Orogold Review

SKIN CARE REVIEWS

09.28.18DISCLAIMER

Brand background

Orogold Cosmetics is a luxury anti-aging skin care brand that infuses gold into each of their products. The brand recognizes that gold has been used for thousands of years as a beauty treatment, but was previously only available to the wealthy and royalty. Orogold states that they want to make the refinement and allure of gold available to anyone. In this Orogold review, we’ll discuss key products, key formulation details, Orogold reviews from real customers, and an alternative for you to consider.  

What are the Best Skin Care Products of 2022?

Key products

Orogold skin care products are divided into sixteen unique collections. Since there are too many products to cover in one review, below we’ll discuss three of the most popular Orogold skin care products: 24K Multi-Vitamin Deep Peeling + Mandelic Acid, 24K Mousse Cleanser, and 24K Deep Tissue Rejuvenation Mask. 

Orogold 24K Multi-Vitamin Deep Peeling + Mandelic Acid is an exfoliating gel that is claimed to be gentle and effective for all skin types. However, as you’ll see in the next section, this formulation is far from gentle and actually has the potential to do harm to your skin. 

Like most cleansers, Orogold 24K Mousse Cleanser is said to remove excess oil, dirt, and makeup without stripping away natural oils in order to maintain healthy skin. This cleanser is recommended to be used twice daily. 

Orogold 24K Deep Tissue Rejuvenation Mask is a set of one-time uses sheet masks that are said to promote a softer, smoother complexion with each monthly application. 

Key formulation

Orogold explains that they use gold as a key ingredient in their skin care products because gold has been recognized throughout history for its luxurious and beautifying properties. Historians have long maintained that Cleopatra slept in a gold mask every night to enhance her captivating beauty. In ancient Rome, gold salves were used for a variety of skin problems. In ancient Chinese medicine, gold was the key to youth; as the queen of the Ch’ing dynasty used a gold massage roller on her face daily.

It’s true that gold is actually quite beneficial to the skin. For instance, gold has been shown to stimulate blood circulation, enhance the absorption of other active ingredients, and improve the firmness and elasticity of skin. Gold is also an antioxidant and therefore helps the skin combat free radicals, the unstable molecules that contribute to the formation of premature wrinkles and fine lines on the skin. Lastly, gold has anti-inflammatory properties and may be able to reduce redness and calm inflammation associated with acne. Of course, Orogold uses other ingredients in their formulations besides gold. Below we’ll discuss the key ingredients found in each of the Orogold skin care products mentioned above. 

Unfortunately, Orogold 24K Multi-Vitamin Deep Peeling + Mandelic Acid is formulated pretty poorly. The second highest concentration ingredient in this exfoliating gel is SD alcohol 40B (denatured alcohol). A high concentration of denatured alcohol is problematic for all skin types because this type of alcohol is well known to cause skin dryness, irritation, and even disruption of the skin barrier, especially when used in high concentrations. So instead of hydrating your skin and reducing signs of aging, this Orogold skin care product has the potential to cause excessive dryness, damage, and make signs of aging look even worse over time!

Another problem with Orogold 24K Multi-Vitamin Deep Peeling + Mandelic Acid is the presence of walnut shell powder. Walnut shell powder is used in skin care products to physically exfoliate the skin. Unfortunately, it’s impossible to make walnut shell particles smooth, which means the sharp edges can cause microscopic scrapes in skin every time you use it. So not only is the denatured alcohol in this Orogold skin care product damaging your skin, but the walnut shell powder makes matters even worse. If Orogold had used a higher concentration of mandelic acid (a chemical exfoliant) and left out the walnut shell powder and denatured alcohol, this formulation wouldn’t be so bad. 

Like most cleansers, Orogold 24K Mousse Cleanser contains quite a few surfactants, such as cocamidopropyl betaine, sodium methyl cocoyl taurate, and more. A surfactant molecule contains one end that is hydrophilic (attracted to water) and one end that is lipophilic (attracted to oil). This allows surfactants to attract and suspends oils, dirt, and other impurities that have accumulated on the skin and wash them away, leaving the skin clean. The rest of the ingredients in the Orogold 24K Mousse Cleanser are used in very low concentrations (less than 1%). We know this by looking at the ingredient list (which is in order of descending concentrations). The majority of the ingredients (including “key” ingredients like willow bark, chamomile, and gold) are listed after the preservative phenoxyethanol, which cannot be used in concentrations more than 1%.

Orogold 24K Deep Tissue Rejuvenation Mask contains several hydrating ingredients, like chitosan, glycerol, and two algae extracts. The mask contains collagen, which will hydrate the skin as well but won’t be able to provide anti-aging benefits because the protein is too large to penetrate into the skin. Overall, the formulation of these sheet masks is rather unimpressive, especially considering that a set costs nearly $1,000. 

Orogold reviews

There aren’t many Orogold reviews on the brand’s website, but those that are available are only positive. All reviews that are on the website are 5-star, which is surprising and makes us think that perhaps the brand only displays 5-star positive reviews. 

What are some alternatives to Orogold?

If you’re looking for skincare products to address the signs of aging, we recommend Carrot & Stick. Carrot & Stick maximizes the use of powerful ingredients and minimizes the use of superficial ones, resulting in advanced skincare solutions that help promote healthy, more youthful-looking skin.

OUR TOP SKINCARE PICKS

1

Carrot & Stick

Carrot & Stick takes a tough love approach to skincare. What does this mean? It perfectly balances the power of plants with innovative science, offering the best of both worlds. Read More
2

Formulyst

The philosophy of Formulyst is long-term and effective skincare, rather than covering up any imperfections. The comprehensive line of products tackles everything from wrinkles to dark spots and dry skin. While some brands rely on unnecessary fillers and scents, Formulyst focuses on ingredients that help create results, such as vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. Read More
  • Val Original review: Jun 12, 2022. Reply

    I has a bad experience with this brand. The facials were irritating my skin. Unfortunately, I already bought the peeling of their sister brand Vine Vera. I regretted it so much. Their products are so expensive and worth nothing. DO NOT BUY THEM.

  • Mel Original review: Apr 29, 2022. Reply

    I was impressed by a soap sample given to me here in Panama City. I came back, found the store and indeed, the pressure to purchase was just as stressful as the time share guys. I almost purchased three products from the store today for the low low price of $140.! Then I was like…nah. I read the package; the first ingredient was alcohol. So, now I sit here reading reviews & happy I didn’t believe the hype. Dead sea salt can be found in whole foods, aloe, anywhere. Ain’t got no money for dat!

  • Heather Original review: Nov 26, 2021. Reply

    I had the exact same experience as Cindy as well. I was pulled in by a very overly flattering mid eastern man complimenting me constantly. I was used to being compliment somewhat, but this was way way over the top. Also, this was one of the few times I had passed this store without a stroller full of kids… so I later realized that probably played into why I was suddenly being dragged into the store. The first product shown to me was the 24k gold skin peel, which amazed me that it “rubbed all my dead skin cells off” and he def saw that I was amazed at that.. then came the regimen of random other gels and creams and what not. I really only ever ended up using the peel. He noticed a flaw that I am embarrassed about, I have extra skin under my jaw so he right away offered me this entires collagen line and 6 free facials in their VIP room. He started ringing me up and it was over $1000, and I said uh, hold up, I think I’m just going to get this 24k peel, I don’t need the rest, so he start throwing in all this stuff, telling me not to tell his manager, and he would give me this for free, but I had to buy it all today. So now we are down to $600. I said there is no way my husband is going to be happy w me spending $600 on this stuff, so he said let’s do this, you have a checkbook? (I did this was quite a few years ago, but the pushy sales tactics and being scammed embarrass me so much I still remember like it was yesterday…) he said, I charge you $300 on your card, and have you write a check for the other $300 and hold it for 2 weeks, how’s that.. at this point, I realized I had been stuck in this store for over an hour or more, and I needed to leave so I said fine, ok. He threw in this expensive hand soap, (it was like a cheap bar of glycerin looking soap w some exfoliant pieces in it, I never used it.) and guaranteed that if I used it how he said, that I would never have to be under the knife for my loose neck skin, (it’s not even that bad, I was shocked he picked up on it, but they are trained to do this to you). I guess I’m relieved I didn’t break out in hives from it all, and I still can’t believe I allowed myself to spend that much, and only really used the skin peel. The rest of the stuff smelled weird and was watery, and I didn’t like using it. ALL THE SAME PUSHY SALES TACTICS, don’t make eye contact and don’t give them the time of day!! None of this actually made my skin feel any better than the usual $30-$40 regimen that I still use now. WASTE OF MONEY!!!

  • Emily Robert Original review: Mar 11, 2021. Reply

    My experience with OroGold’s 24k dark circle eye solution is really great. This serum felt so light and comfortable underneath my eyes. The formula was a perfect fit for delicate skin under my eyes, dark circles have also started fading.

  • Julia Schindler Original review: Mar 22, 2020. Reply

    I agree with the above comments : DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT AND DO NOT EVEN ENTER A STORE. THEY HAVE THEIR LIES, PRESSURE, PUSH TACTIC DOWN. They want your money NOT interested in you as a person and knowing your values!

    Just passed one of their shops in San Francisco intrigued by their samples. A sales person dragged me in wanting me to test their products : I thought, ok I’ll just try their samples and go out. But they absolutely do have their marketing practices well put in : before I knew it I was paying $80 (which is supposed to be a bargain for them, but a fortune for me!) for their moisturizing cream that is supposed to last a year. I must say their moisturizing cream made mostly of C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate does do well on my dry skin. But I much rather spend my money supporting local and hand-made organic products and eat healthy that really work fine!

    Now I realized how much lies she told me : she told me all their products were organic even though they have no label at all; she just did not even listen to me but babbled about how awesome and expensive their products were how she would use them all the time, how wonderful her skin was (when it really looked like a barbie doll fake thing), how much of a bargain she was giving me… just crap to drown me under and buy her stupid stuff that I did not want!
    I am so angry with myself for having bought that stuff!

  • Lalena Luba Original review: Jan 31, 2020. Reply

    Cindy I had the same exact experience and spent in the thousands – I’m embarrassed and want everyone to know to avoid this place and their products!

  • Nona Original review: Jul 20, 2019. Reply

    I got the deep peeling and termica mask and its AMAZING!
    I’m using the treatment just for 4 weeks and I already see a big difference!
    A little pricey worth it!
    Absolutely recommended!

  • Patzau Original review: May 08, 2019. Reply

    There are numerous brands of same or similar products appearing everywhere with heavy duty sales tactics attached. Prices are off the wall and there’s no way of knowing if any do what they claim. Best to stay away. Most of the sales people if not all in these premises are from the Middle East or Mediterranean, places that have sales tactics not familiar to Americans. It’s definitely buyer beware

  • Cindy Schrom Original review: Dec 16, 2018. Reply

    I have to say I feel like I have been scammed!!!! I purchased a CRAZY amount of product in a Las Vegas Orogold store.late one afternoon I immediately had buyers remorse after reading the reviews online and the ingredients more carefully. I called the store the very next morning to tell them NOT to ship any product, and the number was no longer in service!!!!! I then called customer service and the representative simply said it was paid for and it cannot be returned. I still have not resolved this nightmare. This is NOT a company that wants to please customers. They want your money NOT your locality. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT AND DO NOT ENTER A STORE. THEY HAVE THEIR PRESSURE, PUSH TACTIC DOWN.

  • Susan Leonard Original review: Sep 17, 2018. Reply

    RUN AWAY! Liars & Cheats! Will Not Refund!

    I purchased $537 of Orogold products in Key West, FL, and Orogold has refused to refund my products, which I will gladly return, and I am issuing this statement.

    I believe that the Store salesperson made false claims about the products I purchased and I’m finding several discrepancies when viewing the Orogold website and once speaking with Jackie, the CS product rep. I was misled and actually lied to about their products. Truth in advertising was not upheld. There were discrepancies in terms of service. The products I purchased were not as described.

    1) Ingredients:
    I made it clear to the sales rep that I have, for years, only used organic skin care products – Michael Todd True Organics lines. She assured me that the products she was selling me were “natural,” “organic” and I was told each product I was sold was “collagen based” … “collagen infused”. Upon returning home from vacation, I researched the products on Orogold’s website for the five products I was sold, and it does NOT say that. When I spoke to Jackie, the CS product rep, she said that no, the products I bought did not contain collagen, but they do have a (more expensive) collagen line, “24K Collagen Collection.” NOTE: when in the store, I was never introduced to this line; the 5 products offered to me were a mix and match from different Organic product lines, some of which are not even on their website anymore, and one Jackie told me she doesn’t think they even carry anymore!

    2) Length of use/supply quantity:
    I was told, “Every product lasts one year” … “you won’t have to replenish your supply for a full year.” I was also told that the 24K DMAE Deep Wrinkle Tightening Solution, when used ONCE A WEEK, WOULD LAST one YEAR, WITH RESULTS of wrinkles around my eyes being gone for 1-3 YEARS AFTER THAT. Well, my moisturizer, used as directed, is now GONE! I can’t tell about the remaining products, due to the packaging. If I can’t trust them on other claims made, I doubt I can trust them on eye wrinkles disappearing for 1-3 years after a full year’s use of this one product!
    Again, the sales rep told me the 24K DMAE Deep Wrinkle Tightening Solution was a one-year supply. Per Jackie, the CS product rep, over the phone, “Use one to two times per week and on special occasions, and it will last 3-6 months. Quite a discrepancy!

    3) “The OROGOLD Guarantee”
    “OROGOLD stands behind its skin care products 100%. Our products are sure to make your skin look lovely and make you feel fabulous. Our staff is happy to help you with whatever you may need, whether they are the store staff at OROGOLD locations or our corporate customer service. Please contact us with any questions or comments – we are happy to assist you. So if you have any doubts, questions, clarifications or comments, please get in touch with us. We are always happy to assist you in any way that we can.”
    If they stand behind their products 100%, and I was deceived in the products’ ingredients and how long they will last, then I should be able to return the products for a refund according to this “guarantee”!

    4) Did I even get true Orogold products?
    According to the website, “All products are wrapped individually in golden boxes and when you open them up, you find the products to gracefully lying in beds made out of golden colored satin.” Interesting! Mine weren’t! They are in WHITE cardboard boxes with NO “beds of golden colored satin” – just white cardboard! I’ll be glad to provide photos!

  • Your Review

    Recommended Articles