Proactiv Review: Meet leading acne skin care regimen. - The Dermatology Review

Proactiv Review: Meet leading acne skin care regimen.

Skin Care Reviews

09.28.18AD DISCLOSURE

What do Kendall Jenner, Adam Levine and Olivia Munn have in common? They have all been spokespeople for Proactiv, the acne fighting line. Whether you have seen the infomercials on cable tv or spotted an ad on Instagram, Proactiv is one of the best known skincare lines for tackling acne. But how does Proactiv work, what ingredients are in the products and is it worth a try?

What are the Best Skin Care Products of 2020?

What Is Proactiv?

Proactiv was launched by two dermatologists, Dr. Kathy Fields and Dr. Katie Rodan, the same duo behind Rodan + Fields. According to Forbes, after a particularly long day at work, Rodan yearned for an ideal acne product that she could prescribe to her patients. She reached out to her friend and fellow Stanford University School of Medicine graduate Fields, and they began their journey to create Proactiv. The women pitched the brand to Neutrogena. The company passed on it, but its CEO suggested selling the products through infomercials. Guthy-Renker, whose portfolio also includes Crepe Erase and Meaningful Beauty, started to distribute Proactiv in 1995, and actress Judith Light was the first spokesperson. The brand took off and according to the Journal of Clinical and Aesthetic Dermatology, Proactiv is one of the most popular skincare brands of all time. AdAge estimates that 90% of people are aware of the brand, and Proactiv’s roster of celebrity spokespeople have been dubbed the “ziterati.”

Infomercials and celebrities aside, Proactiv focuses on acne, and sells three different subscription skincare kits to tackle it.

What Is the Proactiv Philosophy?

Most acne product are designed to be applied to a pimple once it appears on the face. Proactiv takes a different approach, which it calls “combination therapy.” Instead of chasing pimples once they appear, Proactic adopts a preventive strategy to acne.

What Does Proactiv Sell?

Proactiv offers three different skincare kits. The ProactivMD 3-Piece System includes a face wash, daily oil control moisturizer with SPF30 and adapalene gel 0.1%, which is a retinoid. The three piece Proactiv Solution Acne Treatment System consists of a Renewing Cleanser, Revitalizing Toner and a Repairing Treatment, which contains benzoyl peroxide. According to Proactiv, the Proactiv+ Acne Treatment System takes “the same principles of Combination Therapy and “married them with Smart Target technology to deliver acne-fighting medicine directly into the pores.” This regimen includes a Skin Smoothing Exfoliator, Pore Targeting Treatment and a Complexion Perfecting Hydrator, which the brand describes as a “medicated moisturizer.” Add-ons include a Teen Kit that contains a Blackhead Dissolving Gel and Emergency Blemish Relief, and Proactiv Plus includes a Clarifying Night Cream and Advanced Dark Spot Correcting Cream.

Orders come with complimentary skincare gifts, such as a Gel Head Brush Kit, Oil Control Kit or  Deluxe Brush Kit. Some products are sold individually or included a complimentary gift, such as the Proactiv Green Tea Moisturizer, and the Proactiv Deep Cleansing Wash, a body wash designed to help keep acne at bay with 2% salicylic acid.

Where is Proactiv Sold?

Proctive is sold on its website, over the phone and via Amazon, an authorized retailer for the brand.

How Much Do Proactiv Products Cost?

The ProactivMD 3-Piece System as well as the original Acne Treatment System cost $19.95 a month with a subscription. Proactive+ starts at $29.99 a month with a subscription. According to the company, every Proactiv order includes a 60-day money-back guarantee of the purchase price less shipping and handling. Subscriptions can be canceled over the phone.

What Are the Ingredients in Proactiv?

Some of the key ingredients in Proactiv are commonly found in acne products, such as benzoyl peroxide, salicylic acid and retinoids. Retinoids are derived from vitamin A and work by encouraging skin cell turnover (think of it as an exfoliation). Retinoid is the key ingredient in the company’s adapalene Gel.  Benzoyl peroxide is the key ingredient in the Repairing Treatment, as well as the Renewing Cleanser. According to WebMd, benzoyl peroxide works by reducing the amount of acne-causing bacteria and by causing the skin to dry and peel. It is antimicrobial and helps to unclog pores. Benzoyl peroxide has been used for decades in over the counter drugstore products. Salicylic acid is the key ingredient in the Complexion Perfecting Hydrator as well as the Deep Cleansing Wash. It is a beta hydroxy acid (BHA) that helps exfoliate the skin and dislodge dead skin cells that can clog pores.

Other ingredients include jojoba esters, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, glycerin, camellia sinensis leaf extract, coconut acid, glycolic acid and witch hazel.

Is Proactiv Cruelty Free?

The company doesn’t address this on their website. According to Cruelty Free Kitty, the brand is in a “grey area” as the information is unclear.

Do Proactiv Products Work?

Finding the right skincare product that works for you always involves some trial and error, which is why it’s always helpful to look at customer reviews and editorial write ups as a starting point.   

Proactiv is arguably the best known acne system available directly to consumers, and has its fair share of fans. According to Forbes, Proactiv generated a reported $1 billion in sales in 2015.  Proactiv says it has received more than 40 awards and honors from the beauty and health industry. Redbook named Proactiv a Beauty MVP Award winner in 2013, and Seventeen magazine gave it a Beauty Award for Best Acne System in 2009.

Kendall Jenner claimed the products cured her acne, and some beauty editors rated it positively. Allure’s take on the ProActiv Solution 3-Step System is “Three separate products may seem tedious, but the results are worth the trouble. Skin feels softer after one use (surprising for an acne treatment) and pimples are noticeably calmer after a couple days. Those with drier skin may need to finish with a moisturizer. In 2013 a Cosmopolitan editor tried the system for her acne. Her conclusion? “A few weeks into religiously using Proactiv, my skin feels softer and definitely fresher. I think the key with this one is not to expect results straight away. I definitely have less blemishes than before (so it helps), but I don’t think it’s going to go as far as eradicating my breakouts.”

The senior editor for Shefinds.com wrote about her Proactiv experience in the 2016 article, “I Didn’t Realize How Bad Proactiv Was For My Skin Until I Stopped Using It.” She wrote that she “suffered from all-over breakouts, redness, cystic, painful zits, for seven years until I STOPPED using Proactiv and realized how truly awful it was for my skin.” On ConsumerAffairs.com, the company gets a one star rating based on more than 530 reviews. Most of the complaints have to do with difficulty canceling the subscription.

Proactiv products have more than 14,000 reviews on Influenster. The original three piece system gets a 3.1 out of 5 star rating based on more than 7,300 reviews. For Lexi L., “Proactiv TRULY does work wonders” and for Onee C., “It’s the only topical acne medication that has worked for me.” People who gave it a low rating said that it irritated their skin, made it feel like it was burning or left them with red blotches. As Theresa S. wrote, “When I was having issues with some acne I bought this three-step program and it made me break out even worse I actually had to discontinue it.

The ProactivMD 3-Piece Acne System gets a slightly higher rating on Influenster- 3.8 out of 5 stars, based on about 2,100 reviews. Some people felt that it worked wonders. “Proactiv has saved my face. Within five weeks of using Proactiv I saw a huge difference. The only reason I break out now is due to unrelated allergies. Very gentle on the skin.” Some users felt that it made their skin worse, like Kaylee W. “The. Worst. Ever. Especially for anyone over the age of 21 with acne! This stuff destroyed my face, it took me months to get it back under control.”

On Amazon, the three piece system gets a 4.4 out of 5 star rating, from about 1,600 reviews. Seventy-two percent of users gave it five stars. Some fans called it “the best products for breakouts” and a “godsend for hormonal teens.”  As one reviewer noted,I suddenly developed adult acne out of nowhere and panicked. Nothing I did stopped it. Out of sheer desperation I bought this set, and within a few days my face was totally clear. One caveat: go very gently until you see how your skin responds to these products.” Customers who tried it and gave it a low rating fpund that it made their acne worse, or burned their face. “This product dried out my skin HORRIBLY. To the point where if I even touched my face flakes of skin would fall off.”  Others complained that it just didn’t work.

What Are Some Alternatives to Proactiv?

Although Proactiv has its fair share of fans, it may not work for everyone. There are a few other brands to consider.

Formulyst’s believes in long-term and effective skincare and the brand’s philosophy is that age is just a number. That number isn’t necessarily the one on your driver’s license, but a numerical sequence that makes up a skincare formula suited for your skin type and needs. Each skincare concern is assigned a number, such as 1 for dryness, 3 for fine lines. Your personal combination will be just as unique as you (and your skin) are.  Formulyst makes it easy – all you have to do is find your formula, and follow the numbers.

The ideal cleanser should give skin a deep clean without stripping it of too much moisture, which means your face will be squeaky clean without feeling tight and dry. Formulyst’s Gentle Foaming Cleanser does exactly that. This ultra-gentle foaming cleanser whisks away dirt, sweat and makeup but won’t over dry the skin.  Skin is left clean and feeling soft and supple thanks to nourishing rosehip seed oil as well as vitamins A, C and E.

The safest way to get rid of a blemish is to resist popping it, and dry it out instead. Drying the blemish will help prevent any scarring or dark spots from forming. Apply a dab of Formulyst’s Blemish Clearing Complex. It contains a whole cocktail of bacteria fighting, pimple drying products including zinc oxide, salicylic acid, and camphor.

Fans of skincare kits, which take all the guesswork out of creating your own regimen, should try Advanced Dermatology. This no nonsense brand offers a pared down approach to skincare. The packaging is simple and streamlined, and the products bring skincare back to the basics. The kit contains just six essential items including a daily cleanser; serum; anti-wrinkle firming treatment; night cream; day cream and an eye cream. In other words, everything you need to achieve your best possible looking skin.

THE BEST SKIN CARE LINES 2020

1

Formulyst

The philosophy of Formulyst is long-term and effective skincare, rather than covering up any imperfections. The comprehensive line of products tackles everything from wrinkles to dark spots and dry skin. While some brands rely on unnecessary fillers and scents, Formulyst focuses on ingredients that help create results, such as vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. Many of the Formulyst’s products harness the power of plant and citrus extracts as well as gold-standard workhorses such as retinol. Read More
2

Advanced Dermatology

The Advanced Dermatology skin care regimen addresses the most pressing aging concerns. It can be used by men and women in their 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s, 60s and beyond. This award-winning system can help diminish wrinkle appearance, reduce dark spots and hyperpigmentation, fade away redness, even out skin tone and improve the appearance of eye bags and dark circles. Some of the standout products in this line include the Super Youth Serum, Complete Age Defense and Anti-Wrinkle Firming Night Treatment. Read More

Proactiv Skin Smoothing Exfoliator Review

Proactiv+ Skin Smoothing Exfoliator is a creamy cleanser that is step one in the ProActiv+ 3-part system. It is said to help clear up acne blemishes and help prevent new ones from forming. This cleanser contains 2.5% benzoyl peroxide as an active ingredient. Benzoyl peroxide is a peroxide with antibacterial, keratolytic, comedolytic, and anti-inflammatory activity. Upon topical application, benzoyl peroxide decomposes to release oxygen which is lethal to the bacteria Propionibacterium acnes. Due to its keratolytic effect, benzoyl peroxide increases turnover rate of skin cells, thereby peeling the skin and promoting the resolution of blemishes. Benzoyl peroxide is considered to be one of the most effective treatments for mild to moderate acne. However, benzoyl peroxide is more effective when it is used in leave-on products rather than rinse-off cleansers like this one. In addition to benzoyl peroxide, the Proactiv+ Skin Smoothing Exfoliator contains a few more beneficial ingredients, such as sodium cocoyl isethionate (surfactant derived from coconut oil), the essential fatty acids linoleic and linolenic acid, and glycolic acid (alpha hydroxy acid). Proactiv+ Skin Smoothing Exfoliator does contain fragrance, which may cause irritation, especially for those with sensitive skin.

INGREDIENTS

Proactiv Emergency Blemish Relief Review

Proactiv Emergency Blemish Relief is an invisible spot treatment for unexpected blemishes that contains 5% benzoyl peroxide as an active ingredient. Benzoyl peroxide is a peroxide with antibacterial, keratolytic, comedolytic, and anti-inflammatory activity. Upon topical application, benzoyl peroxide decomposes to release oxygen which is lethal to the bacteria Propionibacterium acnes. Due to its keratolytic effect, benzoyl peroxide increases turnover rate of skin cells, thereby peeling the skin and promoting the resolution of blemishes. Benzoyl peroxide is considered to be one of the most effective treatments for mild to moderate acne.

One problem with benzoyl peroxide is that it can cause side effects such as burning, itching, skin dryness, redness, peeling, and flaking. To compensate for this, Proactiv Emergency Blemish Relief contains the moisturizing ingredients panthenol (provitamin B5) and allantoin. Panthenol functions as a highly effective humectant, which means that it is a hygroscopic substance with several hydrophilic (water loving) groups in its structure. This structure allows humectants to attract and retain the moisture in the air nearby via absorption, drawing the water vapor into or beneath the surface. Allantoin is an excellent moisturizing ingredient with anti-irritant and anti-inflammatory properties that help to reduce redness. Allantoin also functions as a keratolytic, which means it has the ability to smooth skin through exfoliation of the top layer of dead skin cells. The combination of these gentle, moisturizing ingredients with benzoyl peroxide should help to reduce redness, inflammation, and size of existing blemishes.

INGREDIENTS

Proactiv Advanced Dark Spot Correcting Serum Review

The Proactiv Advanced Dark was designed to effectively fade and diminish the appearance of dark spots and other sources of hyperpigmentation. This product is one of the few dark spot correcting serums on the market that contains 2% hydroquinone. Hydroquinone is a relatively controversial ingredient due to the fact that it is banned in a few countries, including the United Kingdom. Used properly hydroquinone can be an extremely effective treatment for dark spots and hyperpigmentation, but there are a few risks to keep in mind before you decide whether to use this ingredient or not. Hydroquinone can cause an extremely rare skin condition if used too consistently. Because of this risk, most professionals recommend that if you are going to use this ingredient, you limit your exposure to 6 months of use, followed by a few months without. Alternating use like this can allow you to reap all of the benefits of hydroquinone while removing the majority of the risk. In addition to hydroquinone, this product also contains sea buckthorn oil, which contains antioxidants and can also act as a skin soothing ingredient that helps to prevent skin irritation.

INGREDIENTS

Proactiv Dark Spot Corrector Review

Dark Spots can be one of the most frustrating skin concerns to tackle, as hyperpigmentation can be incredibly difficult to fade. If you are struggling with this in particular, you may want to check out the Proactiv Dark Spot Corrector. The main thing to note about this product is that the main dark spot lightening active is hydroquinone. Hydroquinone is a bit of a controversial ingredient because with consistent usage for more than a couple of months, there is a small risk that you could develop a rare skin condition. With that said, this risk is very small, and almost all users can completely avoid this risk by using this product in 2 month intervals. At a 2% concentration, along with the rest of this formula, hydroquinone can make a noticable difference in the appearance of your dark spots, age spots, post-acne marks and other forms of hyperpigmentation.

INGREDIENTS

Proactiv Deep Cleansing Wash

How to Use Proactiv Deep Cleansing Wash If you have problematic breakouts on your body, and are wondering how to get rid of acne on the back, legs, or arms, then you may have come across positive Proactive Deep Cleansing Wash reviews online in your search for a solution. However, before you purchase this product, there are a few vital things you should understand about this product and the Proactiv brand. For example, take the time to figure out all the Proactiv Deep Cleansing Wash ingredients, compare them to similar products, and speak to your dermatologist about what solution is right for you. These are all vital steps because there are many different types of acne, and treating your breakouts may require a different skin care routine than that of your friends and family. If you’d like to know more about Proactiv Deep Cleansing Wash, then here are some of the most vital facts.

How to Use Proactiv Deep Cleansing Wash

First and foremost, keep in mind that Proactiv Deep Cleansing Wash is designed specifically for the body. This means that the formula could be dangerous for facial skin, and should not be used to get rid of acne on face or chin. Although the manufacturer states that the Proactiv Deep Cleansing Wash could potentially be used on the face, this is somewhat misleading, because those with sensitive skin can suffer irritation from doing so.

INGREDIENTS

Proactiv Renewing Cleanser

What Does Proactiv Renewing Cleanser Do? If you're wondering how long does it take for Proactiv to work, you first have to understand this skin care system overall, and how the first step; the Proactiv Renewing Cleanser affects your skin. This facial cleanser is one of the cornerstone products of the brand's skin care kit to get rid of acne, and should ideally be used with other products in this brand for best results. Quite simply the Proactiv Renewing Cleanser is a soap-free formula with micro exfoliating beads to remove dirt, old skin cells and oil from the skin. Like many acne cleansers the main idea behind this product is to remove pathogens and dirt from the surface, so that acne causing bacteria do not have a comfortable environment in which to grow. However, if you're not going to buy the entire Proactiv system, make sure to read Proactiv Renewing Cleanser reviews to see how other consumers fared when using it as a standalone item.

Where to Buy Proactiv Renewing Cleanser

If you're looking for where to buy Proactiv Renewing Cleanser; you'll easily find it at the company's website, at retail locations, and even Proactiv kiosks across the country. However, just because the product is easy to find, that doesn't make it the most effective for your unique skin care situation.

The price of Proactiv Renewing Cleanser is quite low, at $35 for a bottle of 6 fluid ounces. This makes the Proactiv Renewing Cleanser an affordable option for most individuals; however, don't forget that it's part of an overall skin care kit, and you should also consider how the cost of the entire kit will affect your budget.

INGREDIENTS

Proactiv Makeup

Which Proactiv Makeup Products are Right for You? Most people think of Proactiv as a company that sells products to get rid of acne, but many consumers don't realize that the brand also carries a few Proactiv makeup products that can be incorporated into a regular skin care routine. Now, you may have seen many commercials for company products, like the Proactiv skin care kit, the Proactiv Renewing Cleanser, or the Refining Mask. But these are designed specifically to reduce the frequency and severity of breakouts. The products in the Proactiv makeup line, on the other hand, are designed to give you non-comedonal makeup solutions to prevent pore clogging. Thought these items are not widely known, they can be easily purchased through the company website or other retail outlets, including Proactiv kiosks. Before purchasing the makeup products, however, make sure to read Proactiv makeup reviews from consumers that have a similar skin type to yours, as these items are not the company's specialty, and other brands may be a better choice.

Proactiv Makeup Line

There are several products in the Proactiv makeup line, such as; the Duo Blemish Concealer, for acne coverage; the Smoothing Primer, to improve skin texture; and Proactiv Makeup Cleansing Wipes, for easier makeup removal. Although the Proactiv makeup reviews online are somewhat mixed, here is some of the most pertinent information you need to know before making a purchasing decision

Proactiv Kiosk

Should You Buy from a Proactiv Kiosk? If you've walked through your local mall or shopping center, you've likely come across a Proactiv kiosk at one point or another. These big boxes sell Proactiv acne treatment products, in much the same way that vending machines sell sodas and chips. In many ways, Proactiv kiosk machines are very convenient. After all, what's not to like about the ease of running up to a vending machine, and getting an entire acne skin care kit in less than a minute. No need to place your order online and then wait for days, or even weeks for it to arrive. But in recent years, the novelty and popularity of Proactiv kiosk setups has worn off as many individuals are bypassing this purchasing method altogether.

The History of Proactiv Kiosks

After the founding of the Proactiv brand in 1995, the automatic Proactiv kiosk idea wasn't developed for over a decade. Originally, the skin care products in this brand were sold through direct mail catalogues and through the company's website. Another early distribution method utilized by the company was the utilization of manned Proactiv kiosks. These were little booths in malls where a vendor sat with the inventory of Proactiv products and actively worked to sell it to shoppers walking around.

Proactiv Green Tea Moisturizer

How Proactiv Green Tea Moisturizer Works You may have seen lots of ads for Proactiv products on TV, or maybe even read great Proactiv Green Tea Moisturizer reviews online, but before you decide whether this facial cream is right for you, there are a few things you should know. Firstly, let's be honest; you've probably heard over and over, from a very early age, that moisturizing is a vital part of effective skin care. However, the part that often gets omitted is how to actually select the right moisturizer ingredients for your skin. For example, just because a celebrity touts Proactiv Green Tea Moisturizer as being great for their skin, that doesn't mean it will be good for you. Celebrities and spokespeople are often paid to appear in ads, so it may be difficult to tell how much of their excitement is due to product effectiveness and how much is due to the paycheck they are receiving. Therefore, before you invest in this face moisturizer, make sure to speak to your dermatologist and read Proactiv Green Tea Moisturizer reviews from unbiased sources, to make sure your skin is truly getting the best treatment.

About Proactiv Green Tea Moisturizer

The Proactiv Green Tea Moisturizer follows in the footsteps of many green tea skin care items; and the antioxidant craze that began several decades ago. Like many items in the green tea skin care repertoire, Proactiv Green Tea Moisturizer focuses on the reparative properties of antioxidants in green tea. Antioxidants are chemicals that help neutralize free radicals: particles which can cause cellular damage, and which are generated as a byproduct of the body's metabolism, as well as UV radiation.

INGREDIENTS

Proactiv Blackhead Dissolving Gel

The problem of blackheads can be a serious one because this type of acne can be especially noticeable and difficult to cover up with makeup; however, to treat this issue, some consumers have been turning to the Proactiv Blackhead Dissolving Gel as a possible solution. This product is manufactured by Proactiv, a company that gained popularity in the late 1990's by touting an all-in-one acne solution with its skin care kit. As part of the company's overall skin care system, the Proactiv Blackhead Dissolving Gel was designed with the main purpose of removing blackheads, but also to shrink pores and remove other impurities from the skin's surface. Keep in mind, however, that in order for this product to be fully effective, it should be used as part of the overall Proactiv skin care system, and may become an expensive choice for some individuals over the long term. Therefore, invest some time into reading Proactiv Blackhead Dissolving Gel reviews, and learn about the company overall, before you buy from the manufacturer's online store or make a purchase at a Proactiv kiosk.

INGREDIENTS

Proactiv Refining Mask

Is the Proactiv Refining Mask the Best Choice for You? If you've been doing research for how to get rid of acne overnight, you may have come across Proactiv Refining Mask reviews online that suggest this cream can be highly effective. But before you proceed with making a purchase, here's what you must understand; it is very difficult to effectively treat acne in a short period of time. Acne is a biological process wherein your skin responds to clogged pores and hair follicles, as well as bacterial buildup, and because there's a limit to how much you can speed up a biological process, the Proactiv Refining Mask isn't a miracle cure for acne. However, some suggest that although this product can't get rid of acne overnight, it can be helpful in reducing the appearance of pimples. To ensure that the $28 that this cream costs will not be a waste to you, speak to your dermatologist and read Proactiv Refining Mask reviews before making a purchasing decision.

Where to Buy Proactiv Refining Mask

Like all Proactiv products, the Proactiv Refining Mask can be purchased at a large number of outlets. For example, you can find this cream on the company website, on e-commerce websites like Amazon, and even at some spas and department stores. Another convenient place for where to buy Proactiv Refining Mask is in Proactiv kiosks; which are vending machines located in malls and shopping centers throughout the United States.

INGREDIENTS
  • Hannah Original review: May 18, 2017. Reply

    I HIGHY recommend Proactive.It works great for me. Most of you guys are probably allergic to it or something. Or you’re not using it right. I’ve been using it for 2 years and it leaves my face smooth and soft. When I first started using it burned the first couple of times I used it, but after I used it for a while, I guess my face got….use to it. I works wonderfully. But if u don’t use it twice a day, you’re face will break out more. But just be sure to use it twice a day that’s all.

  • Megan Original review: Mar 23, 2017. Reply

    I’ve been on proactive for 2 years now I’ve used it everyday it helped me out so much it made me so happy to finally see something work but later on down the road I could tell it stop working but I still used it .. plus I noticed my skin was so dry and was peeling but I stopped worrying about and one day I went to go get my upper lip waxed for the first time and I was scared because I read about how if you use proactive it can cause skin pigmentation and can make the face a lot w orser then you think the proactive is stripping away every layer of skin on your face she was straight up with me because I was scared usually wax salons don’t care and just wax it anyways …learned that before I went to The wax salon got my eyebrows done the day before and notice there was little brown dots from where the hairs was and I started freaking out the lady said that was normal so the next day I went to wax salon and the lady was straight up with me when I showed her my eyebrows she was like sweety I don’t think you need to do this it will make it worser she told me to come back in 6 months because that’s how long it takes proactive to get out of you blood another thing I didn’t know ☹☹☹☹ so before you start using something read into it please I don’t won’t nobody else to go threw what I have to

  • siddhesh Original review: Feb 25, 2017. Reply

    Hello everyone, i had acne when i was about 18-23, well
    1) Acne is of different grades 1,2,3,4 it depends on the severity of your acne, grade 1 can be cured with over the counter creams having benzyol peroxide 0.5% to 2.5% or salicylic acid creams.
    2) If the amount of amount is more and you use the creams it will dry up, cause redness, it flakes out and becomes a mess.
    3) Every acne cream has benzyol peroxide % just check the description at the back.
    4)If you have Acne grade 2 or above i recommend you visit a dermatologist thats what i did, guys acne takes about 2-4 years to vanish off completely well it depends on your body type.
    5) YOur doctor will prescribe you with oral medications such as vitamins to repair your skin and creams containing Benzyol peroxide or salycyclic acid or clyndamycin gel ( its mostly for minor acne).
    6) The doctor will try all the creams on your skin its basically a trial and error in a span of 6 months (approx) but mostly Benzyol peroxide does the work but it makes you look horrible because of the redness and the flaking.
    7)Well it is a gradual process don’t expect the results in a month or 2 , i say it will surely take 6 month for about 10-15%reduction of your acne.
    8)Get proper sleep.
    9)Ok once your acne reduces make sure you dont stop the treatment , the doctor will stop your oral meds but he will ask you to continue with the creams but they would be of low power may be 2.5% BENZ application once a day for 15-20 minutes and wash it off.
    10) never prick you acne it results in scars, you may feel the white seed will pop out but at times it doesnt and leaves with a bad ass pit on our skin which takes years to heal .
    11)Well i never used pro active but its better to consult a derma AGAIN it will take a year atleast to be free of acne on continious use of acne preventing meds, well 90% of the times the acne is meant to go even without medications as well but they will surely leave you will a bad skin appearence full of pits and big pores, medication just prevents these things.
    12) once your acne subsides the doctor will ask you for derma roller so smoothen you skin about 6-7 sitting is good for low depth of scars and pits, it really works but even after this i was having break outs but i never stopped the creams its a hell of a ride but have patience, i still get break out like 2-3 in 2-3 months but i dont use any creams any more.
    13)Most of them will go to the doc and expect for miracles well it doesnt happen that way it SURELY takes one year and there is after care like derma roller treatment.
    14) Pro active is only for grade 1 acne , the Compounds are not really concentrated and well there are no oral meds with it so it is very difficult for the bacteria to die of internally it will eventually come back.
    15) IF you have severe acne the scars do not go off completely it leave about 5% scars but they are not really visible.
    16) I hope this benefited someone
    Be patient and dont give up 🙂

  • Jessie Taylor Original review: Aug 28, 2016. Reply

    I’ve been using Proactiv+ for a little over 3 years now. Worked great with managing my acne. However, I noticed right around the 3 year marker, I gradually started breaking out more. Now, almost 6 months later, my skin looks the worst it’s ever looked. I’ve lost my faith in this product unfortunately. Everyone’s skin is different. Acne also varies for each person too. But for me, it has stopped working.

  • chantel Original review: Aug 24, 2016. Reply

    hi usually I get on well with proactiv but I used the facemask last night and ive seen the adverts saying you can leave it on over night and your skin will be practically clear in the morning once washed off so I did just that but I woke up early hours of the morning with a horrible sensation and the facemask has literally left my face burnt and scabby and peeling off my skin so now at work with a bright red tight sore face … not impressed 🙁

  • Shay Original review: Aug 06, 2016. Reply

    I have been dealing with acne for over 15 years cycstic acne I purchased every product on the market that I could possibly find and absolutely nothing work most of it made my face ten times worse or burnt my skin because I also am fair complected and have very sensitive skin about five months ago I decided to finally give in and try proactiv and it has work amazing , I recommend this to anyone , I haven’t had and cysts on my face since I have began the treatment , this really is a wonderful product for anyone that has fair sensitive skin and bad acne this is the product for you but do not use proactiv+ it will cause a reaction o would just stick with the proactiv (original ) thanks so much too these two doctors , I don’t feel so self concious about my face anymore 🙂

  • Tazmin Original review: Jun 26, 2016. Reply

    Using salicylic acid on the skin every morning and night along with exfoliating and a peroxide will cause premature aging, the illusion of larger pores due to dryness, dryness and your skin will have a fit the moment you stop using that whole cocktail.
    I’ve watched too many people go through all of those harsh effects to support proactiv.

    Just a side note: exposing your skin to high amounts of acids puts you at risk for skin cancer. So if you choose to use this product, carry a facial sunscreen and be diligent. Skin cancer isn’t a good look.

  • Megan Samuel Daigle Original review: Apr 06, 2016. Reply

    The same thing happend with me , my face was Burning!! And itchy and swollen and verrrry RED! And for the people that say , ” its the medicine working ” thats Bull ! Because it stayed red an itchy an swollen for about 3-4 days and then it went VERRRY dry ! Like sand paper dry and that stayed like that , for about a week an a half . Ive had a VERY bad experience with this . Oh and btw , it wasnt just once , i thought maybe it was something else that did it , so about 3 months after , i decided to get the nerve to try it again , an sure enough , it happened again ! Just not as bad as the first time . But none the less , it was still pretty bad considering, proactiv shouldnt be doing that to your skin !!!

  • Kate Original review: Feb 20, 2016. Reply

    I sold Proactiv in my early 20’s at a kiosk in the mall. We were told to wash the product off with a water bottle and tissues as soon as customers left because so many employees were getting chemical burns on both hands. If you showed up to a shift with visible skin irritations, even minor hormonal acne, they’d send you home. I never received any form of bonus or commission for selling the product, just my hourly rate, which wasn’t bad for sitting pretty in a chair for most of the day. We sold the kit and told customers not to buy just one part because the products wouldn’t work alone. However, step 1 and 2 were different forms of the same amount of peroxide (2.5%). It was a joke among the employees that we were selling bleach because Proactiv does for the skin what bleach does for the hair – It strips it of everything. They started pushing the cleansing brush in hopes that people wouldn’t notice the stripping effects as quickly.

  • Morgan Original review: Feb 16, 2016. Reply

    I have just started Proactiv about two days ago and it burns, just a bit. My acne has weighed down how i see and think of myself for at least two years and I’m ONLY 13!!! Ive done so much research and it comes to show that Proactive is one pf the best choices until I can go to the dermatologist. My heart is really set on hoping this works because I’m really tired of crying about how red and bumpy face is, everywhere. It’s even worse because I have it on my back and chest as well. As of the time I got Proactive (a few days before i started proactive) I started to notice my acne start to spread down my neck. ACNE IS A CONSTANT BATTLE!!! I just hope Proactive works because even my mom gets torn up over how sad I get.

  • kels Original review: Feb 11, 2016. Reply

    Don’t say it’s false advertising cause it’s not, your skin changes every so often so of course it won’t react the same to products you used to love. I love Proactiv and it works on me,but I know it doesn’t work on everyone. That’s just common sense.

  • jasoyo Original review: Dec 12, 2015. Reply

    I’ve been using Proactiv for about 5 months now and I have seen a difference since. I started getting cystic acne around May 2015 and I tried sooooo many different products like, Murad & other prescriptions from my doctor which didn’t really help. So, I decided to try Proactiv+ after doing a lot of research on the product. Now my skin has cleared up a bit, but I still get occasional cystic bumps and the product hasn’t seem to help my large pores. I usually never write reviews, but I’m hoping this does help someone because having acne is very annoying to deal with. So overall, I guess I would recommend this product since its the best I’ve tried yet, but I’ll probably be looking for a new regimen to try, maybe the Acne.org products.

  • Erica Original review: Jul 03, 2015. Reply

    I had the same problem and that was with proactiv+. It was good the first time I used it but after like the 3rd time it started to burn/sting and turned my face red (it looked like my face was legitimately sunburned). I had to stop using it. which was a shame because it really started to clear up the breakouts I had been getting, it just burned too bad. I switched to a set from Mary Kay and so far it’s much better and feels better on my skin.

  • country boy Original review: Jun 15, 2015. Reply

    I dont know if its working but i put rubbing alchol on it and it works every day and night

  • Jennifer Original review: May 25, 2015. Reply

    Anyone experiencing the burning, that’s the medication and that’s how you know it’s getting into your skin. For dryness I recommend the hydrator. It’s a moisturizer and a big issue is people don’t realize you absolutely moisturizer after washing your face, prevents dryness and therefor helps for future breakouts. Dryness will lead to more breakouts.

  • Jen Original review: Mar 19, 2015. Reply

    I have had the same reaction with other face washes. My face gets red and inflamed and it itches like crazy! I have found that it is a reaction to the benzoyl peroxide in th product.

  • katie Original review: Mar 03, 2015. Reply

    I Have been using proactiv for a couple years. I never had acne as a teenager but started getting bad breakouts around 22.
    I found nothing worked for me except proactiv. I only use it once a day because it does dry out the skin but I find if I use it everyday consistently it really keeps my acne at bay unless I am on my period. I just got an order of the new proactiv+ and I am nervous they have changed their product to much and it wont work for my skin anymore..But other then that I think Proactiv is a good product if you use it properly and consistently.

  • Tamara Original review: Feb 26, 2015. Reply

    So a week ago I told you guys about my experience with Proactiv+. I email their site about what I’m doing wrong (I email them twice – no respond). It as been a month now that I used this product. I regret buying it at the kiosk. Last year, Proactiv Solution work wonders on my skin and I was a loyal customer to them. So last month, I bought the same product and it didn’t work at all. I don’t get it. I decided to try Proactiv+ and now I’ve been wasting all money on this brand. It’s nothing but false advertising.

    Even if I do decided to return the product 60 days guaranteed at the kiosk, they wouldn’t give me the entire money for some excuses. I think it’s nothing but a scam. Why, because I hardly see the commercial on TV due to all these complaints.

  • Tamara Original review: Feb 18, 2015. Reply

    I’ve started using Proactiv+ for three weeks now. Nothing is happening, though. They say that your face will clear up in about a month or 2 along with the Dark Spot Corrector, so I’m hoping it will clear up all about now, because right now my face isn’t looking so good (it doesn’t have any rashes or irritation, just doesn’t clear up the acne spots) . I went on YouTube channels to see the results people are having with clear skin, and they too say it takes weeks to clear up as long you continue using it.

  • thebigsister Original review: Feb 12, 2015. Reply

    I’m that big ticked off big sister that my brother used Proactive and broke out worse than ever! It was like a serious reaction. I don’t know how many others have that but I wouldn’t recommend it. Plus the dumb system. I personally have oily skin and large pores and have trouble with acne from time to time too. But not enough to really complain…Until someone handed me a bottle of something that was natural and money back guarantee for sure. I will never use anything else…not to mention simple so I want to share it just like you will too once you try it one time. My brothers skin is not only healed up but the scar tissue from previous problems is less visible. You have got to check this out. nerium.com/silvercross/Results

  • Angela Original review: Feb 01, 2015. Reply

    i used X-out by proactiv only one time and literately burned and blistered my face and parts of my body. i followed the directions but only left the product on for less than a minute before i washed it off due to the extreme burning. in some places i had 2nd degree burns. it had covered me face and very painful. even my lips were swollen with blisters in my mouth caused from an allergic reaction. its been a week since i used the product and it has not been a speedy recovery, i still have a long road ahead….

  • Susan Original review: Jan 26, 2015. Reply

    I completely agree! They have zero customer service response and yes, they make you jump through hoops to get a refund and then lie on the phone. You do all the work to get a refund, they drag their feet

  • Anonymous Original review: Jan 12, 2015. Reply

    I suffered with extremely bad “snout acne” about 15 years ago but I had to buy it from the USA as it wasn’t available in the UK at the time………it was so bad that I wouldn’t go out and after using the original Proactiv for approx 4 months my acne was completely clear……I am now in my late 30’s and it has NEVER I repeat NEVER come back. I now have clear normal/combination skin and I have the occasional monthly breakout but nothing anywhere in the same league as I had before. I cannot recommend Proactiv enough as it changed my life.

  • Meg1234 Original review: Jan 10, 2015. Reply

    BEWARE! Proactive Plus made my skin much worse and bleached my sheets. And the company has the WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE ever and I ended up having to dispute the charge with my credit card company. DO NOT GIVE YOUR BUSINESS TO THIS DISHONEST COMPANY.

    Proactive Plus advertises a 60-day money back guarantee. When I called for a refund, the agent gave me another phone number to call. I tried it several times and nobody ever picked up or returned my messages. I called the main line again, and the agent gave me the phone number for their “Escalation Department.” I left a message there too and nobody ever called me back. They advertise the 60-day money back guarantee in commercials and on their website, but make it impossible to get a refund.

  • Stacey Original review: Dec 09, 2014. Reply

    Do not waste your money on this system, it does not work, i have been using religiously for 2 months and have seen NO improvement, if anything, it has made my scars/blemishes worse> take much longer to heal.
    Beyond the product not working, their customer service is HORRIBLE, I have had to call 3 times to get my account cancelled and called an additional 3 times just to get my refunds. very disappointed.

  • Katarina Original review: Nov 09, 2014. Reply

    I’ve been using proactiv plus for a few weeks now and I’ve seen and felt the difference. I’ve been suffering with acne for over a year now, mostly small bumps around my mouth and forehead, linked to hormones. Ive tried every product out there. I’ve evdn been to the dermotologist which prescribed me antibiotics. It worked great, but came back once I stopped my prescription. People need to understand that acne is hormonal, and using any product will not banish your acne forever. If you’re acne prone due to hormones, you will break out. These products are made to fight acne, not cute it. Obviously you’re going to get acne again once you stop an effective product. My suggestion is to stick to something that works, and get blood tests done to test your hormone levels and see where you’re at.

  • anonymous Original review: Nov 02, 2014. Reply

    I use the old Proactiv, it worked, then stopped my skin got worse. Then I tried the new Proactiv Plus, my skin reacted horribly to it. I am back on the old Proactiv, however my skin is not responding as well. I am off to my dermatologist and asking for a second round of Accutane, I am done with this nonsense.

  • Tricia Original review: Sep 23, 2014. Reply

    But, have you noticed the huge price increase at the kiosks- it costs $20 more by me.

  • Irise Original review: Sep 21, 2014. Reply

    I subscribe to ProActiv, and it dosen’t help me. At all. I have oily skin, too. So, I tried the Citrus Clear products and I didn’t expect any results. After just one week of using Citrus Clear products, my skin has cleared up noticeably.

  • KJ Original review: Sep 05, 2014. Reply

    I totally agree. I used it for 10 plus years I quit for a few months and my skin is the worse I’ve ever seen. I tried to go back to the three step process and it now yields no results. I’m going to try proactive plus. Wish me luck!

  • Ankita Original review: Sep 03, 2014. Reply

    I have bought proactiv one time.when I use my face become acne free no any dark spots &looking more young.but next time I can not purchase it because it is so costly.I request please make it’s
    price some low please I request &I LOVE PROACTIV

  • Danny Original review: Aug 31, 2014. Reply

    Proactiv plus worked wonders for my skin from the first use my skin already felt so much smoother and by the next morning you can already see the acne subsiding , after a few months my acne completely disappeared! I always suffered with a moderate to severe case of acne so I’ve tried every thing before and this was the only thing that worked. It cleared my acne and left my skin really smooth, I stopped using it after a few months because it started to bleach my eyebrows and tips of my hair. Also because it’s pretty costly, almost a hundred bucks a month, I’m happy now as I no longer have acne and when I do it’s only one or two pimples at a time so I don’t really worry about acne as much as I used to

  • mohini Original review: Aug 25, 2014. Reply

    is this stuff really works? i am also suffering from same situation….. please help me. i need ur advise n tell me where can i get this proactiv kit?

  • Kirb Original review: Aug 24, 2014. Reply

    I’ve been using it for 15 years, as a cystic acne sufferer I was at my whits end when acutane cause me serious depression and I had to discontinue so I ordered the kit and have not regretted it. I’ve tried to stop a few times but my cystic acne takes over again.
    All in all I say it’s as inexpensive as anything else you will try! So I say just try it, I will say that a healthy diet and excercise helps but in most cases is not the cure.
    Good luck

  • Myles Original review: Aug 14, 2014. Reply

    I used Proactiv+ for about 6 months and I was very dissatisfied. I followed the directions exactly; spoke with multiple Proactiv “doctors”; tried reducing and changing the Step system as suggested by these reps; tried additional supplemental Proactiv products they sent to me; and in the end, my before and after pictures looked the same. This on top of the stress dealing with automatic payments was not worth it. My acne always remained. Before the Plus acne system, I tried the old system and that yielded no results. I had a very frustrating experience with Proactiv and would not recommend it without speaking to a doctor or dermotologist. Maybe for some people it works but for me, it did nothing. I’d honestly try a more natural approach with experimenting with your diet to see if any foods trigger your acne, exercise, and try to reduce sources of stress. After that and washing your face with warm, minimally soapy water, your skin will begin to look healthier. Laying off the sweets helps me for example and, even if it doesn’t help everyone, it would do more good for you than bad to try. Although these things don’t cure acne, it has definitely helped me reduce and manage my acne by a lot and now, I am much more comfortable in my own skin.

  • Jessica Original review: Aug 01, 2014. Reply

    Used proactiv in the past and it cleared my skin fairly decent. After not being able to afford it, my acne came back within a year of not using it. Finally I ordered the new proactiv plus and have been using it for about a week now. I am completely amazed! In that little time my acne is completely cleared up. At first it made my skin surface acne much worse and made them red. But it was only like that for about 3 days. Now my skin is almost blemish free again and SUPER SOFT! I’ve never had such soft and clear skin as I did with the original proactiv. I recommend proactiv plus for anyone suffering surface acne (Tiny bumps on your skin that come to the surface but not like a pimple) So happy with my purchase! I also recommend buying on ebay you can find it cheaper!

  • Emily Original review: Jul 28, 2014. Reply

    Proactive has worked well for me but the customer service is enough to make me want to just suffer with the acne rather than the stress of dealing with customer service agents who clearly got hit in the head a few times when they were young. If you order online be prepared to get sent (and charged for) plenty of packages you never ordered and a reoccurring order you cannot cancel without canceling your whole account. Basically do not buy proactive unless you don’t mind seeing unexpected and outrageous charges on your credit card.

  • Katelyn B. Original review: Jul 25, 2014. Reply

    I used Proactiv every day and night diligently a few years ago. I was always getting compliments on how flawless my skin was, and it was flawless, no oil, pimples, whiteheads, or blackheads. Unfortunately, I was unable to continue paying for it when I moved out and started paying for my own bills and groceries. Oh, to be young again. It wasn’t until a friend of mine, who used Proactiv but had more than she could use before expiration, gave me some. I was elated! I was jumping for joy because my skin hasn’t been as gorgeous since I stopped using Proactiv. I promptly went home and started my old regimen back up. I washed my face while I showered, applied the toner and lotion after drying off and went to bed. When I woke up the next morning my face felt like I had laid directly under the sun in Hell and itched like I had Poison Ivy leaves wiped all over, not to mention, I was swollen like a hamster with cheeks full of goodies. I went to look in the mirror to see what was going on and, much to my dismay; my face was covered in ugly red blotches and hives. It. Was. Awful. Terrible, really. Mind you, this was in the heat of the summer, and we were outside doing activities in the sun. I couldn’t go outside for over a week and a half! I wasn’t embarrassed to be seen since I was among good friends, but my skin just wouldn’t allow it. It was far too painful, so I spent that time indoors on beautiful days while everyone else enjoyed summertime. Needless to say, I tossed it except the toner, lotion and refining mask. Those I had no allergic reaction to, it was just the cleanser.
    I suspect that Proactiv changed their formula for their cleanser and I’m hoping that I may be able to get the old formula they used instead when I attempt a reorder. Since I had such great results from the product I used years ago, maybe I can rejuvenate my face. I’d like nothing more than to continue my business with Proactiv, but if they don’t offer the previous formula then I suppose I will have to move on with my life and find something my sensitive skin isn’t going to react to.

  • Francis Original review: Jul 20, 2014. Reply

    Proactiv is not a good product as it only works temporarily. The moment you discontinue using it, the acne comes right back. If you’re looking to permanently get rid of acne like i was three years ago, go to a dermatologist. Dermatologists prescribe products that get rid of acne permanently. For me, it was Epiduo. I used proactiv for two years and the acne would come back after i stopped using. After using Epiduo for a month and a half, i havent had acne resurface in almost a year and a half

  • Kelly Original review: Jun 28, 2014. Reply

    Can an EXPERT dermatologist just tell me if proactiv is worth it or not? Too many mixed reviews it’s hard to really form a clear choice! Thanks!

  • Gene Original review: Jun 22, 2014. Reply

    Im on my 3rd week of proactive, and im also having breakouts much worse than before. Im losing hope so i tried to search for reviews if breakouts are normal, and ive read yours. I really hope this works for me as it worked for you. Now i know that im not the only one experiencing this. Thanks

  • Gene Original review: Jun 22, 2014. Reply

    Im from the philippines and it happened to me too. I got two products billed to me when they sent me the email. I acted as soon as ive received the email before they get the chance to ship it. But the good thing is theyve attended to my request of cancelling the other “additional” set. And i made may mode of payment to COD, so i can refuse easily if they send me some shit i didnt order. 🙂 mayve thats some strategy they have there.

  • Gene Original review: Jun 22, 2014. Reply

    I was afraid of that, so i ordered mine by COD…

  • Sandy Original review: Jun 14, 2014. Reply

    I don’t have a history of having much acne at all. I had whiteheads on both sides of my cheeks that I of course picked at, but only once and then it just wouldn’t seem to go away so I decided to start using Proactiv + and have been on it for about a week now. When I first started using it, I broke out even more and there were whiteheads and irritation around my pimples even more so then before. I was hopeless. I’ve been using it as instructed, both in the morning and at night. I try to let my face breathe but during the day. But I do use makeup that is on all day sometimes, so I have now changed my foundation to a oilfree and a noncomodogenic type (Laura Mercier Silk). After a week, the clusters of pimples on my one cheek have started to dry up and are not huge bumps. The other side of my cheek seems to need some time. I’ve never had “breakouts” so this is all new to me. I chatted with one the the proactiv “experts” and as I was awaiting, she said it was normal to start breaking out in the beginning. That it is all the dirt and oil coming out of your pores. This makes me feel better, because little ones are just popping up out of nowhere..This is hopefully a sign that the Proactiv + is working deep under my skin to get rid of preexisting hidden acne. Overall I was very unhappy about this past week. I’ve never had scarring like this, so I hope that over time it will go away. Today (after 11 days) is the first day I’ve really noticed results. My forehead is super soft, my t zone is as well, much smoother than ever! I’d like to hear if anyone has had similar experiences. How long did it take for your acne to clear up? Do you have a favorite Proactiv Plus product? Thanks!

  • Stella Original review: Jun 14, 2014. Reply

    I was given a supply of Proactive Solution Products from my mother in Scandinavia. The instructions were in Swedish and I was not sufficiently fluent in the language to be certain of what to expect but I assumed it was a general product and only later realised it was designed for acne prone skin – which I don’t actually suffer from. However, after using it for just a few days my skin really improved, feeling incredibly soft and looking fresh and glowing. I will certainly continue to use it especially as it has hydrated my skin and the few lines I had diminished in a way I had not thought possible before – really a bonus!

  • Patrick Original review: May 29, 2014. Reply

    I started breaking out just 4 months ago, and after 2 months of no improvement, i finally decided to resort to proactiv plus system. Immediately after using their product, i started to notice my skin was getting worse. i called them after a month of using and they gave me the “it makes it worse before it really gets better” talk. The lady told me to wait another two weeks and it will get better. I listened to her and my skin is now worse than it ever was. I called again but every time i mentioned that their products weren’t working for me and that i wanted to cancel my subscription, they quickly gave excuses like their system just got “shut down” or their computer was “acting up” and that i should try calling back in 10 minutes. After the first few calls of that, i finally got someone who actually had a working computer and managed to cancel my subscription. But i couldn’t return their products because i missed their 60 day return policy by a day. I just wasted over $200 worth of products that did nothing for me. I recommend seeing a professional first before wasting your money on this. And if the professional suggest to try proactiv, then see another professional.

  • Karen Duff Original review: May 03, 2014. Reply

    Proactiv worked for people I know, But I think it really all depends on the user! antiskinproblems.com/truth-about-proactive-reviews/

  • sara Original review: Apr 26, 2014. Reply

    just order it through e bay, no hassles no monthly membership, order when you want it as much or as little as you want

  • Jenna Original review: Apr 25, 2014. Reply

    Did you got your money back?

  • Cheryl Original review: Apr 22, 2014. Reply

    Hi Angie,
    I read your post about trying the new proactiv plus and I’m wondering if its still working for you? I was intrigued by your post because I’ve been a proactiv user for almost 7 years with great results. Recently, however, I really wanted to try getting “off” of it because of the benzoyl peroxide and my skin starting to age-I’m 36. I’ve been using other products for 4 weeks now and my skin looks terrible. I realize I’m going to have to go back to proactiv but am thinking of trying the new one. Thanks for any help on the issue!

  • Deasia Johnathan Original review: Apr 18, 2014. Reply

    It really all depends on the user. I know many people that swear by it, and then others that searched for years and tried proactive, but it didnt work.

  • Logan Original review: Apr 09, 2014. Reply

    If you’ve got acne go to a dermatologist for proper treatment. I’m cynical of any product that is hawked on late night TV because 99% percent of the time it’s an inferior product! Also, why would anyone want to pay so much money for an over the counter product like Proactive when the main active ingredients (benzoyl peroxide) are what you get in Oxy 10,etc? Please don’t fall prey to these monumental claims strewn about in TV ads. People need to be extremely skeptical of advertised claims. There’s a plethora of crooks and liars out there just hoping you’ll succumb to your emotions and buy their junk. If it sounds too good to be true then for certain it is.

  • Andrea Original review: Apr 02, 2014. Reply

    I bough Proactiv on their website a week or so ago paying with PayPal.

    When you buy your first set they WILL SIGN YOU UP FOR MONTHLY PAYMENTS AND SUPPLIES without asking (or maybe they do in 8pt font in the disclaimer or something). If you don’t pay attention they’ll charge you 100 dollars without asking 1 month from when you buy your first set to send you the biggest set they have without consent.

    On top of that I was personally billed twice on my PayPal, they refused to acknowledge it, the lady at customer care was utterly useless, didn’t know what PayPal was and basically laughed at me.

    I had to resort to opening a case on PayPal, prove I only bought one to get my 45$ dollars back.

    SPARE YOURSELF THE TROUBLE

  • Mishia Original review: Mar 30, 2014. Reply

    I ordered Proactive Plus a couple of months ago due to suffering from hormonal acne, at age 41. I did not have cystic acne but a lot of random, spread out acne, as well as clogged pores, blackheads, and if I’m outside doing yard work, whiteheads. Once I started Proactive Plus, after a couple of weeks of mild break outs, my face is clear, even, and smooth. I also have vitiligo (loss of pigment-very white patches) on my face and combined with dark spots from sun damage, a very uneven complexion. Proactive plus is doing wonders for the dark patches and my skin is now close to the same color as my vitiligo and looks more even! I also purchased a PMD which I use once a week, if that, and my skin feels so soft with very few outbreaks! I ordered on the phone and specifically told the rep I wanted JUST the one kit (for $59.99 vs $29.99 if I joined their “club”) and the rep did try to convince me to join but I kept saying no (at least 4 times which is very argumentative on his behalf). After I got my first bill I discovered he “joined” me anyways. I love this line and love my clear skin, but Proactive really needs to stop being so aggressive and work on their customer service! I’m not sure how these reps were trained but for someone who makes a great product, your customer service will lose you customers and make you look less reputable. They must offer one heck of an incentive to their reps to have so many cases of reps lying to customers, mistreating them, refusing to cancel or refund…Imagine, people preferring a vending machine to get their Proactive or canceling altogether just because Proactive chose to hire rude liars. Seriously, this is a great product but they need to retrain their entire staff to be more honest and courteous. If I start seeing things on my credit card statement that shouldn’t be there, they will also lose me as a customer and the Better Business Bureau will get a call. Great product or not, if their staff can’t treat me with respect and they feel the need to sneak stuff on my bill, well perhaps they don’t care about helping their customers after all. I got a great product that really works but theirstaff is making their product and it’s wonderful results less appealing.

  • verla Original review: Mar 23, 2014. Reply

    It kills me how on the commercial s they show peoples face with one or two little pimples on their face. I do see clusters on some of them. I do also feel sorry for anyone with this disease. I on the other hand have all over
    body acne. Face chest back inner thighs on top and under my breasts and sometimes on my stomach area. The proactive did nothing for me what so ever. It was like using plain water. If it works for other that s great but not for me.

  • Kristy Original review: Mar 09, 2014. Reply

    I have a gold allergy and very sensitive skin..does pro active contain gold by products and/or thimerasol?

  • Ashley Original review: Mar 05, 2014. Reply

    I hate it! i went from proactive extra strength to the new one and my face looks even worse. If u give me your email i could send you pictures. Its terrible. Its softer on the skin but thats it.

  • Elizabeth Original review: Mar 04, 2014. Reply

    This is such a waste of money. i have had issues of acne on my skin,even though i have tried few many (both home made as well chemicals), none of them worked for me. this is the worst piece of **** i ever used. such a waste of money. when we first use it, we may not have any idea as what this product is gonna do on my skin. In the beginning, when i applied it, my pimples started drying up, resulting into redness as well falky sking. my skin became hell lotta dry and what makes me sad is the terrible gutters and scras it left on my skin. i have even tried the whitening cream from the. Please dont use it. benzoyl peroxide is just a temporary relief. it wont do anything good on your skin. just dont use it. you will get benzoyl peroxcide foir just rs 50. so why u wanna buy this bullshit for more than yu can afford.
    just APPLY SOME LEMON JUICE along with few drops of cucumber and leave it overnight

  • Shanoah Original review: Mar 02, 2014. Reply

    My mom bought me proactiv plus the other day,I’ve been using it for two days now,and I have to say this actually works…..but my skin feels like its on fire,it’s constantly burning and I have like red cheeks now.but any things better than acne I guess…will this burning sensation quit?

  • Diana Original review: Feb 27, 2014. Reply

    Thanks!

  • Diana Original review: Feb 27, 2014. Reply

    I am a 39 year old Caucasian female. I have suffered with acne since I was 14 years old. My skin was always oily no matter what products I used on my skin. Everything made me break out. I have large pores also. I had the huge cystic acne. They weren’t necessarily red but they hurt really bad! In my mid thirties my acne change. Instead of the cystic acne I had the teeny tiny small acne on my forehead and the sides of my face close to my jaw. I have tried every product out there. I’ve been to the dermatologist and used all the creams and medications. I had scars from my acne as well. I had tried Pro Active at some point over the years but it didn’t work well for me. But 3 weeks ago I saw a commercial about Pro Active Plus. I decided to give it a try. I received my kit in the mail about 8 days later. I started using it right away. The face wash is like a scrub. It’s a great exfoliator and really makes my skin super soft! The second step is a great acne cream that does not dry out my skin. The third step is a wonderful moisturizer. It took me years to realize that you NEED moisturizer even if you have acne! Three times a week I use the face mask that came with my kit. I’ve been using Proactive Plus for about two weeks now. I cannot believe the difference in my skin!!! I’ve had people ask me what I’m doing differently because they want their skin to look like mine! No one has ever said that to me!!!! It’s been so hard to find a product that works for adult acne but this truly works. You don’t have to suffer from acne as an adult. I urge you to give it a try if your hesitating!!! My pores are smaller, my skin is not oily hardly at all and my skin looks brighter and 100% clearer!!

  • Illiana Original review: Feb 27, 2014. Reply

    I’ve experimented with dozens of different acne products – and the only ones that worked were the Citrus Clear Control Acne Kit. It’s cheaper than Pro-active and less harsh on the skin. The Citrus Clear Moisturizer can sometimes flake a little.

    I would also recommend using Citrus Clear for at least two weeks in order to see results. I definitely noticed a difference if I forgot to use the cleanser before going to bed so make sure you use it twice a day!!
    I also love that you only need a tiny bit of each product to cover your whole face!

  • Abby Original review: Feb 26, 2014. Reply

    I’ve been using proactiv for a year and a half now and I love it. But recently I think proactiv has been changing the color of my skin and its worrying me. I’m not too sure if I should switch to proactiv+ to make this problem go away.

  • Me Original review: Feb 21, 2014. Reply

    So I have a question… Do they send you a 90 day supply every Month or does it come every 3 months? 34.95 for 3 months doesn’t sound that expensive? I just want to make sure they’re not going to send me too much that I won’t be able to use if it comes every month?

  • Ashley Original review: Jan 30, 2014. Reply

    I started using Proactiv in November 2012. I’ve battled acne all my life. I could not tell you one time where I didn’t have at least one pimple on my face. The worst part is that I would get cystic acne. Those giant under the skin cysts that you could do nothing about. And forget about hiding those things. They’re too big! Anyway, Proactiv has been nothing but amazing for me. Warning- it is really drying at first. Almost to where you want to discontinue use. But don’t! Your skin will adapt. Not saying my face isn’t dry from time to time. But it sure as hell beats acne. I now can go without makeup. Never did that before. If I do get a pimple, it’s so small and lasts maybe a day. The secret is the lotion. If you feel something coming on, rub a little of the lotion on the spot throughout the day. I just now started the Proactiv Plus and can tell that my skin is less dry and softer. Hopefully the acne stays away. But so far so good. Oh and one more thing- you can’t stop Proactiv and expect your acne not to come back. If you have skin issues, it’s mainly hormonal. The Proactiv helps manage it. Just like diets- you stop, you gain the weight back. Sorry for the novel but Proactiv had changed my life so much I had to share. It’s worth the try!

  • Angie Original review: Jan 26, 2014. Reply

    I bought the proactive plus today after very good results with the regular version. Holy cow my skin is so soft!!! My kiddie kissed me on the cheek and was like ‘mom your skin is soft, what did you do?” It’s very pricey but at 36 I have acne worse than when I was a teen. I go to my mall kiosk, I always have, safe, effective, easy. I don’t like doing auto refill anything after bare minerals. We will see if its as effective but I love the soft skin and it not being greasy.

  • Bobby Original review: Jan 08, 2014. Reply

    This review is from: Proactiv Solution 3 Step System Kit, 2 Month Supply (Health and Beauty)
    Thank God I didn’t buy this product, my husband got it for free from his sister-in-law for treating his minor acne (now I know why she gave away easily this pretty expensive product). I had few blemishes on my face because of my period, so I decided to help my skin get over it – big mistake!!! I applied the repair treatment lotion before going to bed, and the next morning I came to work with my face burning and as red as a stoplight. By lunch time, the skin on my face was burning and hurting so bad I wanted just to burry my face in a bowl of ice!!! My face is red and swollen all over, and I pray it goes away by tomorrow. I don’t know if this is an allergy, or a literal skin burn, or if this how this stuff works. It’s definitely not for me. It might work for other people with skin not so sensitive, but PLEASE – don’t put this directly on your skin, try it on your elbow first or other piece of skin where it’s not visible in case it has reaction.

  • Bobby Original review: Jan 08, 2014. Reply

    1.0 out of 5 stars THE WORST ALLERGIC REACTION OR BURN EVER, January 7, 2014
    By Bobby
    This review is from: Proactiv Solution 3 Step System Kit, 2 Month Supply (Health and Beauty)
    Thank God I didn’t buy this product, my husband got it for free from his sister-in-law for treating his minor acne (now I know why she gave away easily this pretty expensive product). I had few blemishes on my face because of my period, so I decided to help my skin get over it – big mistake!!! I applied the repair treatment lotion before going to bed, and the next morning I came to work with my face burning and as red as a stoplight. By lunch time, the skin on my face was burning and hurting so bad I wanted just to burry my face in a bowl of ice!!! My face is red and swollen all over, and I pray it goes away by tomorrow. I don’t know if this is an allergy, or a literal skin burn, or if this how this stuff works. It’s definitely not for me. It might work for other people with skin not so sensitive, but PLEASE – don’t put this directly on your skin, try it on your elbow first or other piece of skin where it’s not visible in case it has reaction.

  • ali Original review: Jan 03, 2014. Reply

    There are some at the malls i go to!

  • om Original review: Dec 18, 2013. Reply

    It’s a useless cream. They give 100% return guarantee but never return the full money. In fact they hardly return anything and keep all the money in the name of shipping charges. In addition, once they take the credit card number, they keep charging your credit card indefinitely even after cancelling the order. They expect you to continue your subscription for your entire life.

  • Becky Original review: Dec 04, 2013. Reply

    I used Proactiv for over ten years. I didn’t find another product that worked as well as Proactiv did, but I still had breakouts, and if I forgot to use it once, I would breakout pretty badly. I grew very frustrated with the product and felt trapped – if I stopped, my skin went crazy, but it never cleared my skin completely and dried it out severely. I finally had enough with Proactiv, and decided to give Ava Anderson Non-Toxic products a try. WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!! My face was SO broken out when I made the switch, and in less than a week ALL of my bad spots were gone, and my face was so much smoother. I literally called my mother in tears because I couldn’t remember the last time my skin was so clear. I highly, highly, highly recommend the Ava Anderson products (I am using the cleanser, toner, and moisturizer….. and here is a trick: use the Ava Anderson diaper cream – yes, diaper cream – for scaring/skin smoothing! Works wonders!!!)

  • ikkin27 Original review: Dec 04, 2013. Reply

    My husband bought the proactiv plus for me just last month and I received it on the first week of November.i had cystic acne that time which were like 4 big ones that spread on parts of my face. It’s been a month that I’m using the kit and so far I’m really in love with it. Today My face is clear cause All the spots just disappeared when I use the facial wash and the two stuffs that came along with it.it still is a bit drying cause im still experiencing micro peeling, but the point is my acne is gone. Maybe I just need to find another moisturizer to add it up to the routine cause theirs has a salicylic acid in it. But so far so good, and it is the only kit that made me clear. I’ve used so much stuff already like cetaphil, cerave, ponds, green tea face wash, apple cider vinegar toner, Vaseline face wash, brtc Korea, clinique, clearasil, dove, etc and this is the only thing that works. So don’t be scared to try it, the proactiv site says in their FAQ that the proactiv doesn’t work with cystic acne but the proactiv plus does. Even if it has almond oil and safflower/palm oil which I think serve as the moisturizers, and although oils usually break me out, they actually didn’t.and that’s what’s nice about it. Now the only prob I’m left with is my skin dryness which I think is caused by my bb cream for acne as well, which has salicylic acid in it too along with witch hazel so we ordered a set of bb creams in sample size for me to try em out cause I’m now looking for a bb cream that moisturizes and no longer has sa acid in it.

    My proactiv plus face wash container just got empty and I’m now looking forward to have the mailman drop another box of our order tomorrow 🙂

  • Stephanie Baker Original review: Nov 26, 2013. Reply

    I have been using Proactiv since 1993! I developed extremely bad rosacea (at first I thought it was skin cancer…it was so bad my face would bleed) and after not having any success with the pharmaceutical products that the dermatologist prescribed for me, I decided to try Proactiv. It was like a miracle cure. Within a week my face the spot where my face had bled was healing up and within two weeks my skin was completely clear. I recently turned 50 and am now wanting to try the pore cleansing system. I recently tried another name brand ‘wrinkle remover’ plan and it worked ok, but the results only last as long as you use their products and it didn’t come close to being as good for my skin in general as Proactiv! Now if they can get rid of my wrinkles I’ll be in heaven. 🙂

  • Danielle Original review: Nov 20, 2013. Reply

    To arnold,
    Go online and loom up the reviews on X-out. Thy are horriable
    Causing your skin to have this weird shiny clear looking scab on areas n the face and also creating weird looking blisters and worse pimple that hurt horriably , thts sad considering people are buying it to help clear there face , watched some girl who made a video about said it smelt like plastic.. wth. I really think there is some bad horriable chemical in it tht isn’t written in the ingrediants,,, that is horriably irritating those who have used it or using it !.. good luck to you ..!.

  • Yaya Original review: Nov 14, 2013. Reply

    It worked ok but worse disappointment ever regarding billing. I sent my package back, after they already charged me and I even paid for the shipping back and they never refunded me at least the money they charged for it after I sent it back. Supposedly because it was over their time policy but when I called they told me to sent it back for refund which never happened. Never again I will buy pro active not even recommend it.

  • Janet D Original review: Nov 14, 2013. Reply

    I started using Proactiv about about 5 days ago. My side effects have been pretty bad to be honest. After I apply the 3 products onto my face, my face starts to burn and It’s not pleasant..This lasts for about 10-15 minutes. When i put it on in the morning, and put makeup on afterwards.. I feel as if I’m wearing a facial mask all day, and before the day is over my skin is very dry, especially under my eyes. Not very atrractive at all lol. The only reason I haven’t stopped using it is because i really want to get rid of my acne and will deal with all the side effects if that’s what it takes. Are these side effects normal? Or should I stop using this? If anyone could help me out that would be great. Thankssss 🙂

  • Rik Original review: Nov 08, 2013. Reply

    The product works well. The autobilling and auto shipping is a nightmare. Won’t cancel. Big pain !!!!!!!!!!

  • Jean Original review: Nov 08, 2013. Reply

    I’ve been using proactive for about 15 years. And yes it works I used to get breakouts all the time nothing real serious but always something that made me feel self conscious.
    Since I first started using it Ive gotten compliments on my skin! I’m almost 43 now and I still get carded to by alcohol and feel as though my skin always looks its best, I don’t do every 3 months I push my orders to about 4&1/2 months that seems to be perfect for me. I would recommend this product to anyone!

  • Jessica s Original review: Oct 30, 2013. Reply

    I have been using the original proactiv system for over a year! I’m really satisfied with this product. It was the only product that has worked for me. I’ve tried everything before proactiv and nothing worked. I had really bad acne and proactiv cleared it up. I recently switched to Xout since I was told it worked better for me since I’m 17. It was made for teens. I just saw the new proactiv plus. I switched to Xout because it’s stronger but so is the proactiv plus. What’s really difference between those two? Which will work better? If someone could help me and give me some answers. I will appreciate it.

  • lacey Original review: Oct 30, 2013. Reply

    I used proactiv and it never helped. I quit wearing face makeup (foundation, concealee, powder) and started usiong clean and clear persa gel 10 (benzoyl peroxide cream) and stridex pads( salicylic acid) and a gentle face wash and my acne is under control. Going on retinol soon.

  • Taylor Original review: Oct 21, 2013. Reply

    I tried X out and it is 60 something but you only get the cleanser not toner or lotion like proactive and it did not help my acne but it didn’t break me out alot worse it stayed the same then i bought proactive and have been using it for about a week and my skin is already clearing up!

  • Nicki Original review: Oct 20, 2013. Reply

    I would like to address some of the above complaints for future readers as I have had a very different experience.

    I had heard about it years previously but tried the brands like Neutrogena, Wei East, AcneFree and employed the “yes, I have acne and I’m not afraid to show it” philosophy because none of them cleared it up. I was then introduced to the UCI Medical Center’s version and decided to use it to simply to support my school. Surprisingly, it controlled it better but not all the way. In summer of 2010, Proactiv advertised a change in the solution’s technology and was offering a 30-day trial that I could return if it didn’t work and I ordered.

    The confirmation email and paper that came with it clearly announced that 90-day shipments would arrive if I did not cancel my membership. It also gave easy instructions how to log in to my account to adjust the products that were shipped, adjust their frequency, or initiate the next order immediately. In the 3 years (going on 4th) of membership, I have easily done all 3 at least 5 times each with ABSOLUTELY NO ISSUES. Currently the maximum frequency is 20 weeks.

    I am extremely happy with Proactiv; their treatment may have the same concentrations and main ingredient, but l swear it absorbs faster and stays active longer. My bedsheets and hair rarely bleached and I only have to wash my face twice a day. I doubt we can prove if their “technology” is superior or if they are even doing anything different to their formulas, but as long as it continues to help my skin, I will keep my membership.

  • Macie Original review: Oct 15, 2013. Reply

    I have had the same experience with Proactiv. I have purchased the original Proactiv formula and I found that it actually seemed to make me break out worse. They also continued to send me and charge me after I had purchased it. I am considering trying out the new Proactiv Plus to see if that would work any better but for now I’m still a little skeptical about Proactiv Solutions.

  • lala Original review: Oct 11, 2013. Reply

    The deep cleansing step gave me this major rash it was more embarassing then my acne.. also the first step gave me a rash so I stoped using those two and now only using step two and three they didn’t give me a rash.. Ithen I suddenly got a random rash after useing the two steps for over a month. .. also the deep cleansing wash has bleached my wash cloth!! I don’t know what is in this but its some harsh chemicals. I WOULD NOT RECONMEND anyone to use proactive because it is way ti harsh on your skin.

  • Jesus Original review: Oct 08, 2013. Reply

    Im a senior in high school and when I was a freshmen I broke out for eating to much nutella and I broke out really bad on my cheeks and nothing worked till my aunt gave me Proactive and I cleared my skin pretty good and even after I stopped using during my sophmoote i never broke out until this summer I broke out really bad and I haven’t got rid of them so I hope by using proactive again will clear them up

  • Jim Original review: Oct 07, 2013. Reply

    Their Customer service is very cordial and helpful if you want to cancell.

  • yani Original review: Oct 02, 2013. Reply

    I used proactively and each time I stopped my pimples got worse than they were before….it’s takes a bit longer to work for me when it’s warmer but it clears up in about 2 weeks……the scrub made my cheeks tender though. I want to purchase the proactively plus but I am afraid it might make my skin break out even worse after I finish because I don’t have all that money to spend. I notice if you have only the amount to purchase one supply they won’t let the order go through because they can’t take anymore money from your card. They put u in the monthly or whatever supply whether u ask or not and they send you whatever size they want. That’s why I will only buy from the vending machine at the mall…….. the reason I am considering buying it again is because when I stopped it was when the heat outside was crazy, I am not sure if it was just heat rashes and I also put lots of products in my hair….so idk…..

  • Jennifer Original review: Sep 20, 2013. Reply

    DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT!!!!

    As many reviews will tell you, there is nothing special about this product, and it boasts ingredients found in most drugstore formulas. Beyond that, this company is a total scam. Upon your first purchase, you basically get signed up for a “membership” (I searched the fine print for any clues about this membership, as I had read poor reviews of Proactiv’s business tactics, and even then, I could not find anything that made me realize that I was signing up for MONTHLY purchases, that increase in price!). I spent a couple of weeks using the products, and found them to be pretty much equivalent to their drugstore counterparts, only more expensive and more drying. They were not effective. Honestly, I fell for the same marketing scam that probably most Proactive users are victim to. They put on a pretty good show about their product, and show some convincing evidence. It’s MEANINGLESS. If you are like me, and searching for that “magic solution” to your trouble skin, save your money and your stress, and focus on the ingredients of your products, or consult your dermotologist. I regret falling for this scam, and that truly is what Proactiv is, and just hope that I can keep some of you from making the same mistake. I think it is ridiculous that Proactiv takes advantage of people who are really trying to make an improvement for themselves.

  • kim Original review: Sep 16, 2013. Reply

    benzoyl peroxide in proactive is only 2.5% which is a bit drying already. x-out contains 8%. try using proactive first. have your skin adjust to it first then if you need stronger concentration then switch to x-out

  • kim Original review: Sep 16, 2013. Reply

    proactiv plus contains more medicine like salicylic acid, whilst proactiv only targets acne, proactiv plus address other skin issues like dryness, dullness uneven skin tone. this line is especially designed for adult women.

  • Vera Original review: Sep 14, 2013. Reply

    I am incredibly disappointed in Proactiv +’s business practices. I never once authorized 90 day supplies to be charged to my credit card. I have interacted with several representatives who never once mentioned that this was their policy. Watch out. If you order with them, they will send you products you do not order, not as free gifts, but as items that will make their way to your bill.

    I was told over the phone by one of their representatives that I “obviously [had] acne” and should want to continue their product. I found this practice of coercion incredibly degrading. There are other products out there that probably have the same chemical makeup as theirs without their shady business practices.

  • Erin Original review: Sep 11, 2013. Reply

    I didn’t expect Proactiv to work but either my body has naturally cleared the acne or Proactiv is a miracle. I think the later since I only started using Proactiv two months before it cleared. I had to call customer service to cancel my subscription because I no longer have any zits on my face. I think it should be cheaper though. I think most people with acne are young and the monthly price makes it difficult to commit to.

  • Megan Original review: Aug 08, 2013. Reply

    I got Proactiv due to the fact that I suffer from acne even though it was very expensive. This product did not work for me. In fact, it made my skin worse. To be fair, my skin has a reaction to most skin care products and I do suffer from horrible acne breakouts. I am going on the pill as the dermatologist said this would be the only thing that work work for me but I heard of the possible side effects, like weight gain and depression but the way I see it the acne is already causing much depress which is causing me to eat more. You need to call Proactiv to cancel and you need to fill out a form otherwise they keep sending you products each month.

  • lisa Original review: Aug 02, 2013. Reply

    proactive is sold in a U.K beauty store called boots and they even sell the body wash and soap, i got the soap for my bf as he has acne on his back, he said it lasts for ages and it has improved the acne as well as taking something from the doctor, i used the proactive soap my self for my face although my acne is very mild but i didnt find it to work for me so i dont wanna try the proactive solution as i dont want to waste all the money, but can you get samples if i call up the number for proactive?

  • Bianca Original review: Aug 01, 2013. Reply

    I started using proactiv as a teen when my acne exploded and it worked beautifully! I did have irritation and dryness though. I have very oily skin and I have used oil mattifiers from other brands and they work, but only for an hour or two and then my skin gets greasy again. With proactiv, my oil was controlled all day and I didn’t have to worry about wiping my face or washing my face during lunch break. Also, the nights I went to sleep with my makeup on and the days I chose to use regular soap and nothing else to cleanse my face, my acne did not flare back up for a few days! So proactiv is great at keeping acne at bay even a few days after u stop using it or fall asleep without cleansing ur face. Long story short, it worked very well for me and my oily, acne-prone skin.

  • Peter Original review: Jul 22, 2013. Reply

    Proactiv works but you need to be patient. It took me about 4 months before my acne cleared up and I am scared to come off Proactiv as well because the acne might come back harder. Just like alchohol and stuff hehe. Arnold, X Out is for teenagers and Proactiv is for young adults so depending on your age one might be better then the other. Proactiv and X Out are both made by the same people they are just different products.

  • Sophia Original review: Jul 17, 2013. Reply

    Hi,

    Because I suffer from only the occasional breakout, I use their repairing lotion on up and coming spots/ areas (blind pimples). I find not only do the pimples do not evolve into larger ones and very rarely eventuate into the throbbing and about to burst whitehead. It certainly shortened the life span of my occasional zits and I found it worked best after I applied it onto the affected area/areas after cleansing and using a gentle exfoliating toner, then applying the rest of my serums to help maintain pigmentation. I also only use it at night and wear non-comedogenic sun protection during the day.

  • Ursula Original review: Jul 15, 2013. Reply

    I’ve been using Proactiv products for 5 months now and to be honest I am a little bit disappointed with the skin care. I am passed the money back guarantee time and I have to continue using the products because they keep sending them now, I am a little bit disappointed about the whole situation.

  • Amélie Original review: Jun 22, 2013. Reply

    I have been using Proactiv Solution products faithfully for nine years now and every time send a gift with purchase or some sample products. You cant cure acne, it can just be managed but with continued use of Proactiv you can get your skin back and not have nightmares about acne. This is not made for people with dry skin types as some of the ingredients can be overly drying. The only other problem is sometimes I find around my eyes to be clogged so I need to cleanse more frequently.

  • Your Review
    User Rating: 4.0 (5 votes)
    Sending

    Recommended Articles

    The Best Skincare Products of 2020

    Uncategorized read more

    Best Acne Treatments

    Uncategorized read more