018. Reply

    I have been using Boomsilk for a few years now, as a night cream, just reordered a new large one. I love the pure ingredients and that the product is from bees, and that bees are supported in our world where bees are threatened. I’m in my 60’s and my skin literally thrives and glows using these products and I can go without makeup if I choose and look great. I also use Boom Color for cheeks, nose, chin and forehead highlighting,, and Boom Glo on lips and eyes. I occasionally use Glimmer if wanting a special glow, I like it on upper eyelid area. I highly recommend BOOM!!

  • Cecile Roy Original review: Aug 09, 2018. Reply

    Sooo NOT happy… I waited impatiently to receive the three prducts I ordered.. which were NOT cheap.
    – The three tiny ‘sticks’ were absloutely LOST in the 6″ x4″ mailimg envelope.
    – And Get This …. there is actually only about 1 1/2″ of product in each tube.
    – The ‘GLIMMER’ is very nice … but so not worth the price.. Plus it’s BROWN with slight pink overtones…
    – The ‘GLO’ was more like putting lip balm on your cheeks…
    – The one-color-only was fine … but you can buy a stick of Burt’s Bees sheer lip color for a lot less money.
    My Review – DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY… ☹️?☹️?

  • Lorie Original review: Feb 08, 2018. Reply

    I’ve always had good skin and use makeup maybe once a year. This product sounded terrific for people like me who would like a little color without using a ton of makeup. I purchased the 3 pack of Glow, Color and Glimmer. Since I use serum and moisturizer with sunscreen I find the glow redundant. I love the color and glimmer and use them on my cheeks, eyelids and lips. I will occasionally use the glow on my lips over the color for a moister look. So far I’m pleased with the products. I have sensitive skin and have had no allergic reactions to these products. I just ordered the serum and may replace my current one with this product since I’m pleased with the other Boom products that I have bought.

  • Kath Original review: Jan 19, 2018. Reply

    I’m 62 and I hate using makeup. I bought all 3 products, Glow, Glitter and colour and I love them. They are simple to use. I used mine sparingly and was delighted with the result. My skin is quite oily so I was careful in the areas that I know will not need as much moisturiser. The glow is brilliant on your eyebrows as well to tame them.

  • Janeen Original review: Nov 26, 2017. Reply

    I’m 63. I have the trio sticks and the Boomsilk.
    Glo stick- LOVE on my lips at night or in the winter weather and I like it under my lip stick.
    Blush stick- LOVE this as a lip color and cheek color. It looks so natural on my skin.
    Highlighter stick- I don’t use it that much but I’ve used it on my lips and then apply a tinted, translucent lip color & it looks nice.
    BoomSilk- My skin has gotten drier in the last few years so I’ll use it at night and it seems to soak in pretty well.
    I’m going to try and use it on my arms. Yes the oil will separate but I use a scoop to just stir it up. No big deal.

    I’d like to try the Boom Cotton for day and the Boom Mask next.

  • Parisa Clement Original review: Oct 06, 2017. Reply

    I don’t have a lot of confidence in Boom! as a company. My order arrived in a box that appeared to have been handled by sumo wrestlers, it was squashed and torn. I took a photo before opening it and sent it to Boom! and mentioning that the invoice referred to a “purity” something-or-other and what it was because I thought it might be missing. Their response? Silence. I reviewed the products honestly (Boom! Cotton – greasy & pricey and Boomstick Glimmer – a nice highlighter); the positive review on the Glimmer was posted on their site, but the not so positive review on the Cotton product (which included the damaged package and lack of response from Boom!) seemed to have disappeared into the netherworld of the web. I also question many of the positive reviews on their blog, website and other sources (makeupalley.com) because they sound like advertisements and seem to come from women who have only one comment or review under their belt.

  • Melissa BUSH Original review: Sep 20, 2017. Reply

    I was really excited to get this product. I’m 58 and looking for a more natural approach to my makeup. I bought the trio and the face/body Cream. I applied all the product exactly as Cindy demonstrates in the video and headed out the door. I added eye liner and mascara because I won’t go without. I will say I had a nice glow and thought my face looked ok for daily running around. About an hour into wear I started feeling really greasy and started itching all over. (I applied the moisturizer to my whole body and face). I couldnt go home as I had appointments all day! The color had also disappeared so I looked greasy and pale, but was not about to put more color on since I was itching like crazy! Long story short, by the time I got home my eyes were swelled and I was red and blotchy all over! First thing I did was jump in the shower to get it all off! Took 2 days for my skin to calm down. I didn’t realize there were other ingredients besides what’s listed on the jar. Shame on the company for that. On a POSITIVE note, I called and told the lady that answered what happened. She refunded my money immediately with no further questions and told me I didn’t have to return the product and to pass it on to someone else to try. I will say I’m a little scared to do that with my experience.

  • LindaVW Original review: Aug 14, 2017. Reply

    I started using BOOM about 3 weeks ago. I absolutely love it! For those who say it’s too greasy, try using a little less. I did what was on the video and ended up with too much. As I scaled back, it works tons better. Personally, for me (57) it works great. I don’t look like a clown anymore, even my husband likes it and he hates any kind of make-up. It also helps to use a Kabuki brush when done with a teeny tiny bit of all natural pale pink blush to blend. Takes away some of the greasy look. I have gone from a huge bag of make-up to a small basket.

  • Gladys Original review: Jul 27, 2017. Reply

    I ordered Boomsilk and Boomstick Color. Tried the Boomsilk on my face and arms. Now I have red blotches on both areas. Thought it was all natural ingredients but after searching online and finding another list of ingredients, I found I couldn’t pronounce half of them! I wonder if I could be allergic to something in that list.

  • Sue Original review: Jul 01, 2017. Reply

    How do i get ahold of the company. I was so excited to try this product. I started with the glow. It is very heavy and sticky on my eyes. I do not like it at all and would like to talk to someone to get my money back. It is difficult for me to believe that other maturewomen would want this heavy stuff ontheir eyes. It is very sticky.

  • Sabr Original review: May 15, 2017. Reply

    This isn’t so much a review but a comment and a question. I was about to order the boom stick but I noticed I could click for ingredients. It sounded near miraculous so I was shocked to see a ton of long scientific words & all kinds of artificial colors etc and thought I wouldn’t put this on my skin if you paid me. So let me ask those of you that have used it ~what do you think of the ingredients, do you know what’s in it, and it’s hardly what could be called a natural product so how do you feel about this?

  • deborah lubic Original review: Apr 01, 2017. Reply

    Ordered and received several BOOM products. Each jar was full with a double layer seal. The seal closest to the product was similar to saran wrap and the outer was a foiled paper. Both seals on all products were completely intact. The Boom sticks had a plastic shrink wrap type seal that had to be removed in order for the stick to be opened. Completely satisfied with everything I have purchased and used. I did not, however, have any first hand communication with Customer Service. To date, have had good results with my purchase.

  • sassy Original review: Feb 19, 2017. Reply

    Well, I just got my broomstick color in the mail and I couldn’t wait to use it. I was a little surprised by the color, I was
    told this was a bronzer so the burgundy threw me off.

    Basically this product BROOMSTICK is not for the 55 and over crowd, don’t be fooled. It is very greasy and if you are in menopause, that’s the last thing you want. Being greasy and sweaty is not attractive. I am also black with medium to dark skin toned. this is not for my skin tone either. as a blush it is too dark and greasy, it looks awful on my forehead, just greasy and for my lips it’s ok but not practical to use because of it’s shape.

    For the price and use of this product, you can certainly do a lot better. I won’t repurchase. If this lady were smart, she would have included samples of the others. I read that the glimmer is good, but I refuse to spend another $27 (plus an outrageous $8.35 for shipping) to try it. Not worth the risk.

  • Diane Original review: Feb 16, 2017. Reply

    I turned 60 in September and wanted to use a more natural approach to my makeup. I bought the boom stick trio and have been using it for 4 months. It’s the only make up I have been using other than mascara. I love the way it feels and love the ease of three simple products that have replaced a full makeup bag. I have found that the boomstick glow has run out very quickly considering how expensive it is. I do, however, feel my skin is healthier. I will order again !

  • Melissa Original review: Jan 24, 2017. Reply

    I had such high hopes for the products that I bought. I was very disappointed. Here is my review:

    Boomsilk – really gross smell, gets all oily at the top, your skin feels nice for about 3 minutes, then it gets all dry feeling again. I felt like I needed to wash my hands after using it.
    Boomstick – I don’t see the point. At 50, this stick didn’t do anything.
    Boomglitter – lasted about 5 minutes on my skin before absorbing.
    Boomblush (or whatever its called) – this was the only think I almost liked. but again – it absorbed after about 5-10 minutes.

  • Kay Original review: Jan 10, 2017. Reply

    I originally bought the moisturizer with high hopes for my dry skin. I had previously used Clarin products but was swayed by Cindys pitch! When the 1st jar of moisturizer came, I was so excited to try it. Well, when I unscrewed the lid the liner which should be attached to the jar, was detached all the way around the jar, and product was leaking out and it was a gooey mess. Not wanted to put any impurities on my skin, I called the company and they didn’t apologize or even ask for the batch number (like it wasn’t the first they had heard of it) but said they would send another one. So, the 2nd one arrived, and it had a different color liner than the first, but had also detached from the jar. Again product was oozing out and making a mess for snide the lid. In addition the cream inside the jar had solidified on the top so there was a gross 1/4″ layer on the top of the cream. I called again. The person I spoke to didn’t seem to care and only after I really stressed the problem and said I wanted a refund AND no more product (I wasn’t looking for free product), she finally said, “I’ll tell Cindy.” Just so you know customer service is sorely lacking as is purity of the product. I never heard from them again.

  • Your Review
    User Rating: 3.1 (11 votes)
    Sending

    Recommended Articles